Tun M wants to start another Proton if Pakatan wins

It’s no secret that Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad is unhappy about Proton’s stake sale to China’s Geely. But now it has emerged that the founder of Proton may have another go at the national car project should his Pakatan Harapan coalition win in Malaysia’s upcoming general elections.

The former PM and now Pakatan chairman said he has “some ideas about starting another automotive company,” that could become a catalyst for the growth of engineering know-how and capabilities, The Star reports.

“For Proton, various companies were established to manufacture components and parts for the cars. Cars need 4,000 parts, so these provide opportunities for manufacturers,” Mahathir told a forum on China’s investment in Malaysia, before lamenting the Proton stake sale.

“Malaysia is the only developing country that succeeds in creating cars of the same standard as other developed countries. Proton cars have all the features of cars coming in from other countries. The only thing it doesn’t have is that it doesn’t conform to Euro 5 or Euro 6 (standards), which we could have if we are prepared to pay the price,” he said.

In June, after months of proposals and discussions, DRB-Hicom sold a 49.9% stake in Proton to Zhejiang Geely Holding Group for a total of RM460.3 million. The government argues that a foreign partner is necessary for the loss-making carmaker.

“Proton recently sold just 6,000 units a month, which means 72,000 units a year, so how can it be profitable? In the previous year, it lost RM500 million. This year, if there wasn’t any restructuring, it would lose RM1 billion,” prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak was quoted as saying in June.

“Last year, the government helped by providing a soft loan of RM1.5 billion, and this year, Proton asked for another RM1.1 billion for R&D (reimbursement). This is the rakyat’s money that is being used to save Proton. We can’t be proud of a national car but still lose billions of ringgit. We must be proud of a national car that is profitable and beneficial to us,” he added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• This statement will make pakatan lose.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 378 Thumb down 8
    • even Dr M learned trolling alredi Lolss.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
      • New Era on Aug 25, 2017 at 9:21 pm

Tun, is time for electric-Malaysia car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
        • Lcians on Aug 25, 2017 at 11:06 pm

Greentech Mesia Tesla

• Cheap Cheap Malaysia on Aug 26, 2017 at 4:50 pm

Why we need electric car? People say we got cheapest petrol in the world and cheapest cars in the world.

Oh yeah…cheapest car insurance in the world too

• Ahmad osman on May 01, 2018 at 9:12 pm

Yes Tun electric car is the future market

• DPCraft on Aug 26, 2017 at 12:16 am

No need to start another proton, make Honda our national brand, win-win, everyone happy except Toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 10
      • Dug Ong on Aug 29, 2017 at 8:48 am

I respect him, but this statement will cause harm to his campaign.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 345
      • Boring Samy on Aug 25, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Behind the scenes, Government is subsidizing our car insurance to help the rakyat. Right john?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
        • Khalid on Aug 26, 2017 at 7:52 am

pls show us proof that Government subsidizes our car prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Well now, Im sure all them gov bashers know which side to choose by now.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 204 Thumb down 195
      • Ah Kow on Aug 25, 2017 at 7:37 pm

Tun M lupa DRB still owned Protong 51%. @@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • Aik. Bukan ke para bashers kata dah jual milik ke China? Skarang putar cerita lagi. Mana betui ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 94
          • aloha on Aug 25, 2017 at 11:12 pm

Cukur drb maintain 51.1%.

>>>
            https://paultan.org/2017/05/24/geely-to-acquire-49-9-percent-stake-in-proton-51-percent-in-lotus/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • DRB maintain 51% just namesake. All decisions are made by Geely. Infact, Proton bosses kowtow to Geely now.

On paper only 51%. In reality, Proton is now puppet boneka

• si labu on Aug 28, 2017 at 1:01 pm

is it 50.1% ?

