Malaysian racer Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman, riding for Kawasaki Team Green along with team mates Kazuma Watanabe and Leon Haslam, managed to grab second place at the Coca-Cola Suzuka 8 hours Endurance Race (Suzuka 8 Hours), losing out to Yamaha Factory Racing Team of Alex Lowes, Michael van der Mark and Katsuyuki Nakasuga, who were riding the Yamaha TZF-R1 to its thrid consecutive win. The F.C.C. TSR Honda team was relegated third place in the 40th running the Suzuka 8 Hours in the FIM Endurance World Championship series.

After a long, drawn-out battle with F.C.C. TSR Honda – crewed by Dominique Aegerter, Randy de Puniet and Josh Hook on the Honda CBR1000RR SP2 – Team Green Kawasaki, on a Kawasaki ZX-10RR, grabbed second after a fire forced the F.C.C. TSR Honda CBR1000RR into third. Kawasaki Team Green took the start early in the race with Leon Haslam.

A battle for race supremacy then took place between Team Green and Musashi RT Harc-Pro Honda, until a crash forced Musashi RT into fourth. Yamaha Factory then seized the advantage, and its riders raced ahead all the way to the chequered flag.

Meanhwile, the Malaysian-led team of Satu Hati.Honda Team Asia, with racers Zaqhwan Zaidi of Malaysia, Dimas Ekky Pratama of Indonesia and Ratthapong Wilairot of Thailand, led by team manager Zulhelmi Ahmad, chief mechanic Muhammad Zarul Sirat and chief data enginer Mohamad Redzuan Kamis, finished in eight place, repeating last year’s result.

The top two team finished 216 laps of the motorcycle endurance race, with Yamaha Factory Team clocking a time of 8.00’32.959 and Kawasaki Team Green 2’09.052 behind. Fastest lap at this year’s Suzuka 8 hours was 2’06.932, set by Yamaha Factory Team, and the average speed was 156.99 km/h.