November 2017 week three fuel prices – up yet again!

Another Wednesday, another weekly fuel price update, and yet another hike – for the fifth straight week, the cost to fill your vehicle up at the pumps is going on an upward trend, with this week’s being the highest yet.

From tomorrow, November 16, RON 95 petrol will cost RM2.38 per litre (up seven sen from RM2.31 last week) and RON 97 at RM2.66 per litre (up six sen from RM2.60).

On the other hand, Euro 2M diesel will now retail at RM2.25 per litre this week (up five sen from RM2.20), and Euro 5 diesel – always higher by 10 sen over Euro 2M – at RM2.35 per litre. These prices take effect from 12.01am until November 22, when the next round of fuel prices will be announced.

This is the 34th weekly fuel pricing update since the system’s implementation on March 30. Compared to March 2017 prices, which was the last month before weekly pricing took effect, all fuel prices are now more expensive, with RON 95 by eight sen (from RM2.30 per litre), RON 97 by six sen (from RM2.60 per litre) and Euro 2M diesel by five sen (from RM2.20 per litre).

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments largely express concern about rising fuel prices, with calculations showing it could reach RM 3 or more per liter soon, significantly increasing costs for drivers of small and older cars. Many are considering lifestyle adjustments, public transportation, or more fuel-efficient driving habits to cope with the increased expense. There's frustration over the timing of price hikes despite global oil prices dropping, and some debate about the government's petrol subsidy policies and reliance on global oil prices. Others reflect on the socioeconomic impact, including increased living costs and changes in consumer behavior. Despite the negative sentiments, a few comments highlight the importance of being cautious and adapting to the current economic conditions, with some expressing gratitude when prices seem stable or decreasing temporarily.

• Only rains fall nowadays

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 1
    • anuar on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Looks like it….

• anuar on Nov 15, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Wonder when the MOPS price will come down

Sooner rather than later I hope

• Ramanujam on Nov 15, 2017 at 7:40 pm

Last year, gomen collected about RM100 billion in GST.

This is extra income. Where is the money going to? Remember this is extra income that was not there the past 30 years

Also, abolished petrol subsidy. Gomen saves RM6 bil per annum.

SO now, gomen has RM106 bil extra income. Where is the money going?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 5
          • 7yrs old on Nov 15, 2017 at 7:53 pm

Bonus bonanza in Jan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
          • Cheat Cheat Malaysia on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:41 pm

Global oil prices went down 4 days in a row the past 4 days.

But our prices have gone up. Not little but 7 sen. How can like this???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
          • Busan boy on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:25 am

Subsidise hundreds of million a month! And going up still?? Okays….

Source-
            https://paultan.org/2017/10/31/government-still-paying-millions-in-fuel-subsidies/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • 12yrsold on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:20 am

Slight correction here bro. Our Govt collected about RM36 billion GST in 2016 I hope it help U in your future quotes.

• Rightwinger on Nov 16, 2017 at 4:58 pm

Please show your source for that RM 100 billion figure so we can verify.

• YB Albert on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:54 pm

The day roti chanai hits RM2.50 a piece at your roadside stall…..is not a myth anymore.
      No more nasi lemak Rm1 pack bungkus…when u open up,no ikan bilis n timun and telur…just sambal n nasi putih ,without santan.
      Those driven in gomen hondanas dont give a damn.Yesterday,I saw rows and rows of night stalls at setapak with few customers.I m sure many of these r holding a day job while trying their luck at night .
      Just shambolic,the rakyat is left to rot,trying to put food on the table.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 2
    • Barang Naik on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 118
    • AddSaltAddPepper on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:30 am

Improvise. Adapt. Overcome.

Time to change my lifestyle and make public transport a habit. Let’s see how it goes…..

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 154
    • Oh mak lu on Nov 15, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Gomen managed float system for fuel prices is good & accurate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 97
    • Cannot tell if sarcasm or stupidity. Probably the latter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • Why banding dengan SG , they are not oil production country ! Most oil production countries thier petrol / littre less RM 1 .. only MY ron 95 already sold RM 2.38 !!

• government can consider to introduce gasohol e20 already

• Zuchie on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:21 pm

Sad but true…

• Corncup on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:45 pm

RON95/liter RM2.38 sahaja.
      Air Mineral/liter RM2.80.. Cukuuurr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
      • 12yrsold on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:25 am

Lain kali, beli Air Mineral di TESCO. 1 liter baru 90 sen. Jangan bazir.