• I_Love_My_PM on Aug 25, 2017 at 8:53 pm

You gotta be joking John. Proton makes decent cars but i’m sure they can do better. Why are they selling the Inspira and Preve? They should focus on making the best car for value each segment. Saga seems to be better than the Axia and Bezza in terms of ride, handling and build quality. But the rest of proton’s lineup needs a lot of work. Where are the replacements for the Satria and Perdana(Honda Accord rebadge does not count)? And what happened to the petronas and new turbo engines proton was supposed to announce? Lots of potential wasted. A malaysian pride sold off because our government cant support. But all other projects like Cayman islands got all the funding. Malaysian car prices are the lowest? Where did you get this funny fact?
        Go and search Malaysian excise duty for cars and educate yourself.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
        • Firdaus on Aug 25, 2017 at 11:26 pm

Betui. Janji tak payah pening, tak payah fikir, jimat r&d. Kasi rebadge je proton camry.

• heyheyman123 on Aug 25, 2017 at 11:45 pm

At least Proton have more safety features than Perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 10
        • Discodude on Aug 26, 2017 at 8:03 am

John is obviously being sarcastic, or I at least I think he is? I’m not really good at interpreting messages.. So my wife says.
          On a more serious note, Tun M u failed the country because u short-sightedly decided to play around and start a national car brand which u couldn’t sustain. U left it to the dogs n hyenas to tear apart n this pet project of yours cost Malaysians a bomb to keep it afloat. Let’s hope Gili can bring some sense n integrity into plotong management n improve the company. I love my saga flx n it has served me well these past 5 years. It seems plotong cars r improving quite a lot so exciting times r ahead. Oh my I went on a rant, so please don’t bash my comment. >_<

• Another Proton clown trying to portray a neutral stance. A company producing for mass market with decent product won’t be bought by Chinese company.

• Khalid on Aug 25, 2017 at 10:19 pm

This is the same guy who says
        1) Malaysia has cheapest petrol in the world
        2) Gomen still subsidizes our petrol
        3) cheapest car prices in the world
        4) cheapest car insurance in the world
        5) gomen quietly subsidizes our car insurance
        6) Proton has no hutang and already paid all hutang
        7) All Saga got VSC
        etc etc etc

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 6
      • Hazmin on Aug 26, 2017 at 8:05 am

How does kerajaan subsidi our cars?

• Monteiro on Aug 26, 2017 at 8:21 am

I did not know our car prices and petrol prices were subsidized

• Got 140 likes. Who will like a comment that is false?
        We all know there is no subsidy for cars or insurance.

• Godlike on Aug 28, 2017 at 9:41 am

You sure or not cheapest.. Take example US.. If we work in msia basic salary 2500 ringgit, and if we work in US basic salary 2500 dollar, and car in US no doubt it doesn’t have 9 years loan, but it does have 3 to 5 years loan and saga standard cars over there which is the Chevrolet Cruze LT. Cosr 17k dollar.

• Sam Kunta Loo on Aug 25, 2017 at 6:57 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 345
      • rosdi on Aug 25, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Betui betui betui! Ubah tetap ubah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
      • Poodua is not car. Poodua is moving cof…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 619 Thumb down 559
        • KenJi on Aug 25, 2017 at 11:15 pm

Tak kesah..janji profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
        • Proton has been selling cars without airbags endangering lives of millions of users for decades. Tak bising pun.

Ni baru berjinak with VSC, heboh satu kampung. Perdana ada VSC ke?

• Yes, Perdana2 ada VSC. Ur Yaris ada VSC?

• Sam Kunta Loo on Aug 28, 2017 at 4:53 pm

Poodua has even selling cars without seatbelts (rear one) endangering lives of millions of users for decades. Even half of their brand new cars no ABS (don’t say VSC). Tak bising pun.

Ni baru berjinak with VSC (only in Biza Advance), heboh satu kampung. All other lineup ada VSC ke?

• heyheyman123 on Aug 25, 2017 at 11:46 pm

At least Proton have more safety features than Perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
    • CarBuyer on Aug 25, 2017 at 11:03 pm

Luckily for us, it takes quite a few years to set up a car company to manufacture its own cars from scratch, and not to mince words, time in not on Tun’s side.

