Nasim to extend warranty for Peugeot, Citroen and DS vehicles made from 2011 to 2015 – 7 years/250,000 km

Internal documents floated on the Internet reveal that Nasim will soon offer a warranty extension for Peugeot, Citroën and DS vehicles. The Warranty Enhancement Programme, which sources say kicks off in September, covers all models powered by the ubiquitous Prince 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated and turbocharged petrol engines, registered from January 1, 2011 to December 31, 2015.

This includes pretty much every Peugeot and Citroën model sold locally during that period, with only the Peugeot 207 Sedan and 407 as well as the diesel-powered Citroën Grand C4 Picasso BlueHDi and Peugeot 508 GT being excluded from the list. In Citroën and DS’ case, it also includes vehicles sold under the brands’ previous distributor Brooklands Motors.

The extension brings the warranty coverage up to seven years or a mileage of 250,000 km from the registration date, whichever comes first – this includes vehicles that are outside the initial five-year warranty coverage provided by Nasim when new. Vehicles maintained outside of an official Peugeot or Citroën service centre after the warranty period has ended are also eligible, subject to an inspection.

Among the components covered are the engine, gearbox and components linked to their operation, such as driveshafts and fuel and cooling circuits. The battery and anti-lock braking system sensors are also included.

Once notified, owners will have to set up an appointment with the nearest service centre, where the warranty extension will be enabled. Once the process is completed, vehicles will have to be maintained at an authorised service centre during the extension period in order for owners to continue benefitting from it.

The aforementioned documents state that the warranty extension is meant to address technical concerns regarding Peugeot, Citroën and DS vehicles, as well as to rebuild customer confidence in the brands. Meanwhile, all new Peugeot, Citroën and DS vehicles will continue to be offered with the same five-year/120,000 km manufacturer warranty coverage as before.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• How about those Pijots in that period but now outside service by more reputable pijot specialists? Is the warranty reactivated?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 23, 2017 at 2:10 pm

According to the said document, yes they will, subject to an inspection. Those vehicles will then have to go back to being serviced at an authorised service centre, however.

• Seems like tradeoff between better service quality and no need pay for overpriced standard parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Open Letter to Tan Chong on Aug 23, 2017 at 3:08 pm

Hello Tan Chong, did you guys forget your promise to existing owners of Nissan cars that you will increase their warranty to 7 yrs also like how all new Nissan cars have 7 years?

We waited but no news.

I am so disappointed with Nissan. They promised owners but now cheated the owners.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
      • You asking at the wrong people. Sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
      • TiredofBS on Aug 23, 2017 at 4:56 pm

Does this article involve nissan…??? new level of retard-ness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
      • Ex-VGM Staff on Aug 23, 2017 at 5:13 pm

So it’s now for VW to respond.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 26
        • timbuktu on Aug 23, 2017 at 6:47 pm

doesn’t VW already extend warranty to 7 yrs for DSG and engine related problems?

this ex-VGM staff isn’t really VGM staff after all. another fake keyboard warrior?

• read the bloody article laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • When I said Pijot specialists, its cuz most of them used unconventional but workable ways to fix the car. What r the chances these unique fixes pass Naza inspection, hmm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
        • Drebar on Aug 23, 2017 at 5:36 pm

Hey John ,Any recommendations for pijot specialist ?

• I can share, but my Pijot-driving fren will kirr me if I bocor his specialist workshop.

• Cant. Later my Pijot fren kirr me for bocor his pomen workshop

• Great news! Thanks Nasim!!!

• rchoo on Aug 23, 2017 at 2:30 pm

This goes to show the confidence PSA have on quality of their cars.

• Too good to be real.
    Pity those just finished 5 yrs warranty, then repair outside , now got warranty. When inspect, peugeot say since you repair outside, not eligible for this exercise…
    Cry no tears…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • kenny yap on Aug 23, 2017 at 2:44 pm

How come their new car cannot enjoy the same warranty period?

• BowArrow on Aug 23, 2017 at 2:48 pm

Tu diaa!
    Meanwhile 2011 P1 power windows…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Papa G on Aug 23, 2017 at 2:50 pm

They want to this because of they care for their clients. Its not that they want to fleece their clients with expensive maintenance bill so their coffers are filled…

Kan?

• Jerome on Aug 23, 2017 at 2:51 pm

Kudos to Nasim for introducing such a revolutionary warranty program. Ppl should stop hero worshiping honda la. New age Peugeot are really reputable and some service centers are better than BMW or any jap brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • timbuktu on Aug 23, 2017 at 6:50 pm

read between the lines. their prince engine causes hell lot of problems to owners. go ask any peugeot owner about prince engine. that’s why they try to salvage their reputation by offering the 7 yrs.

anyway, it’s good they reacted and not just sit down quietly and sweep under carpet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • hyundai89 on Aug 23, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Faulty peugeot & thief favourite 508. Something fishy here

• I sense disturbance in your writing. Your lack of confidence is your weaknesses.

