A video currently going viral on Facebook alleging that a petrol pump at a Petronas station was under-dispensing petrol has been confirmed as unfounded. According to the video, a customer alleged that the pump did not dispense the correct amount of fuel as paid for.
To prove it, the customer asked station staff to pour RM10 worth of fuel into a bucket, and alleged that the volume of petrol was not equal to the amount paid. In a statement on Facebook, Petronas stated customer feedback was taken seriously and to protect the consumer, welcomes inspection from the Ministry of Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism (KPDNKK) and Metrology Corporation Malaysia, the authorities overseeing calibration of all weight and measuring equipment used commercially under the Weights and Measures Act, 1972.
After testing by the KPDNKK and Metrology Corporation, the pump alleged to have been faulty was found to be in full working order and confirmed as dispensing product accurately. In its statement Petronas said, “we take customer feedback seriously, especially unfounded complaints such as the incident involving the Petronas station at Simpang Pulai South Bound that went viral on social media and Whatsapp.”
The statement continued, “to protect consumers, we welcomed KPDNKK and Metrology Corporation to conduct tests at the Petronas station concerned. It is with pleasure we announce enforcement authorities confirmed there is no discrepancy in the quantity of fuel dispensed as has been alleged.”
Petronas considers the incident to have been satisfactorily explained, and has asked for public co-operation to not spread false allegations. Petronas customers needing further information or wishing to lodge a complaint are welcome to call its hotline at 1-300-88-8181 or email [email protected].
Biarlah as long as don’t mix water can already… just kidding. It’s good that they clarified this else it might blown out of proportion.
As long KPNDKK formula is correct.
3rd party electrician can modify my neighbour’s meter and then after that can still put a new seal. Official seal from TNB.
So, no stopping petrol station operators from buying new seal from KPNDKK black market
No wonder suddenly my petrol suddenly got more these past few weeks. I swear previously when i pump the same amount i thought ehhh looks like more than usual.
Ha ha ha ha. Petronas is now on panic mode. Hello, this not the first time la. I have experienced this so many times. Anyway, the video is not fake. See for yourself how RM10 can give so little petrol. By right should be far far far far more ie about 5 litres.
Anyway, the fact that the pump attendant kept quiet shows and speaks volumes. Why she did not fight and argue?
For Petronas to lie and come out with a statement like this makes it worse. It shows, they are not only dishonest but when caught, they lie lie lie.
Now you know why people go for Mat Salleh brand like BHP or Caltex
it has proven that petronas is right. no need to spread the lies.
Can you trust the KPNDKK staff?
They have measured equipment. What do u have?
Can u trust the rumors? Between measurement tools used by KPDNKK vs the not so accurate measurement tools/method in the video, which one do u trust?
BHP is a local brand
Pet is like P1, BHP is P2.
BHP is Singapore brand
BHPetrol is Malaysia brand owned by Boustead Petroleum Marketing s/b
They do not mix water. They mix kerosene. You can clearly see if you pump RON97. The color of the fuel changes everytime you pump it.
After what happen in Amerika & Austria, still got pipu belip in fesbuk “news” kah?
We all avid fans of TV3. Kui3
That it! I’m switching to full EV. Enjoy filling up your fossil fuel.
Poor thing, my penthouse no EV charging facilities.
I am with you all the way!
Enjoy your coal powered car
Should it be KPDNKK issuing statements? So i guess as much
By the time the enforcement team arrived,u think there isnt enough time for the faulty pump mechanism(if any)to be adjusted or rectified?
The enforcement team need to make REGULAR unannounced SURPRISE checks,not wait for complaints.
Its a shame THESE DAYS,sometimes we feel we r not getting the mileage after pumping away our earnings.
We r not blaming all petronas stations….there MAY be some bad apples doing some hanky panky.
In future,the rakyat should bring the enforcement quietly to the “suspect cheating pump” n conduct spot test.No need tell the operator,who if is the real culprit,will have enough time to recalibrate the faulty pump.What say our dear forum contributors?
calibrated pump is sealed equipment by the authorities. the tamper sign will show if it is being tempered by someone like you.
Can you trust KPNDKK staff? It is like trusting TNB staff when the TNB staff are the ones No 1 for modifying your electric meter
Am sure, the operator of the station would have a mechanism to checked, and not wait till a complain been lodge. if we take the reverse, more petrol pour out for lesser money, the alarm would sure go off as income is lesser right?
Report social media only you act?
Seriously how many people did you scam already
Havent seen the video, but allowing customer to fill petrol into a bucket?
Why was it even allowed in the first place, fire hazard yo.