• Leafable on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:12 pm

I’m not voting for you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 6
    • Awang on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:46 pm

Rakyat takmau beli Proton 1.0. Apalagi Proton 2.0?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 3
    • Periasamy on Aug 25, 2017 at 6:30 pm

Can I remind Tun one thing. His Proton caused all car prices to go up in Malaysia by 7 fold the past 30 years – from 1987 to 2017.

In the 1987, a good brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla was RM20k. Mind you that was CBU.

Everybody could afford a car then. in 1987, a brand new Mercedes 200 was RM57k and a brand new Volvo 244GLE (A) was RM39k (both CBU pure German made and Swedish made)

Today, 30 years later, in Malaysia, the CKD Malaysian made UMW Toyota Corolla is RM139k. That is 7 fold increase.

The brand new Malaysian made Mercedes E200 (though CKD) is now RM380k (6 fold increase from 1987 to 2017)

But you check global prices of Toyota from 1987 to 2017, the Toyota Corolla has hardly DOUBLED in price.

You check the global prices of Mercedes 200/ E200 from 1987 to 2017, the Mercedes also hardly doubled in Price.

So how can cars go 7 fold in price Malaysia from 1987 to 2017? The answer is PROTON. Everything was done to PROTEK Proton.

Malaysians have suffered enough with high car prices and high car loans. Please have MERCY on us.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 691 Thumb down 5
      • Wong Chun Wei on Aug 25, 2017 at 7:20 pm

Actually prices not even doubled from 1987 to 2017 Then 190E sold for US$29,190 has now become C Class selling for US40k

From Associated Press Archives

AP
        Published: October 29, 1987
        LEAD: Mercedes-Benz of North America said it plans to raise prices on its 1988 models between 2.6 percent and 3.4 percent. The lowest-priced model, the 190-E sedan with five-speed manual transmission, will sell for $29,190, and the highest-priced car, the 560-SEC coupe with automatic transmission, will sell for $76,380 on the West Coast and $75,850 on the East Coast.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 1
        • alldisc on Aug 26, 2017 at 12:05 pm

In the 1987, a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla was never CBU. they were always CKD in malaysia. but when the Corolla EE80 was replaced with all new AE92 in 87 and Tan Chong brought in Sentra in 88, both were priced between 40-50K. the Honda Civic SH4 introduced in 1988 also at similar price segment.

at the same time the Mercedes 200 (W123) and Volvo 200 series (actually 240GL not 244GLE) were also CKD’ed in its respective assembly plants.

• Khalid on Aug 26, 2017 at 12:12 am

Looks like gomen has cheated Malaysians the past 30 yrs with very very very exorbitant car prices

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 2
      • Periasamy on Aug 26, 2017 at 9:37 am

USA
        1987 Toyota Corolla $12,552.90
        2017 Toyota Corolla $18,550.20

Malaysia
        1987 Toyota Corolla RM$20k
        2017 Toyota Corolla RM$140k

• Sammy Loo on Aug 27, 2017 at 8:04 pm

again this guy is talking about global prices crap

there is no global price for a car, just look at South East Asia, every country has different price (after convert)

• anonymous on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:14 pm

Tun M, pls dont. This is not a good deal.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 1
    • Periasamy on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:58 pm

Proton was actually a good concept. It was born to give rakyat a local car which is cheap and profitable.

Unfortunately, when Tun created Proton, he made sure all his cronies were the suppliers and vendors to Proton.

They charged Proton 10x the price of anything and gave Proton super low quality parts. This is the main reason why Proton nama busuk and the whole company failed.

Unfortunately, 30 years later, the same vendors and suppliers are the same. Why DRB did not clean or sack these suppliers?

The answer is very clear. These suppliers and vendors are now the sons of previous cronies of Tun. They are running daddy’s companies now. Some of the cronies also are in the Cabinet. This is why DRB could not touch any of these vendors.