• Kancil Hybrid on Aug 23, 2017 at 3:10 pm

Tak payah pening, tak payah pikir, tak payah tuang cuti. Servis murah, enjin reliable, jimat minyak. Beli je toyota poodua…Biza special package. Ahakss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Adrian JG on Aug 23, 2017 at 3:11 pm

“…This includes pretty much every Peugeot and Citroën model sold locally during that period, with only the Peugeot 207 Sedan and 407 as well as the diesel-powered Citroën Grand C4 Picasso BlueHDi and Peugeot 508 GT being excluded from the list.”

Brilliant buggers. Scared of the 207 peeps crowding the Peugeot Service Centres, no doubt.

• kiasu on Aug 23, 2017 at 3:16 pm

Why Nasim can gips. Proton kenot gips extended warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • P1 alredi gips lifetime warranty. How do u go past lifetime?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Proton don’t need extended warranty. Still you can see Saga Orion, Magma, Wira Satria, Waja OTR together with the recent models. Only once you make Bubu with the service like pouring different type of oil in the atf, brake fluid or power steering fluid or end up in flood or wrong fuel only send to Service Centre. Power Window reliability much better nowdays

• And the service wont be cheap

• The inspection alone could cost few thousand ringgits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • After so much of complains and problems with their vehicles and they have made thousands of Malaysian suffer due to the Distributor’s negligence and their attitude refuse to take responsibility of their faulty and non-reliable parts due to various sets of reasons has affected their sales.

Many Malaysians has learned their lesson with Peugeot & VW. Furthermore, it is also the purchasers fault to purchase the car without reading the clauses in terms and conditions as we always tend to believe the Salesman’s sweet talk and whenever it comes with any “Free Gift”, we Malaysians love it more and we pay more attentions to it rather than what we purchase without realising that all the gift are also from our money.

Subject to inspection is something to think as the distributor is famous for building their “exclude” list thus beware of the catch again.

All the above is not meant to discourage you guys not to purchase Peugeot etc but just to be extra careful so that the rest who has been a victim by this kind of Distributor. Kindly please read all the terms & conditions and also ensure whether it is in whichever terms like “Manufacturer Warranty” or “Insurance Warranty” as everything has its catch and always siding the distributor.

Please find time to go through every terms and analyse the pros and cons and also do query before even purchasing. As a customer, we have the rights to do so even though many salesman will divert all those questions by goodies and empty promises. Some salesman won’t even know that they are allowed to show the terms and conditions as well.

I learned from my mistakes and bad experiences and eventually had to sell my Peugeot with a big loss after the distributor failed to take ownership despite being their error and took them to Tribunals and with money those Distributors can do anything. Despite it reflects bad on our judiciary system but it is the Distributor who are able to find ways as they claimed they have terminated the service centre which made the error until the gearbox is faulty but it is then diverted and they said they will repair the gearbox but unfortunately Nasim proved they are only money oriented vultures as they just repaired to use for a few months and it will definitely be faulty but after repair, they will asks us to drive and sign that we agreed the gearbox is fine and no issues and the warranty is extended for 3 MONTHS. Eventually once crossed 3 months, the gearbox will breakdown and when we take to their service centre, it will cause a bomb and they will say that its the owner’s problem and wash their hands.

Folks, please be extra careful as it is all our hard earned money and with a desire to use continental car but that one miscalculation will put us in despair and it takes time to come out of it.

All the best!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Aug 23, 2017 at 5:17 pm

peugoet had learnt the hard way (losing customers because of bad after sales service. the same goes to Kia. and Hyundai. and Volkswagen. all rated poorly in JD power CSI. and dont be surprised when Honda suffered the same fate, because of its last ranking among volumne car brands in Malaysia

• camtakpro on Aug 23, 2017 at 11:00 pm

Honda low ranking due to SC couldn’t catch up the volume. Well they could get cocky from here on but still not (yet) as bad as …

… those low ranking in JD are exclusively having shitty SC in the first place.

Anyway for problematic Peugeot owners, the best thing for them would be insurance claim total lost, eg whole car burnt, stolen, etc. lol

• James on Aug 24, 2017 at 10:10 am

Well said there u go. insurance claim total lost, eg whole car burnt, stolen, etc. lol

• Vincent on Aug 23, 2017 at 4:06 pm

Let Nasim customer comment about this “incentive”.

In my personal opinion, Nasim been in very bad name in customer service. During warranty, they already find way and keep delay your warranty claim.

