FIRST LOOK: 2017 FK8 Honda Civic Type R – RM320k

The latest Honda Civic Type R has just landed on our shores, commanding a sticker price of RM320k before insurance. The car, which is fully imported from the UK – costs about 60% more than the FD2 Civic Type R did at its launch 10 years ago.

The new CTR is powered by a 2.0 litre VTEC turbo engine, capable of producing 310 PS at 6,500 rpm and 400 Nm of torque from 2,500 to 4,500 rpm. Together with a close-ratio six-speed manual transmission, the hatchback sprints from 0 to 100 km/h in 5.7 seconds and boasts a maximum speed of 272 km/h. It may not be the quickest off the line, but what matters is it currently holds the record for the fastest FF car to lap the Nurburgring with a time of seven minutes and 43.8 seconds.

So far, Honda Malaysia has already received 60 bookings for the car since it began taking orders last month, which is twice the actual sales target per month. As per all cars sold by the company, the Civic Type R comes with packaged with a five-year unlimited mileage warranty. Service interval is 10,000 km, and the car can be serviced at the same 20 ‘Honda Sport Dealers’ nationwide that have been authorised to sell the model.

You can read our international drive report on the Civic Type R, and check out its full specifications at CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2017 FK8 Honda Civic Type R

GALLERY: 2017 FK8 Honda Civic Type R, Sepang F1 preview

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Bernard on Nov 10, 2017 at 11:49 am

Should be sold below RM150k. The pricing is ridiculous. However, Malaysians will take a 9 year loan , rain or shine…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Prelude96 on Nov 10, 2017 at 4:42 pm

slap on Type R red stiker behind your car. and you got City Type R. he heh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • I miss Ohwai on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:07 pm

Better to buy BMW X5 40e at RM370k than this car at RM320k. Because BMW x5 40e in overseas market cost DOUBLE than this Civic.

This x5 or the Volvo XC90 is supposed to be about RM600k plus. Because of Hybrid tax benefits, the cars are worth it to buy in Malaysia.

It would be silly to spend RM320k on a Civic Type R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • MugenRR on Nov 11, 2017 at 5:59 am

We heard its a typo error by Honda MY.

The price for Civic Type R is actually RM230k.

• Tokmok fan on Nov 12, 2017 at 12:27 pm

Shall get the xc90 now, get the pre-reg at RM340k.

• Ernie on Nov 17, 2017 at 11:28 am

Yalor… pay another 29k more and you get a A45 AMG that can do 0-100km in 4.2s, beats the hell out of Type-R

• Eternalgl0ry on Nov 10, 2017 at 12:05 pm

Just to note this type r is not made in Japan and it is from UK. MOre than 10 features deducted including safety features

The plastic interior is hilarious for the price Even the wrx sti interior is better made. The type r uses the same interior materials of a 100k

So basically around the same price as the wrx sti.

Just 20k cheaper than A45 and audi RS3

I am a type r and Sti car fan as well but is too close to the price of a A45 top demand. I will still choose A45

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • I miss Ohwai on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:15 pm

How to lawan Mercedes A45 AMG? This AMG you know. AMG’s kentut is equivalent to Civic Type R

Come on lah…get real Honda Malaysia

• Kipas angin on Nov 10, 2017 at 12:05 pm

What the special of record in Nurburgring? People just care about sprint test and top speed bla bla. Nurburgring just a circuit and not same to other circuits and road in the world… hmm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Mr.Fact on Nov 12, 2017 at 7:24 am

How old are you? You clearly know nothing about performance cars. Do you know what so special about Nurburgring? Why all car makers proved their cars there??

• Nocturnal Animals on Nov 10, 2017 at 12:21 pm

Buy Honda better, don’t buy Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 15
  • Manoq on Nov 10, 2017 at 12:27 pm

At RM320k, this car is way too expensive!

Let’s compare the following makes / brands and how much does it cost to own a top-spec base variant sold here against the cost to own the top of the range variant of the same model:

1) Honda Civic 1.5t (RM131,800) vs Honda Type R of RM320,000.

The top of the range model costs 2.43x the price of the top-spec base model!

2) Golf 1.4 tsi (RM160,635) vs Golf R of RM293,060.

The difference is 1.46x or 146% more expensive which is still OK.

3) Mercedes A class (RM238,888) vs RM348,000 for Mercedes A45 AMG.

The difference is 1.82x or 182% more expensive.

So, say what you want but the price difference is too big compared to VW and Mercedes, at least.