And these sons are all politically connected cause their dads were all big guns in UMNO.

So, the rape of Proton continues. They still continue selling Proton super low quality parts and charge Proton 10x the price.

Until Proton sacks ALL their kroni suppliers and vendors and appoint new ones, Proton will still be in trouble.

The same with the NEW Proton. Tun will still do his old tricks again and appoint his kronies as the suppliers and vendors for the NEW Proton.

Back to square one. Same STORY>

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 368 Thumb down 6
      • Aru hakim bani tawe alhaj on Aug 25, 2017 at 9:03 pm

Agreed. Facts and figures. Spare parts price soaring. Maintenanse expertise rubbish. Spare parts low quality like wise, so do maintenance advisory staff not mastering the whole pattern of engineering concept of proton maintenance regarding DDR ( Detection, diagnose and Repair.) Our local mechanics better, protons mechanics that were emoloyed just because favor,chrony and family saver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • matt farrel on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:18 pm

And i am sure he will be seeking for continous support from the govt….and costing the rakyat money…I SAY NO to Proton 2.0!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 0
  • Black Sheep on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:19 pm

Please don’t experiment with our money again ohmeygard. You gave birth to Proton once, ok it didn’t work and that cost us a lot of money, walao please don’t anyhow use our money to pursue ur own dream. You had ur days to improve proton and it didn’t work, it’s time to let go.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 1
    • Black Sheep on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Btw our Prime Minister is right this time. Proton really isn’t profitable, in any sense.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
      • Later, he and the gang will impose 300% tax for non-national cars for all you know. He never did things that give huge benefit to the rakyat and he was the sole reason why I did not support the government before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
      • Doery on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:54 pm

Rakyat Malaysia bangkit bersama. Hidup Tun M!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 50
    • klata-klata on Aug 25, 2017 at 7:32 pm

Those who failed to learn from history is condemned to repeat it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Proton oh Proton on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:22 pm

What another proton???? Sorry in this case will pray for your lost in GE… enough proton for the Malaysian people or else remove AP will be better option.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
    • wkaka on Aug 25, 2017 at 7:26 pm

He just gave the next election to the ruling coalition. Nice one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • YB Albert on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:25 pm

Our dear Tun, no matter who wins,the RAKYAT is NOT INTERESTED in these projek membazir wang rakyat.
    Due to the onset and subsequent failure of protong,the rakyat has to pay thro their nose to buy cars other than protong.
    Dont make the same mistake twice.It is called INSANITY.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
  • pagana singh on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:29 pm

Yes pls go ahead but keep in mind DNT EVER USE TAX PAYERS MONEY and use ur own resources to create one more mamak potong or bla bla as we already suffered bez of potong seed u plant insde economy of malaysia in 1980’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • It was all wrong from the start. Proton was created for the wrong reasons. Mahathir created Proton to put Malaysia on global stage. It is run by the government, trying to promote the country.

Car companies should be run by car enthusiasts (car enthusiasts doesn’t necessarily mean someone who likes fast modded cars but just cars in general), people with actual passion in the automotive industry and not just for the sake of patriotism. It seems that the only thing that matters to Mahathir is national pride, that Proton is a Malaysian car company, from Malaysia, built by Malaysians, without regard to quality, innovation, and originality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • Oh give up already.

A car mass production car company either succeed through pre-war cooperation industrialisation (Toyota, GM, Hyundai etc) or just the passion of its leader (Honda, Tesla etc), Proton lacked both, and like many many companies in the past, it will get swallowed by a bigger fish and that fish is China funded Geely. Why do you think Mega Cooperate group exist, VW, Toyota, GM? In reality you can count all the major car makers in the world with your finger. Proton doesnt have the market to expand, with that comes the lack of profit which in turn cost Proton to lack funds for R&D or any form of improvement, and with no other bigger umbrella or family to leech engineer and parts, Proton resorts to the government which can only give out life support like some over glorified BR1M and nullify competitiveness.