Now they say wanted to extend warranty to save the name?

My interpretation is, Nasim has not enough cars which under warranty packages, to continue the service at their service center!

In short, they have volume issue to sustain the service center expenses!

My guess is, those go back to Nasim, will have 4 figure service bill each time they visit the service center!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • You are right. I owned a 3008. I have been servicing my car outside due to bad customer service.
      Then 1 day, I received a notification of parts recall, which could total up to 4K plus for 10 items. When I send my car for the recall, they gave a condition: that I must let them service first BEFORE conducting parts recall. That service itself costs 2K. And they did not replace all the 10 items at once. They just replaced half of it. The remaining half can only be replaced “when stocks are available”. But in order to be eligible for the replacement, I need to send the car for the authorized service center for maintenance.
      See how’s the trick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Nope.. I have sent my 2011 308 twice for recall, May last year and April this year. They have never made me service my car with them at all prior to the “product enhancement”. Instead, i’ve been sending my car to specialist in Kota Damansara right after the warranty expired.
        I’ll be sending my car for another round of “product enhancement” in September to change cooling coil & water pump.

• hanep on Oct 09, 2017 at 2:21 pm

sent my pijot for recall of full aircond set (compressor + cooling coil + condensor,etc). doesnt need to topup any money. u must stress them that you dont want to spend any money instead just a recall.

• rafiq on Aug 27, 2018 at 1:16 pm

I bought brand new Peugeot 3008 in 2014. Warranty 5 years and UNLIMITED MILEAGE. I was told by my salesperson warranty not covered for items under ‘wear and tear’ and that are parts such as brake lining brake shoe, wiper blades, beltings FULLSTOP. Fair deal. Totally agree.
      Now when my car has entered its 4th year. Jheng,jheng, trouble trouble. Yes, me in trouble. I find my back exhorbers leak and sure enough they wont cover as its rated wear and tear. Finally, I find out every item is wear and tear except the engine block and the gearbox.
      Now, please tell us, whats the 7 year extended warranty for? At Nassim auto, they only give you ONE CONTACT NUMBER and thats the CUSTOMER SERVICE GIRLS who are giving stereotyoed answers to ever question posed.
      I have discussed with the workshop guys, the customer service girls and beyond that point there is no available person we can talk to.
      So, what do we do with the so called 5 year UNLIMITED MILEAGE WARRANTY which now is converted to 7 YEAR UNLIMITED MILEAGE. Even the 5 year warranty, the workshop service adviser will say, we cover 3 years and Insurance cover 2 years??????? Now where did the Insurance come from? We were never told before prior to car purchase?

• Morgan on Mar 14, 2019 at 10:07 pm

My Rcz compressor kaput within the extended warranty period of 7 years. Only 40k at that time. Said no stock until already over warranty period. Now service center at Setia alam says no record of ordering because of new management change. Recall parts are not installed together but staggered over a period of time so that we come back for servicing.

• ckkhor on Aug 23, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Extend the warranty means tie up more longer with service center. It’s a pain in your arse when they require you to book advance in many days earlier.

• Stop it! on Aug 23, 2017 at 4:24 pm

When the buying stops so will the killings…to your wallet tht is…must say tht chick in blue is tall and hot…

• Just sold my 2011 pijot 2 months ago and this came out, but I’m still happy with my new CX-5 diesel, much better ride, more powerful and much more economy from my old junk pijot.

Previous rumour I heard is they were going to replace all the engine model in those years with their new engine which is more reliable n smooth. I would have kept my pijot in hope of such thing may be realise, but we all know it’s not going to happen. Very disappointed with their decision.

At least now I don’t need to tie up with pijot anymore.

• Either you get the 7 years warranty but pay a huge huge sum for maintenance, or just let the 7 years warranty go and get your car maintained with cheaper and better outside workshop. Its your choice. Regards.. authorizes service center ex-customer

• Yup. Exactly like I said above. Owners need to choose either a workable outside service or dun need to pay for those part now that warranty is reactivated. Between the rock and a hard place.

• I bet that even for normal service that not involve part that will be cover in waranties also customer need to do at authorize sc. If not this 7 years extended wrty will void. Mind you even normal service at pegot sc cost at least double then my trusted outside workshop.

• Many ppl did mentioned about the very expensive maintenance.
    I would really like to know whats the huge price difference in term of maintenance with other brand??
    To me, this warranty is really a good thing for a customer that still owns a Peugeot which is eligible to the new warranty.
    Maintenance price wise doesn’t effect too much when u can claim some part which cost alot more.
    Its will be still benefiting to those cars which still less than 7 years.

• Heres a estimate. A tebo replacement for Pijot cost 2X compared to jepunis.

