Hyundai Ioniq gets new Android-based head unit in Malaysia – upgrade packages available from RM2,283

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has introduced a new audio visual navigation system (AVN) to the Hyundai Ioniq, for those who require a wider range of functions from their head unit.

Models that are ordered the new AVN will be known as the Ioniq Hybrid HEV Plus with AVN System, which is priced at RM116,488 on-the-road without insurance. By comparison, the Ioniq Hybrid HEV Plus retails for RM114,088 and the Ioniq Hybrid HEV is RM100,388.

In terms of specifications, the AVN system comes with an eight-inch touchscreen – one inch larger than on the Ioniq Hybrid HEV Plus – and is built around the Android operating system (5.1.1). As a result, it supports commonly used applications such as Spotify, Google Maps and the all-important Waze.

Other functions include music playback options (radio, bluetooth, USB, MP3), clock and weather widgets that are updated via WiFi and the My Hyundai App. The last one allows owners to place a service booking or call for 24-hour road assist if required.

Users will be able to insert a SIM card into the AVN system, or connect it to a mobile hotspot to in order to supply internet data for some of the functions.

Existing Ioniq Hybrid owners who want to upgrade to the new AVN system can trade in their existing head unit, and topping up the difference. For HEV Plus owners, the cost is RM2,283, whereas non-HEV Plus owners, it is RM3,533 (prices exclude GST). The system comes with three-year/100,000 km warranty (whichever first).

Aside from the headunit, the rest of the car is identical to the Ioniq Hybrid HEV Plus, with the same 141 PS and 265 Nm hybrid powertrain and comprehensive safety systems. The latter includes Vehicle Stability Management (VSM), blind spot detection, autonomous emergency braking system (AEB), lane keep assist and adaptive cruise control (Smart Cruise Control).

GALLERY: Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid HEV Plus

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Leafable on Aug 04, 2017 at 4:53 pm

I would keep your money. Because what you get for RM2.3k is a made in china aftermarket part. Good luck Hyundai Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • hyundai89 on Aug 04, 2017 at 4:56 pm

Geddis free @ year end promo.

• Outside HU w/ AA is <Rm1000. OEM HU alwiz overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 06, 2017 at 10:56 am

Please tell us where can get 8in HU android for less than RM1000 that is designed to fit the Ioniq, not cut & paste the standard double din 7in HU.

• 12yrsold on Aug 07, 2017 at 5:25 pm

He he he. He just Tembak saja as always. Maybe made by john himself & claim money back Guarantee too.

• Kelab Kunta on Aug 04, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Sime Darby very greedy. Even before this Android crap, once they saw demand for the Ionic, they raised prices a few thousand ringgit.

What happened to Sime Darby’s biggest boss who said Malaysians will get 30% car price reduction 4 years ago?

Prices just keeps on going higher. Greedy GLC, last time selling for starting RM99k, then became greedy and raised prices up up up up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • eddiekee on Aug 07, 2017 at 9:41 am

the price is still maintain at RM99K for the entry spec. they only increase for the high spec and only once. Please, i see other japanese makes also increase their price after in the market for some few years

• Maria on Aug 04, 2017 at 5:48 pm

Apple car play or Android Auto?? HSD likes to treat us with crapy HU while other market got much nicer HU

• So obviously it doesn’t come with Android Auto.

• An expensive upgrade for an aftermarket AVN.It doesnt even support android auto/apple carplay..People are requesting for the original ioniq avn and they give us this.What a disappointment

• Maybe it’s because Android Auto isn’t officially supported in Malaysia yet. You can of course sideload the app, but it’s probably a potential legal issue that HSDM wouldn’t want to deal with.

This being an Android HU means you can also sideload Android Auto on the HU and use it without having to keep your phone tethered. There are some differences in Android Auto features when used on a head unit and on a phone – we’ll need to try it on the actual HU to see which device does AA recognize it as.

But I agree, the original Ioniq AVN would have sufficed. They would have saved the 9 months it took to bring this to market and lots of spent manhours.

• markgoh on Aug 05, 2017 at 8:53 pm

trade in also need to pay 2-3K..??
    what brand is it..??

• I wonder if we’ll get the PHEV Ioniq with the 2018 facelift. Are we even getting a facelift with the ioniq?

• Mijan Hamzah on Aug 07, 2017 at 5:27 pm

Just received car with new AVN. Findings:
    1. Using android 5.1 (old)
    2. No Google Apps installed
    3. Too bright when using at night. The unit not connected to the car lighting system thus the background light not dimmed when you switched on your headlight (manual/auto mode).
    4. Manual screen brightness adjustment not function. The setting is there but nothing changed even you set to 4 (minimum setting)
    5. The manual stated got simcard slot and mobile network data enable. But physically, the unit don’t have the functions. Considered being cheated. Wasting 1 USB slot to use USB modem stick.
    6. No offline navigation apps installed. Only Waze & google map available hence the needs to use the simcard & data enable system.
    7. 2x the reversing video intermittent blinking the screen. The manual stated if any errors occurs, pls reset the system. (sigh..!!)

Sedih… considered got an old device for extra RM2.5 k to by AVN unit on HEV+ (P/N: HY129-ION-BK17-8)

• Your real mistake is buying a hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • eddiekee on Aug 09, 2017 at 10:29 am

so far no issues with my hyundai. Your real mistake is saying something without any justification .

• Uthaya on Jun 18, 2018 at 9:58 pm

I just received the Ioniq hev+ with AVN .. I would say the avn is a rip off .. don’t option for it .. users should be able to decide what apps the can use with it ..

• How tightly integrated is this head unit to the car? Any issue if we replace this head unit with another that is CarPlay compatible?