So far only Tesla, Subaru, Mazda and Honda are the only companies that do not latch on to a bigger family or Umbrella, so the challenge definitely isn’t impossible. Lesson can be learned from the exemplified companies for independent success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Apa gila punya idea..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Although I am a supporter for your ideals during your reign Tun M. I simply can not agree to your idea of a second ‘Proton’.

Just because our ‘child’ is now under the reign of a foreigner, you want to abandon them. To me, Proton now is akin to someone who has failed at one university, in which the fees were fully funded by their parents trying their best at standing on their own.

I’d prefer to support them as how they are currently because that’s what they need right now.

This is like seeing an Asian parent disowning their child because he/she could not live up to their expectation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Aug 26, 2017 at 12:09 pm

mahathir had already created the second proton in 1994. it is called Perodua.

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:42 pm

Dear TDM, With all due respect, Sir, one failed mega experiment is enough.

Balancing the advantages & disadvantages over these 30+ years, I dare say Proton has in total, made Msia worse off. Not only do we, the rakyat have to bail out Proton with our tax monies but also the loss of opportunity to be THE Detriot of SEA. Imagine, if we didnt have the protectionist policies to protect Proton, today we be like Thailand, #1 manufacturer of vehicles throughout ASEAN (annual output of two Million) & #12 globally.

The fledgling car manufacturing industry has not progressed much these 30+ years due to cronyism, protectionist policies & the political interference into business decisions and development. At the end, again, we the rakyat have to bear the burden.

Let this idea be written off into the history books and not revive it again. I fear our country will not be able to survive economically another failed mega car manufacturing project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • tokmoh. on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:56 pm

Proton > all
    Geely > all

Sorry DrM, your Pro3 will have to bow to the might of tongsan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Henry Ford The XII on Aug 25, 2017 at 5:57 pm

Insanity – repeating the same thing and expecting a different result…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Abdul on Aug 25, 2017 at 6:00 pm

Using his own money or rakyat’s money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • He gave his money to that kit car maker bufori for doing nothing and buy his workers votes

• komen jer on Aug 25, 2017 at 6:09 pm

aku rasalah… kalau Tun nak buat another PERODUA mungkin ramai SOKONG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • awang on Aug 25, 2017 at 6:09 pm

If Tun M create another PERODUA 2.0?…What say U all?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
    • We say, no more moving deathtraps! Our lives arent so cheap anymore!

#ASEANLivesMatters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 58
      • Budlee on Aug 25, 2017 at 9:33 pm

Every single proton models failed smoke emission test & still selling, incl proton Boyot. Our lives arent so cheap anymore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • Smoke emission test dun kill. Dun belip just ask VW.
          However non-existent ESC, & low airbag count, not to mention unreliable rear axles, do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 29
          • Sick&tired on Aug 26, 2017 at 3:50 am

Dun belip just connect a hose to your Gen2 exhaust.
            Proton cars don’t conform to Euro 5 or Euro 6 standards.

• Campro Ecologic engine conforms to Euro5, deswai P1 cars is sold with this engine. And emissions dun kill directly or short/medium term. Otherwise back in the days of smokey exhaust, ur parents may not have lived til u were born.

• Khalid on Aug 25, 2017 at 10:42 pm

Who owns Perodua? It is UMW. Who owns UMW? It is GOMEN.

So Gomen gives us deathtraps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 45
  • Ohh look who wants to become PM again. So, what’s next? PEROTIGA? 500% import duty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Revive Proton instead of creating another one. Tun may lose substantial amount of votes with these statement. In the other hand, he get the votes from the people who are involved in the industry.

• Jayden on Aug 25, 2017 at 6:32 pm

Oh no. This statement will makes lots of voters think twice when he see Pakatan logo.