Its not normal procedure and probably the operator got a stern warning for it, but the attendant (who cud be foreign worker) may have no choice but to do it, otherwise he may kena real bash by the accuser.
At least KPNDKK has clarified this matter.
The attendant is a person with tudung. Looks like local. You cannot even know the difference between local and foreign? Only bangladeshi allowed to work in petrol stations. She does not look like a bangladeshi
The attendant is the foreign worker. Look like Bangla to me. He was the one pumping the petrol.
the lady with the tudung is not attendant. Look like cashier or supervisor trying to manage the customer.
This is normal practise to simply show some facts and figures but inside something a miss and that’s for sure same like govt practise
Let us believe rumours instead of truth
Petronas: “Saya ada ramai sedara-mara dalam KPNDKK, Metrology Corporation dan media sosial. Tolong bersangka baik terhadap kami ye.”
Confirm the pump not already ‘corrected’ before this KPDNKK test? There are dishonest and unscrupulous petrol dealers out there, you know.
Lousy PR by Petronas. How can they confirm that it’s not under-dispensing and yet say the pump was faulty in the same breath?
They should just apologise for the faulty pump which under-dispensed, thank the customer for her troubles and for highlighting it.
And that they have compensated the customer and rectified the issue.
We are not stupid. Things spoil, we get it. But don’t spin a straightforward story. It is insulting to consumers.
Are we reading the same article or not? Petronas NEVER said it was faulty.
We just love to viral trivial issues. And we believe it even though there are not verifiable facts and figures.
time will tell…
probably consumers need to bring own SI measurement gauges and instruments soon.
gonna measure the subway foot long sandwich as it seems short
Yesterday, it was Petron. Today it is Petronas. Tomorrow, it will be Shell. My advice is Caveat Emptor/buyer beware.
Pump your car when the yellow light start to flash. If, U pump full every time it start to flash, chances are U will know roughly how many liters B4 it’s filled.
Am sure U all are smart enough to tell if U are being duped Right ! Complaint to consumers association or Kpdnkk when U think/feel cheated bcos I’ve done my part once.
biar kuning baru nak refill…nnt fuel pump cepat rosak.
Bro, kereta ada fuel filter la. Tukar filter bila kotor. Saya dah pakai 13 biji kereta sampai sekarang pun tak pernah tukar fuel pump. Wira saya dah guna 12 tahun sebelum ini pun OK.
On your diesel car?
Then pls explain the video’s quantity of fuel… Its surprisingly low for RM10… and dont tell me the video is fake…
How big was the bucket anyways?
If only Tesla was sold in Malaysia
Next time I will fill an empty 1L 4T bottle before filling my car…I trust nobody, seriously.
i trust petronas because it’s our own national oil. it’s worst if you get cheated by foreign petroleum producers.
we must be patriotic!
KPDNKK should also check prices at those Mesra Marts..normal price are at least 30% cheaper!..clear case of pencatutan harga
LOL! This is a game of ‘Catch me if you can’.
With the tolerated percentage in differences, it is even easier to revert the pumps’ setting back to standard than to manipulated.
Case 1
Lets say, you walk into a 7 eleven store and buy a bottle of coke. Both coke side by side but one of the coke has a quarter less than the other, it would be obvious to notice the difference.
But now, you drive to a petronas or shell station and pay RM 50, but only RM 48 worth of petrol entered your car tank, would you NOTICE the difference?? RM 2 of petrol will not reflect much in your car meter. That is a 4% shortchanged to the customer. Alot if the long run
Case 2
KPDNKK is the ONE and ONLY agency in charge of the calibration for petrol stations in whole of Malaysia. This calibration is done ONCE A YEAR. And each time there is a scheduled calibrations, these KPDNKk officer will discuss bribes with the petrol operators to rig the calibration. Most (not all) Petrol dealers have no choice but to participate in this game or rigging because the petrol companies deliver less than should be to the petrol operators, thereby causing losses financial losses over time…..this has been a longstanding issue kept under the carpet.
So if a petrol operator is getting shortchanged by the petrol companies, who will get the shorter end of the stick ?? The consumers of course. If the consumer finds out they have been shortchanged? Simple, report to kpdnkk and guess what ? Kpdnkk will say everything is OK. Will Kpdnkk be stupid enough to admit there is an issue and a cause panic ? Think it through…..
The only way to know if you have been shortchanged is to purchase a calibration can of 10 or 20 liters and audit it yourself. Dont rely on kpdnkk to audit it for you as they will only be glad to get more bribes.
I was once a petrol operator and knows so much. It is after all a very dirty industry and maybe, maybe someday this will be highlight in the press for enough action to be taken.
For now, all consumers just bear with being shortchanged a little……..