Taxi drivers urged to make use of ride-hailing apps

To ensure taxi drivers do not lose out and improve their quality of service, the government will continue to encourage them to make use of ride-hailing apps. This was relayed by Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri, minister in the prime minister’s department, in a report by Bernama.

“Currently only 14,000 taxi drivers are registered with the e-hailing platform, but I am very confident the number is increasing,” she said. Recently, the Dewan Rakyat tabled and passed amendments that would pave the way for ride-hailing services to be legalised in Malaysia.

The amendments involve the Land Public Transport Act 2010 and the Commercial Vehicles Licensing Board Act 1987, with implementation said to be put in place by October this year. The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has also issued a series of requirements to drivers that are looking to offer such services.

Taxi drivers are also said to benefit from improvements to the pajak (leasing) model, including rent-free day for Puspakom inspections, annual and sick leave, driver’s personal insurance, and profit sharing between taxi drivers and operators for advertisements featured on vehicles.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ben Yap on Aug 07, 2017 at 5:07 pm

attitude also need to improve to compete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Gua Suka Tipu on Aug 07, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Kita relak tonton jer dulu la. Biar monyet semua tu demo di kota kejap. Pasti mereka lupa nanti…

• my england is bad on Aug 07, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Gahmen bagi blajar teksi kursus speaking england..

• Mr Meme on Aug 07, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Back in singapore, I was quite surprised when my Grab car was actually a cab itself. Just to kill my time as well as my curiosity during the ride, I managed to ask as in why this cabbie would commit himself into grab / uber. So he explained about fully utilizing his rental for the taxi permit by fetching as many clients as possible, which is less efficient without the use of these ride hailing apps, especially when these grab and uber is the current trend and a niche for better income for himself. So, fellow malaysian taxi drivers, i wonder what is restraining u all from investing your time and make full use of the technology to get urself better pay instead of complaining and sabotaging these uber / grab drivers for stealing your rice bowl? Or perhaps it is true that we malaysians are too slack to try out different opportunities, and prefer sitting and chit-chatting while waiting for potential customers as traditional cabbies’ convention would

• Ekceli alot of taxis use Grab. Grab originally was to hail taxis.

• Third World Mentality on Aug 08, 2017 at 8:25 am

Most of them who are not jumping ship have third world mentality, that is why

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 07, 2017 at 11:22 pm

Gomen giving the middle finger to gangster taxi drivers. I Love It. Truly well deserved, you bunch of cheating hooligans.

But don’t foresee these dinosaurs changing their ways soon. Expect more protests, walk outs & even threats against Uber/Grab drivers.

In the end, we all know what happened to dinosaurs. They became extinct.

• Murthy on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:37 am

Most of the genuine taxi drivers already left the industry.
    There’s no point in urging them in using ride hailing apps.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:54 am

Why support the taxis who have to pay huge amounts of money to cronies who bought the license?

• Bob Sagat on Aug 09, 2017 at 3:32 pm

Why do you think gomen ask Taxi driver to join Uber? You think gomen so nice issit? You go check who hold share in Uber lah….

• gigi kuning on Aug 08, 2017 at 9:12 pm

Taxi drivers and services in Malaysia are simply hopeless……I gave up on them many many years ago….