• After what happened, they alredi think 2/3 times. With this, now they only need to think 1 time. We must applaud venerable veteran TunM for making life simple now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 31
  • Neutral on Aug 25, 2017 at 7:28 pm

I don’t think it comes from Tun M. If PH makes this its election manifesto, many,myself included, will definitely won’t vote for it. Enough is enough, thirty years are too long for the rakyat to suffer, give us a break.

• funkyMonkey on Aug 25, 2017 at 7:49 pm

The car company should be rightly named “Mahathir”.
    See the car laku or not…..

• hazamiey on Aug 25, 2017 at 8:37 pm

I would love to start a new car company. A sporstcar company. Let start something that operated from just under a shed but produce something brilliant like Ariel. The Brits are really good at this. Carbon-tub chassis. Rear-wheel drive. A high revving 4 cylinder engine paired to automatic gearbox (since our target market is Asia first).Sport exhaust with butterfly valve is a must. Hire the chassis and suspension tuning expert from Proton. Keep the build quality on par with Japanese car. No need to challenge italian or german sportscar. Just a car that normal people can enjoy with brilliant chassis, good suspension tuning, steering with tons of feedback, proper calibrated gearbox with snappy gearchanges, stratospheric engine and RWD. Without that ridiculous price tag. And keep it Malaysian.

• Jason on Aug 25, 2017 at 9:58 pm

The new government should invest in public transport system which can generate more jobs than automobile industry.

• Err. But new gov alredi is investing massively in public transport. Cant u see the MRT & LRT & more busses & legalisation of rideshares?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 24
      • Must developed those road.. lubang or bottle neck.. remove pls.. y Thailand Singapore can do better than us?

• If he understands the utilitarian theory, then he should know very well having another Proton is a very bad proposition. Doing the same thing the same way will only get us the same (or probably worse) result.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 25, 2017 at 10:28 pm

I’m ok with another p1 as long as no govt involvement n run by know-how businessman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • Insider on Aug 25, 2017 at 11:19 pm

Full fledged JV wif Honda.

• I rather gov invest into public transports instead. P1 has achieved its nationalistic objectives. Its time to let it survive on its own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • P1 under Syed M was run without gov involvement for couple of years now. How did it end up?

• camtakpro on Aug 25, 2017 at 10:34 pm

Stop! The Proton he made contains too many negative charges.

Change it to “If Pakatan win, we will abolish AP”. <– This one 100% confirm win from rakyat!
    But cronies will hate.

• mamak on Aug 25, 2017 at 10:53 pm

He has no shame at all? Common, what he achieved for Proton?

• Very syok sendiri! No matter how many car manufacturers this Tun Dreamer created at the end also needs tongkat and sold to china, india bla bla bla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Berry Allen on Aug 25, 2017 at 11:23 pm

Tun, enough is enough, this is not a game for you to play with the Rakyat, Proton results along these few years spoke for itself how “well” they did, especially during your time…

• Kuinosan on Aug 25, 2017 at 11:29 pm

You have done enough damage to your country Dr. M. If it wasn’t for your bad leadership and traits, Malaysia wouldn’t be in this deep pit. Just go retire in peace and leave a good impression while you still can. TQ

• justsomepissedoffdude on Aug 26, 2017 at 12:16 am

this man is just plain wicked and selfish, after making malaysians suffer for more than 30 years he still wants to take the rakyat’s money to sponsor another project just to satisfy his ego. He should better go and be playing scrabble with his great grand children.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • heyheyman123 on Aug 26, 2017 at 12:40 am

For more info, Proton have more safety features than Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • used-to-be-proud-of-proton on Aug 26, 2017 at 12:56 am

I don’t think fitting cars with the same features as cars from manufacturers in developed countries, counts as putting Proton “in the same standard” as those cars. Two person goreng nasi with the same ingredients, doesn’t mean both will come out sedap.
    I used to naively think Proton cars are on par with “cars from other developed countries”. That was before I really drove Mazdas, BMWs, Hondas, etc. Even Kias and VW with their notorious DSG in our hot weather, is much better than Proton.

