We’re big fans of racing games here at paultan.org, and when Gran Turismo Sport hit store shelves on Tuesday, we immediately got ourselves a copy. It turns out that Malaysia actually features quite a fair bit in the game, with eight locations in the game’s new Scapes feature.

Scapes is an extension of the series’ famed Photo Mode, which enables players to place their virtual cars inside a real-life photograph using high dynamic range rendering. Each photo features all the light energy information from that scene – including reflections and the sun’s location and brightness – and the results are nearly indistinguishable from an actual real-world image.

There are over 1,000 locations in Scapes, and Malaysia is one of only three countries in South East Asia to be featured in the game, the others being Brunei and Vietnam. Among the places included are the Petronas Twin Towers (taken from the roof of a carpark on Jalan Binjai, which has since been demolished), the Sultan Abdul Samad Building and a number of locations in Melaka, near Jonker Street.

Couple that with the fact that you can now customise your number plates in the livery editor, and you could really fool others into believing you actually took that photo of a supercar in front of a charming old kopitiam. Unfortunately, however, you can’t actually drive in Malaysia in the game – there’s still no Sepang Circuit on Gran Turismo Sport‘s track list.