Do you really get 2.43x the excitement owning and driving a Honda Type R compared to base Golf and Golf R or base A class and A45 AMG?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • Samual L Jackson on Nov 10, 2017 at 12:35 pm

I’ll top up a little bit more and go for A45 AMG

• Too expensive

• 12yrsold on Nov 10, 2017 at 1:43 pm

If the claimed sprints from 0 to 100 km/h in 5.7 sec is correct, I’m afraid it has lost to its rivals Big time.
    The A45AMG do it in 4.3 sec,
    The Ford RS do it in 4.6 sec
    The M140i do it in 4.8 sec
    The Golf R do it on under 5 sec.
    Just saying bros

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Kipas angin on Nov 10, 2017 at 4:00 pm

And most of its rival not use manual gearbox

• Mr.Fact on Nov 12, 2017 at 7:27 am

the fact is, people who are buying this car dont care about 0-100kmh or straight line speed. Its all about handling, the connection between you and the car.

• Iron Man on Nov 10, 2017 at 2:29 pm

Buy Honda better, don’t buy Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Ahfook on Nov 10, 2017 at 2:35 pm

Should be Honda Civic Type A.

*A for Ahbeng

• Better get stinger to feel like conti driving

• contilover & Proton on Nov 10, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Honda still afraid to invest a Dual Clutch towards its manufactured “racing car” because why? because they are still new in the market. why DCT in hybrid? because that only produce less than 200nm torque. Turbo also new. The one with long time for turbo like Renault, VW Group (VW Audi Seat Porsche Bugatti). Dont ever say Real Man Drive Three Pedal. To me real man drive Superbike/Sportsbike with manual. It’s a 4 door car, why invest with only Manual. Goodluck bring family at the back and face jam everywhere! and good luck paying with 30 years backword technology gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • Paul Tan on Nov 10, 2017 at 3:17 pm

The new Honda NSX uses a 9-speed DCT.

https://paultan.org/2016/08/30/new-honda-nsx-goes-on-sale-in-japan-rm951300/

• Cheers on Nov 10, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Clearly that you are hilariously clueless about certain stuffs. Honda planned to introduce automatic , however it will upset the handling balance since automatic gearbox tend to be heavier and type r is front wheel drive. That means it’s already heavy at the front. Adding automatic will only make it first. I don’t mind correcting people but you were very confident with your facts, so yeah! Cheers

• Malaysian Driver on Nov 11, 2017 at 5:00 pm

Or, Honda might have just bullshiting by paying lip service to those people who lamented why this fantastic Civic tyre R is not eqquiped with an automatic gearbox.

You know, the Japanese are very diplomatic in giving seemingly logically answers to cover their lip services to stupid questions. Maybe deep down under, Honda just doesn’t give a damn on what does all these left-leg-crippled pansies who drive automatic thinks (they are not Honda targeted customers anyway) and insist that this Tyre R must carry on the spirit of Tyre R as being manual only , as long as they could. Kudos Honda.

• Malaysian Driver on Nov 11, 2017 at 4:06 pm

Aiyo, still wanna shout so loud to hide the fact that you can’t drive a stick. Real driver don’t mind stuck in a jam driving manual because we just love the joy being behind 3 pedals, just like body builders don’t mind sweating in the gym or a mum never feels tried carrying her own child. That is what we LOVE doing. Got it ?

Just because you don’t like manual gearbox doesn’t mean no one does, many drivers still prefer manual, especially Europe. If you happen to be on vacation there, good luck finding a car that comes with automatic gearbox. So does that means Europeans are backwards or outdated by your silly logic?

If you don’t like this tyre R , just go and buy your toy car with paddle shifters , nobody ain’t gonna be pissed. Just too bad you cannot drive a stick to enjoy a Civic tyre R, and Honda doesn’t give a damn.

• Lullasingh88 on Nov 10, 2017 at 2:59 pm

Person buy 320k price and use 3rd world ron 95 doesn’t make sense and in that price only continental cars deserved to own

• Eyo (Member) on Nov 10, 2017 at 3:33 pm

Wow, sometimes i wonder how can one be so rude.

• Matjava on Nov 10, 2017 at 5:04 pm

0 to 100km/hr is 5.7 sec is about the same as A4 quatro ~5.8sec.

• Aeroheads on Nov 11, 2017 at 11:01 am

T.C. Motors please bring in the Megane IV RS and price it ard RM230 to compete with this.

• This car is only RM180k in Langkawi. Thnks to the ridiculous amount of tax, it becomes 320k in semenanjung.

• gti owner on Nov 11, 2017 at 3:11 pm

talk so many, it still have 60 booking and more will come…

• Ernie on Nov 17, 2017 at 11:27 am

I don’t understand… pay another RM29k more and you get A45 AMG that can do 0-100km in 4.2s… and in branding point of view it is a Merc… i wonder how attractive the new Type-R would be in capturing Malaysia market…

• Getting a GTi Mk7, the driving pleasure still exiting driving a Tap R. However, let’s don’t compare the price, engine capacity, style, handling… let’s compare the driving convenient here. Why still manual? Tap R maybe only for weekend driving but I would still prefer DSG here. Real man drive manual? Oh yes, maybe real man in 70ties. Real man now drive like a F1 driver with paddleshift.