• Tun bila dia kata, dia buat. lihat buktinya didepan mata. Tidak mustahil dia akan buat sesuatu utk memulihara pembangunan negara, kestabilan ekonomi dan keselesaan rakyat.

• Ohwai on Aug 26, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Mmm those sampan handling and tow truck friendly cars are not much better than p1

• Faith on Aug 26, 2017 at 5:28 am

Seriously, unless we have the ability to actually do it, we manufactured so called National car which is only in name. Yes, there are 4000 parts to a car, but if you assemble 4000 parts, your are not considered re-creating. How many of us have to spend the life time when they purchase a car in Malaysia? Just because we want to ensure Proton survives, the tax imposed on cars are insane. Plus the dire state of public transport, people have no choice but to get “sold” to the car loan. And even with this, we still need to fork out money to subsidize the loss. Bleeding money just to retain “face” (national car)? I don’t think this is very wise.

• ryanlee on Aug 26, 2017 at 7:53 am

how i wish we had an automotive policy equal that of thailand and indonesia.
    they enjoying buying all new and we are settling for rebadge yesteryear product

• Excellent, can’t wait to drive my first ‘Electron’ as my science book teaches me Proton is a stationary Atom and only Electron is free to move around FAST.

But still its a bad idea Tun M > u screw up Proton pretty much plus by feeding your cronies substituting inferior parts created by your lovely friends. Its still in our heads up till today. Plus I believe u know nothing about cars apart from your bubbling Euro 5 engine when Malaysia still uses Euro 2 petrol. Anyway just stay in politics where you are good at and not about cars.

• C. P. MOHAN on Aug 26, 2017 at 8:45 am

TDM is 92 years old, to make a decent marque requires a lot of time, which TDM do not have, do not get overly “excited”

• johnnas on Aug 26, 2017 at 8:47 am

“Malaysia is the only developing country that succeeds in creating cars of the same standard as other developed countries….”
    1. Proton was the cause of the sky high import tax which rate to date is still in effect (thanks to Bijan).
    2. It ain’t cheap either, bank interest rate for national cars are normally higher.
    3. It’s tech is way behind younger Korean manufacturers really.
    4. Poor build quality which reeks of elaborate under table corruption.
    5. I wonder why people compare P1 and P2. P1 no doubt is safer than P2 but that’s only because P2 is really in the compact car segment that are mostly derived from Daihatsu and Toyota. P2 bashers mostly lacked of logic. Compact cars do lacked in safety.
    6. Tech and build quality are far beyond from being able to be compared against Korean manufacturer’s.
    This statement full of twists and bull. It should be crime to use the word ‘succeed’ and ‘Proton’

• loler on Aug 28, 2017 at 12:05 pm

Lol you think Civic Altis Elantra got more HPF parts than Preve ? Winning those 5 stars NCAP safety rating number does not mean it translates directly to real world situation.

• Ur statement lacks logic. If compact cars lacks safety, shud gov ban compact cars then? How do u explain why Iriz scores much much higher safety than Mivi? Stop gip excuses for the poor product from ur employer. It should be crime to use the word ‘succeed’ and ‘P2’

• Driver on Aug 26, 2017 at 8:55 am

LOL long story short, he wants to repeat the history of Proton. Same thing rugi rugi and blame govt for not supporting.

• johnnas on Aug 26, 2017 at 9:35 am

btw, it is only right that Proton struggles without the aid of govt. Govt has helped enough and all the aid given has been at the expense of rakyat. Bashers of P2, u guys wanna compare? Compare with Hyundai la.

• Anonymous on Aug 26, 2017 at 11:14 am

hmmm… Talk is cheap…. TunM got money… his sons got money… all his cronies n buddies n supporters can pool their money n get funding to build a new ‘Proton’ or another automobile manufacturing company… then he should do it now n don’t wait to win next GE… its because TunM not willing to invest his and his family’s own money to build his daydream n just wants to milk Govt coffers n people’s money… (I’d rather Govt spend its coffers on public infra n transportation n housing)… which is selfish n hypocritical of him after all his years at the helm of the country wishing Malays to be rid of the ‘tongkat’ mentality yet he intends to use the ‘tongkat’ for his vision. Truth be told for whatever good he has done for the country…. his time is done.

