Youths want better public transport, zero emissions

What do future generations want? A better public transport system and a zero-emissions zone within Kuala Lumpur apparently, according to youth and sports minister Khairy Jamaluddin.

The Sun reported Khairy as saying that it is important to start educating the public about the need to protect the environment, in order to achieve this goal by 2050. “It is my personal hope that by 2050 no one will be using either a petrol or diesel vehicles in the city, they can instead use public transport or electrical vehicles,” he told reporters on Sunday.

Khairy also said that the goal can be achieved within the 33-year timeframe, adding that some cities in Europe have already planned to ban petrol and diesel powered vehicles by 2030.

Additionally, Prasarana is already working on a seamless public transport and payment system – another one of the youth’s aspirations – as well as developing the Mass Rail Transit (MRT) lines further to improve connectivity within the Klang Valley, Khairy said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• and don’t forget about the 30% car prices reduction too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • ppimm on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:55 am

Youths hope for better public transport system becoz burdening costs of living and high ptptn debts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Operation Manager on Nov 14, 2017 at 1:59 pm

When 30% car price reduction? When RFID pay toll system with full speed 110kmh? When Hybrid/EV car come with zero tax-duty?

• Cheaper cars doesnt promote more public transports. They shud instead raise car prices up by at least 30% more. Its now too cheap for pipu instead to consider using public transports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 20
      • iswara on Nov 14, 2017 at 3:50 pm

car talk is cheap. just go ahead and raise car prices by 30%.
        And let’s seee….

• Not just raising car prices. And they shud oso implement congestion charges into cities as well.

• Habislah Mivi baru!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 57
    • Miviriz on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:52 am

Habis stok Mivi baru…. laku giler lettew.Huk3

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 11
      • Mcm mana nak laku kalau axel hilang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
        • Disgruntled Iriz Driver on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:45 am

Way to go on nitpicking one particular defect on a car without looking at things in a better light. If you’re so damn scared of losing axles, jalan kaki lah! Be sure not to hit yourself on the way out, sakit bucu pintu tu!

• Tree man on Nov 14, 2017 at 1:02 pm

Also Perodua is an association of manufacturers or suppliers with the purpose of maintaining prices at a high level and restricting competition cause Perodua doesnt allow other brands like Volkswagen, BMW, Mercedes Benz, Volvo, Honda, Toyota, Nissan to be at the top, only Perodua is only wanted itself to be at the top which is very selfish, highly offensive, snobbish and disrespectful to other car brands. Lastly don’t buy Perodua and also hopefully Perodua sales will keep on dropping

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 4
      • Muthusammy Loo on Nov 14, 2017 at 6:23 pm

@Tree man: Also, i saw that new generation Myvi ‘omitted’ the temperature gauge unlike previous 2 generation Myvi, that means now all new Perodua cars doesn’t have proper temperature gauge anymore (they omitted it based on assumption that this gauge are not important, but, wait until red icon flash out, high chance the engine already smoking/cooked).

• Rightwinger on Nov 14, 2017 at 6:59 pm

Way to go! Show your support for local industries by wishing them hell and kicking them in the nuts. Show your love!!!

• Elsie on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:25 am

Then we should also ban all forms of open burning that does not exclude smoking in public areas.

• Tom Daley on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:19 pm

Dwindling daily ridership of public transportation is HUGE problem. MRT becoming white elephant …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • Well, the constant breakdowns in SMRT cost riders money and more importantly, time. So cant blame pipu for daily ridership is dwindling. They just dun have the right pipu to run the outfit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • tiadaid (Member) on Nov 14, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Solving the MRT dwindling ridership is simple.

Implement congestion pricing.

• Ask any urban youth today in KL and they will tell you the same thing, League is better than Dota. Ask them weather they like driving and most will say NO even those who are into cars. Most working and even university/college students detest the fact that they are using their Monthly allowance/below-world-average-basic-pay to fund their own transportation (petrol/toll/side mirrors damage from motorcyclist) espacially those who are not within the web of Malaysian public transportation. Add to the fact any roads to any place within the Klang Valley is choke with ever increasing amount of cars. Most of us detest actually being stuck in traffic crawling past daily the frequent “u-pay-me-I-call-insurance” matchup that springs up every rush hour.

To some of us outside the web of the Rapid KL lines, the car is our only means of commute, with petrol prices costing higher than some luxury swiss watches and traffic slower than some continents, Faster paced young generation wants cheap and convenient commute between hot spot. Go to Singapore and Tokyo, usage of cars is nearly elective. The KTM , the only rail network that connects the real outskirts of KL is about as unreliable as a loose bow or your Team in random match, and is these outskirt people, far from the city center that usage of cars become compulsory.

If trains are better connectes and cars cheaper to run, it takes a huuuuuge load off the rakyat backs espacially those who live afar and to those like me, just starting adult life and who have a milky-at-best outlook of our future financial prospect, we honestly demand better public transportation and Electric cars. And also im just joking about League being better than Dota thing, obviously Overwatch is better than both.

• And thats what the gov is doing, building more public transports despite the protests & insinuations. But u know, Rome wasnt built in a day, so it takes time. And if the current gov still around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • Very true, the silver lining with our current government is that they are trying (and actually doing) to build a world-class connectivity for the Malaysians….. or rather the Greater Klang Valley. The current government seems to neglect anything outside of it beside the ECRL and the HSR.