• Dear john. When u mention pijots’ ‘tebo’ cost 2X than jepunis, may I know which brand and model of jepunis’ ‘tebo’ u compare to?

• The japan sourced IHI that I bolted to my CPS. Brand new with installation cost me 5k. My frens 308tebo, 2.5 kali ganda to replace.

• IHI bolt on. Impot from jepun. 5k PKL
          Pijot ctr replace tebo 2.5X more.

• Aynergie on Aug 25, 2017 at 6:08 pm

Cannot be. K03 peugeot turbo also cost ard 5k

• old horse on Aug 23, 2017 at 7:00 pm

good aggressive move for upcoming PUG 3008

• Lil Cupacabra on Aug 23, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Peugeot Replacement parts are at cut-throat prices. Buy proton….peace of mind. Everywhere can buy spare parts. Cheap oso got, standard oso got…used oso got…

• sohai on Aug 23, 2017 at 9:48 pm

second hand owner got inherent this warranty upgrade or not?

• 5008 owner on Aug 24, 2017 at 12:32 am

extend till apocalypse pun i won’t buy another Peugeot.

• Concerned Consumer on Aug 24, 2017 at 5:48 pm

Why until 31 dec 2015 only? Should extend to all Pug, Cit n DS purchase until today and beyond.

• Mohd Yahizan Mohd Isa on Aug 27, 2017 at 2:23 pm

My 2011 RCZ’s turbo, manifold, timing chain, hp fuel pump & other problematic parts has been changed under that Extended Warranty Enhancement Program.

Thank you very much Peugeot Malaysia. Its a noble effort to mitigate the negative performance of the Prince engine and to instil confidence in your brand.

As a customer and a driver it make sense to ensure we drive a safe and reliable car.

FYI, my wife drives a 308 Turbo bought in 2009 but unfortunately we are not eligible to participate in the EWE Program eventhough the mileage is only about 99,000km.
    We would be happy if the 308 Turbo can be included in the EWEP as a “goodwill measure” and an appreciation of a loyal Peugeot owner.

Thank you.
    Regards.

• DS5 Owner on Sep 21, 2017 at 2:26 pm

Yup, i received my extender warranty today.

7yrs….

• Abu Hassan on Nov 09, 2017 at 5:59 pm

Do I have to register with peugeot service center to enable for the 7 years extended waranty

• i wish to know this too, as i din receive any notification about this extended warranty and also aircong recall program. Will we receive in emai or mail ? Pls advise if anyone know about this. Many thanks

• rafiq on Aug 27, 2018 at 2:03 pm

forget it. waste of time and effort.

• James Lee on Jun 21, 2018 at 9:26 am

I have bought a second hand 2012 make Peugeot 408 turbo 1.6. But the meter was adjusted by someone to lower mileage. Can i still able to get the extension coverage?

• KEVIN LIM on Jun 25, 2018 at 6:38 pm

For Peugeot car owner, please be careful about the cheating of Peugeot melaka service center.
    I believe you are aware of the recall parts items that Peugeot has offered to recall of replacement timing chain , solenoid (related to engine and auto transmission, water pump and cooling coil)

As these are recall items, or Nasim Peugeot car owner are entitled to replace the recall parts and you don’t have to oblige to service interval at the authorised service center Even your car is out of warranty or not to proceed with extended 2 years warranty. The recall items remained for lifetime until you had replace them and it is all free .

However the Peugeot Melaka service center has insisted customer to pay service interval charges in order to have all the recall part items replaced.

If you have not send your car to service at the service center. They will demand you to take on backdated service items and will charge you nearly RM3K.

Do not be fooled by them, as they must replace for you with only some Coolen fluid you need to pay for only RM125 for refill. Everything else has to be free.

NOTE: RECALL ITEMS ARE RECALL FOR FREE.
    WARRANTY OR EXTENDED WARRANTY ARE TOTALLY DIFFERENT ITENARY

I bought my peugeot 308 from Melaka branch and I was told to pay for backdated service charges. Please do know your customer rights for the recall items and fight for it. They are to serve us but not to con us.

I will certainly make my complaint and escalate this incidenst to Peugeot Head quarter for my customer rights.

• MR ONG on Oct 02, 2018 at 2:59 pm

Not far to other customer like me , i bought at year 2016 with nasim, now i have to facing alot of the problemactic by this brand . within this two years, i have to sent my car to SC mote than 10 times just for inspection, warranty parts change mostlly ten items and still countinue unti now , HP PUMP, LOWER ARM, HEADLIGHT, STREELING, GEAR BOX, LHD SWITCH, NOW facing Absorber with 7 items (pending parts ), i should get the 10 years warranty!