• Ar. K on Aug 26, 2017 at 11:30 am

Even the menteri themselves don’t use proton.

• YES TO TUN M on Aug 26, 2017 at 1:24 pm

I support you Tun…make it happen..you have done well for us…since you left we have been suffering like no body business..

• Vincent on Aug 26, 2017 at 1:33 pm

Please ask Tun M about below:

Tun M scam: Malaysia is the only developing country that succeeds in creating cars of the same standard as other developed countries. Proton cars have all the features of cars coming in from other countries. The only thing it doesn’t have is that it doesn’t conform to Euro 5 or Euro 6 (standards), which we could have if we are prepared to pay the price,” he said.
    Facts:
    * We only need a CKD plant, not Proton brand! if not because of national Automotive policy which created by Tun M, Malaysia is far better place for foreign car manufacturer to setup their plant! Thousand of support manufacturer will be setup, Millions of job will be created, Billions ringgit extra in Malaysia GDP! Proton not creating new opportunity! Only a network for political fund been distribute!

Tun M scam: “Proton recently sold just 6,000 units a month, which means 72,000 units a year, so how can it be profitable? In the previous year, it lost RM500 million. This year, if there wasn’t any restructuring, it would lose RM1 billion,” prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak was quoted as saying in June.
    “Last year, the government helped by providing a soft loan of RM1.5 billion, and this year, Proton asked for another RM1.1 billion for R&D (reimbursement). This is the rakyat’s money that is being used to save Proton. We can’t be proud of a national car but still lose billions of ringgit. We must be proud of a national car that is profitable and beneficial to us,” he added.

Facts: Geely only want lotus chasis technology and Proton Tanjung malim assembly plant! They are not interested on Proton! Proton brand worth nothing! Spending billions of rakyat money to make a national car with Malaysian brand to make Malaysian proud? 3 years old children also know that spend billions to have free high school university will make Mlaysian proud, not Proton!

• kahlil on Aug 26, 2017 at 10:09 pm

lousy power window Protun cars

• Ben Yap on Aug 26, 2017 at 10:20 pm

Tun M, I know you like cars but you’ve made malaysia wasted a lot of money when you started proton during your time as prime minister. Your agenda is to benefit your own family and related people under the citizens’ expense. Your old trick don’t work anymore. Your idea is not relevant here.

• sport rider on Aug 27, 2017 at 6:45 am

No need to start another proton, make Honda our national brand, win-win, everyone happy except Toyota and Perodua

• poknik on Aug 27, 2017 at 8:46 am

no more proton please… its a stupid idea

• rahmanshaari on Aug 27, 2017 at 9:17 pm

Kereta dah banyak sangat di Malaysia. Tun , mai kita pikiaq buat basikal protom (bukan salah eja….memang PROTOM)

• Gabriel on Aug 27, 2017 at 9:59 pm

This is one of many reasons not to vote dap led opposition

• Tun did lots of good things in his heyday but heck what’s his game now? Discredit and humiliate himself at every remaining opportunity? But why? A head-scratcher this one… Wish him well but this does not look good… anyway what do we normal mortals know?

• Mahatir is talking rubbish… he said that malaysian cars are equivalent to the foreigner cars rubbish not such as a Mlaysian cars copycat

• Tun, it’s time for proton to take a new step for a new era.

• Nope please. A single Proton is enough i think

• Mark Antony on Aug 29, 2017 at 4:35 pm

Opening one more national car company is digging own grave.. for these people, public money is like water.. spend at will

• encik awan on Jan 10, 2018 at 7:33 pm

Tahniah lah! Ahaha.. ahaha..