Fisker details new solid-state battery technology: 800 km range, charged in just one minute – report

Fisker has bold claims for its breakthrough in solid-state batteries. The company says that it is patenting a new solid-state electrode structure for a battery that will have some remarkable specifications, according to Electrek.

“Fisker’s solid-state batteries will feature three-dimensional electrodes with 2.5 times the energy density of lithium-ion batteries. Fisker claims that this technology will enable ranges of more than 500 miles (800 km) on a single charge and charging times as low as one minute – faster than filling up a gas tank,” the company said in a GreenCarCongress report.

“This breakthrough marks the beginning of a new era in solid-state materials and manufacturing technologies,” said Dr Fabio Albano, vice president of battery systems at Fisker, and the company anticipates the technology to be ready for production from 2023.

The long lead time was attributed to the lack of supply chains with the required raw materials and tooling, as well as quality control procedures, the report added.

“We are addressing all of the hurdles that solid-state batteries have encountered on the path to commercialization, such as performance in cold temperatures; the use of low cost and scalable manufacturing methods; and the ability to form bulk solid-state electrodes with significant thickness and high active material loadings,” he said.

Limitations in current battery technology include low electrode current density, limited temperature ranges, materials availability, high costs and non-scalable manufacturing processes, according to the GreenCarCongress report.

Fisker’s technology allows the construction of bulk three-dimensional solid-state electrodes with 25 times more surface area than flat, thin-film solid-state electrodes, which enable fast charging and cold temperature operation, it said.

Closer to reality, the Fisker EMotion is slated for debut at the 2018 Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Las Vegas, where it will showcase a proprietary battery module with advanced thermal management using battery cells from LG Chem. Other exhibits expected alongside the launch at the 2018 CES include Fisker’s solid-state battery and fast-charging technologies.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• dendorium on Nov 15, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Wow. This would be great. No mor reason to buy gas guzzling petrol and diesel cars. Also no more reason to be affected by weekly petrol increases. As long as chaging stations are easily accesible and electricity prices are controlled/regulated, humanity will no longer need to buy petroleum/gas anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Think first on Nov 15, 2017 at 5:06 pm

No need petroleum or gas anymore? Your electricity come from where? From liquid gas and even dirtier coal lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
      • U think first on Nov 15, 2017 at 5:56 pm

That shows how shallow thinking you are. Have you heard of wind, solar and hydro power? They are all electricity generating sources

• U should think first on Nov 15, 2017 at 7:10 pm

True there is wind, solar and hydro power. But the question is how will these mode of electrical generations can cope with high electricity demand.

Relying on wind would mean that we need tonnes of those windmills scattered across our country. And with our wind strength, I’d say it is hard to do it.

Solar is a viable choice given our climate. But you need acres and acres and acres of solar panels to meet demand. Again, not very suitable.

Hydro only count for 10% of our total electrical generation. Output is puny but cost a fortune to build one.

Natural gas and coal are still the major contributor to electrical generation (for malaysia). Im afraid this will be the case for years to come.

Nuclear ftw.

• 2 Sen on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:09 pm

Actually both of you are right and also wrong

Firstly solar, wind and power: All these resources are well available in Malaysia, but utilising these technologies would mean building new dams (hydro). However solar panels are very cheap now as the manufacturers in this region have already achieved economies of scale. Countries like Indonesia and Philippines are way ahead of us in these areas. Wind technology is cheapest and Malaysia, especially Borneo has enough strong winds to enable sufficient power generation.

The main reason Malaysia has not explored these options which all our neighbours have, is because we need to safeguard our gas and petroleum industry. Recently even Tenaga Nasional was forced to buy gas from Petronas instead of opting for cheaper options.

That is the reason why electricity tariffs are so high here. If they remove the dependence on gas and look for alternative energy sources, our electricity generation costs won’t be so high. This would then enable electric powered cars to be more viable/cheaper option compared with gasoline powered cars in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • I second you on Nov 15, 2017 at 5:58 pm

True. We could also end up with exorbitant tariff.

• carlzen on Nov 15, 2017 at 7:27 pm

ever heard of nuclear power bro

• Johnson Potien original on Nov 15, 2017 at 7:53 pm

Nuclear waste is a major concern, not very clever. Do we really need a car? Bring back the horses!

• WT Fuchhhh on Nov 15, 2017 at 9:15 pm

The biggest advantage of EV is none of the above. It is protection against climate change and survival of the human race.

• Anonymous on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:18 am

Having centralised the fossil fuel consumption has a positive side. We would spend less fuel transporting fuels to individual filling stations. And people forget that these cars can also GIVE electricity back. Urban and suburban travellers almost always have a lot of excess range after a full charge at work. Houses can be wired to accept electricity for private use or sell that excess (of course you can program it to leave as much range as you want, in case of emergencies).

• Viable masspro solid state batteries will be the next spark in technological evolution. From phones, to EV vehicles, to powering homes in remote places, if it able to be non-volatile, charges quickly, holds charge, and affordable. Renewable energy charging has never really been a problem, but energy storing & transporting tech is lagging.

• 12yrsold on Nov 15, 2017 at 4:09 pm

What !!! Charged in 1 minute ?! Wow, that is only 60 seconds. That is faster than queuing up to pay toll.

• Night Hunter on Nov 15, 2017 at 4:46 pm

Knowing Fisker, it’ll be another vaporware

• pondan5 on Nov 15, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Fisker is famous for over commit under deliver. Whatever they say just take it as entertainment under Sci Fi genre.

• Jimmy on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:21 pm

It was just a few months ago when I last mentioned about full electric range in excess of 1000 km and ultrafast charging.

Since you have five more years to go before mass production & commercialisation, it is now time you start putting a few units in Dubai outdoor to feel the extreme hot and cold temperature changes. A useful battery probably will need an eight-year durability, in order for people to sell off the vehicle after five-year ownership.

It should not lose 10% full electric range every year you use.

• It is booster charging technology already use in industries such as oil and gas but not too fast 1 minute. The idea is feed as much as current that can be taken by batteries but the bad things is the batteries life span might not can be as maximum as possible. I believe it is not for normal regular charging may be it is an option during emergency to avoid batteries expired faster.

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:27 pm

Battery technology is improving so fast. Wonder when will major car manufacturers decide to slow down development of the internal combustion engine, and spend more effort on EV. Very excited that you can soon charge in 1 minute. Of course the network of charging stations have to be increased to make it work.

• You’ll be killed if this is true .. those in O&G business will not just sitting quietly ..

• thepolygonal on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:23 am

This is good but I rather have this kind of news coming from major car producers like Toyota, Honda… even Proton or Perodua.

Toyota is cooking up something.