The 2017 Suzuki Burgmann ABS maxi-scooter is now in Malaysia at a price of RM47,700, including GST, but excluding road tax insurance and registration. Coming with ABS and and the Suzuki Advanced Immobiliser System (SAIS) as standard, the Burgmann – the name is a mash-up up of the German words for “city” and “man” – is fully Euro 4 compliant and designed for the urban commuter.
Carrying a 400 cc, single-cylinder, liquid-cooled power plant fed by EFI, the Burgman 400 is claimed to put out 33 hp at 7,300 rpm and 36.3 Nm of torque at 5,800 rpm. Power gets to the ground via CVT and belt final drive, and the Burgmann rolls on a 15-inch wheel in front and a 13-incher at the rear.
There is an abundance of storage space on the Burgmann 400 – in the front cowl are two small compartments – 2.8- and 3.5-litres on the left and right, respectively – that can store miscellaneous items such as a mobile phone or keys, while the under-seat storage measures 42-litres, enough to swallow two helmets at a time. A 12-volt DC socket is also provided for charging the rider’s electronic gadgets.
As earlier mentioned, ABS is standard on the Burgmann 400, and braking is with hydraulic discs, front and rear. Clocking in at 215 kg, the Burgmann is not a lightweight as scooters go, but this should aid stability at highway speeds, and the 13.5-litre fuel tank should give adequate range.
The Burgman 400 has a seat height of 755 mm, which makes it easily mountable by almost all riders and comes with a hand brake for secure parking. The 2017 Suzuki Burgmann 400 ABS is expected to hit Suzuki dealer showrooms in August.
how come suzuki also so expensive?
macam modenas level to me.
Syukur harga motosikal di Malaysia antara terendah di dunia.
Maxi scooters r nuisance to road users. They r 25~50% wider and more unwieldy than kapcais, yet riders cilok between cars like they used to with smaller bikes causing damages. Oso thanks to windshield deflecting the wind, riders tend to speed on right lane and racing with Beemers.
There are scooters & there are scooters. The main reason they buy Scooters because they are cheap to buy & maintain. The difference is in the name ie “maxi”.
Fast forward, the Suzy Burgman 400 is a larger not to mention more expensive bike compare to its smaller siblings. It comes with Advanced Immobiliser System, swallow 2 helmets & A 12-volt DC socket.
It is also fully Euro 4 compliant. At RM47,700 including GST but excluding road tax insurance & registration, this maxi scooter is quite pricey.
You can buy a small car that can seat 4 comfortably instead of 2 & can carry bags & load goods if U go to supermarket.
I guess this is a niche market for people who already have everything but want a bike that can cruise around comfortably & still find a place to park easily that can run errand in a jiffy.
In short, its a bike for uncle like me who can go for a cup of coffee with my buddy or quick stop at 7-11 to buy breads, drinks or tit-bits. There U have it. Its about choices.
Better buy a 2nd hand suzuki cars rather than this bike as it price is more expensive. U can get a vitara or a swift with that amt.
You’re kinda missing the point here…
My concern is that the bikes introduced in msia are big and sophisticated but are there trained personnel to service, repair etc the bikes.
When i go to the shops i see 17 year olds who cant speak English, no education, uncouth etc handling, servicing, repairing for example 1000cc brand new bikes.
Does that make sense?
My ahpek pomen cant read or write alphabet words or even Chinese. Yet he is one of the best Mesidis mechanic there is, better than specialist from Stuttgart.
Does that make sense? No.
Can he perform? Hell yeah.
Do I care how he do that magic? Dun even gip a F.
If you know how the mechanical of bike or car, you did not need a degree to repair it. Especially bike, basically a machine on a wheel it’s a peace of cake for that 17 years old boy who maybe had done a lot of bike repair. Ya, it does make sense. You never seen how a normal kapcai become almost as fast as superbike in hands of these who cant speak English, no education, uncouth etc do you?
Hoping Yamaha to bring new X-Max to Malaysia soon.
EXPENSIVE ! 1st and last word !
almost same price with MT-09…
Amazing! To read that there are still people equating having a good command of English equals to being a good mechanic, wake up lah. Have you ever heard of “Hands On”, as compared to just Paper Qualification
400 cc scooter is for B licence holders. With that price, the market is limited. Might as well, suzuki concentrate bringing in gsxr 750rr.
look,men the suzuki bike may look superb but too expensive to ride in Malaysia yet our apey or any mechanic can troubleshot with costly tools and parts
may hang-up with bolt& nuts.