But than again adoption will be entirely down to how reliable, safe and convenient the system is. The lastly, as Khairy is trying to promote, the mentality…. basics like standing to the left and walking to the right of the escalators still fall short on deaf ears to Malaysians and our *cough* many residents. Malaysia is well known for being the text-book “First world implementation, third world mentality”

• Not being biased against other cities, but u have to admit, Greater Klang Valley has denser concentration of pipu and high rises. The pressing need starts here as it continues to grow faster and bigger than other cities. Furthermore, ROI from the huge spending will faster to recoup in KL than other areas. Oso other states r allowed to setup their own as what Swk is planning to do.

As for the mentality part, well… it takes pipu to police pipu, like in developed countries and I alwiz do my part.

• john otak udang on Nov 14, 2017 at 2:32 pm

Do you realize our gov is capable of doing or should I use “completed” the public transport plans way before. But I believe it is mainly due to mismanagement of funds and lack of proper planning that results what we are facing today. Why bother looking at TN50 when we can’t even achieve Wawasan2020.

• Kudos to Selangor gov, providing Smart Selangorku free bus service. 11 million Selangor passengers benefit from free bus rides.

Hidup Selangor!

• Disgruntled Iriz Driver on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:49 am

I second this. Smart selangor bus is a boon to those of us living in the state. Sometimes I even use the service! Miles better than stuck in a jam with my Iriz

• thepolygonal on Nov 14, 2017 at 3:29 pm

Time stuck in traffic jam equals to non productive time wasted equals to money wasted equals to unhappy people. Unhappy citizens equals to trouble for government.

I know you are trying, I am not blaming you but others are not as forgiving.

• xoxox on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:01 pm

lmao…2050??Khairy, u still alive by that time? getting all the car pass the EURO 5/6 Emission test first before talk about fully electric car….

• small thing that matters on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:03 pm

tackle the most basic violation first.. smoking in public place like restaurants, parks, at the entrance of office buildings and shopping malls etc. then we can talk about bigger issues like banning cars into the cities. make sure all walking path around city centre are clean and sheltered. remember we are not in a 4 season country where you can walk miles without breaking sweat. here we need a shelter to walk otherwise the office will be a smelly place to work

• kzm (Member) on Nov 14, 2017 at 2:25 pm

smoking? isn’t that start with u? why need govt to do that?

• rosdi on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:06 pm

Zero emissions in all cities!… not just KL! Imagine going to work every morning where you can wind down your car windows and not worried about inhaling diesels from those buses/trucks/bikes!

• Ah Kow on Nov 14, 2017 at 2:03 pm

Not being biased here but I think Gov should concentrate heavily on KL City Centre first. Since it is heavily dense with office buildings. MRT, LRT, Monorel is helping but not solving, cause the road is still jam anyways. Whats next? Trams maybe?

• Sama L00 on Nov 14, 2017 at 3:45 pm

concentrate on Metrobus, old lorries, bas kilang spewing black ekzos fumes..

• Ah Kow on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:13 pm

For now, the Gov can hunt those bus operators OTHER than RapidKL, that emits thick heavy black smog from their old buses which suffocates nearby pedestrians. Like come on, why isn’t SPAD doing anything about them? isn’t it illegal ? Same go for lorries too. These are a few things that the Gov can start with for NOW.

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:13 pm

The millenials and those born after 2010 are all for the environment. They will probably never buy a car nor even learn to drive. Cars will no longer be sold, but have to be hired. Cos in the future, cars will self drive. The act of driving a car may actually be banned in the future, as self driving cars with crash mitigation systems will literally prevent cars from hitting each other or any obstacles. There will be no more road bullies and no road rage. And everyone will become snowflakes (like in the classic Stallone movie, Demolition Man). Work can be done from home. No more need for commuting. Banking will be done online and all financial transactions are cashless. So no need to find an ATM for cash. Physical malls will no longer exist as shopping is done online, and delivered by drones. Humans will just relax at home and have more free time to be with friends and family, or go for holidays.

• Slirh on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:15 pm

its quite misleading to say that future generation wants better transportation. efficient public transportation and infrastructure have been people need. Question is with all the money and technology available, have we (the govt primarily) been able to provide a cost effective and efficient solution?
    Its time for our politicians (especially those elected) to play the governance role in ensuring the available money is invested in the most efficacious manner e.g. lowering cost ($/km) for international standard highway.

• Most youth cant afford buying electric car.

• then stop logging on our forest lah and stop building highway god dammit
    #savemerapoh #savefraserhill

• Youths want better public transport, less emissions

• Eternalgl0ry on Nov 14, 2017 at 1:46 pm

Say easy do hard.

Wait for a bus that only travel the area two times per day. Random estimate time arrivals that could take two hours

You made my grandmother wait

• 12yrsold on Nov 14, 2017 at 2:04 pm

What is KJ talking ?? Of course most youth want better public transport. Don’t we ALL. Zero emission is something every countries should be aiming. NOT just Malaysia.

• Ya, but in a lot of states, public transportation aren’t as widely available. For example, JB. Doesn’t have ktm, mrt, or whatever. Even the bus stations can’t be found everywhere.

• Alamak on Nov 14, 2017 at 7:44 pm

Youths 50 years ago wanted better livelihood, a home, easy and affordable transportation and a job.

Youths 40 years ago wanted better livelihood, a home, easy and affordable transportation and a job.

Youths 30 years ago wanted better livelihood, a home, easy and affordable transportation and a job.

Youths 20 years ago wanted better livelihood,a home, easy and affordable transportation and a job.

Youths 10 years ago wanted better livelihood, a home, easy and affordable transportation and a job.

Youths now years ago wanted better livelihood, a home, easy and affordable transportation and a job.

It was always the same. Government also the same all this while. Coincidence?