• A honda city’s full tank is gonna be touching 100 bucks now. Let that sink in folks. Do the right thing next year. Don’t be fooled by the price reduction that will come up around Q1 next year.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 5
    • MYVI.
      the fuel efficient pipel car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
    • 95 je on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 123
      • Disgruntled Iriz driver on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:14 pm

A bezza with its 36 litre only need to pay upwards of 70 from almost zero to full tank. That’s 95 mind you. Do i have to explain the amount i have to pay for my Iriz?

So in the end, yes boleh reach 100 laa especially with this new price! Aiyaa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • errr, do you know even know how to calculate. sorry to ask this question, 40 * 2.83 is very close to 100 d. your kebodohan, mak aiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Normal Guy on Nov 15, 2017 at 11:15 pm

Errr…no, it’s actually 95.20. with your “close to 100 logic”,we can also say 85 is close to 100.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • dogee on Nov 16, 2017 at 4:34 am

err.. 40 x 2.38 bro.. it’s 95.20. which country are u staying to say 2.83? aiyaa.. ya i see now why u say it reach 100. wrong calculation, or something wrong with your eyes. mind u, usually we dont fuel up till 40 litre, average between 35 to 37 litre because have few litre in reserved tank. so my calculation was correct, 83.30 to 88.06. Or maybe based on your logic, 83.30, 88.06 or 95.20 is close to 100, maybe we can say 50 also close to 100. aiyaa.. statement tu lain kali cerdik sikit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
    • Hector on Nov 16, 2017 at 12:24 pm

Everytime i fill up my honda city from 0km range to full tank rm55-rm60(ron95) and i got 520-550km in range. Avg is usually 15-17km/l, highest I’ve reached 21.5km/l. Learn how to press your pedal if you’re driving a cvt car, it’s different than normal auto but once you know how to control the pedal you’ll achieve good FC and your pocket will be happy as well.

• dogee on Nov 16, 2017 at 3:41 pm

no wonder can reach 100, maybe he drive 3rd generation honda city.. very old man.. that is why he thought 2.83 is 2.38.. forget to bring his contact lens.

• Mate, you’re like a walking contradiction. You’re taking his statement way too literally, yet not literal at all at the same time. Amazing!

Literal: RM85 can be said as “close to RM100”. With your logic, RM99.99 can be said as “not close to RM100” too. There’s no rule to dictate that.

Not literal: He said “going to be touching RM100”, meaning at the current rate of increment, it might reach RM100 very soon, a statement which 100+ readers seem to agree. His statement does not mean it has hit RM100 now.

I think you need to have your English checked though. Want me to recommend you some English classes? :D

• Cheat Cheat Malaysia on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:33 pm

Cannot understand why. Cause just read article. Oil has dropped to 24 month low. Ringgit also has strengthened against the US dollar.

Oh my Oh My, We Malaysians kena tipu kaw kaw

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 7
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:35 pm

thank you government. I’m not being sarcastic, but at this rate, we will be taking public transportation more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • public transportation to Felda kechau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • RapidKL … every 40 mins per bus! Sometimes 2 buses came together so need to wait 1.5 hrs for next bus … And always LATE!

• Ini semua salah Brent crude naik!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
  • Cheat Cheat Malaysia on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Petrol Malaysia :

13/07/2017 – 8/11/2017
    Naik : 4sen (13.7.2017)
    Naik : 6sen (27.7.2017)
    Naik : 4sen (3.8.2017)
    Naik : 5sen (10.8.2017)
    Naik : 3sen (17.8.2017)
    Naik : 3sen (24.8.2017)
    Naik : 1sen (31.8.2017)
    Naik : 4sen (07.9.2017)
    Naik : 1sen (14.9.2017)
    Turun : 2sen (21.9.2017)
    Turun : 3sen (28.9.2017)
    Naik : 3sen (5.10.2017)
    Turun : 3sen (12.10.2017)
    Naik : 1sen (19.10.2017)
    Naik : 3sen (26.10.2017)
    Naik : 4sen (2.11.2017)
    Naik : 7sen (8.11.2017)
    Naik : 7sen (15.11.2017)

3x turun = 8sen
    15x naik = 56sen

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 0
  • tokmoh. on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:39 pm

Iphone X tetap sold out, kfc tetap penuh. Cukurlah rakyat tidak terjejas dengan kenaikan harga minyak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 103
    • hafizzul on Nov 15, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Kfc tetap penuh. Tapi hutang ptptn terjejas heh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 0
      • Loan 9 years with 3% interest for new MyV is ok. PTPTN loan with 1% service charge can nego for payment period is membebankan. Puii… bashers logic.

• Lukman on Nov 16, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Gomen perihatin gips 20% diskaun…. settlement penuh. Tp mesti beli Adidas nmd ultraboost dulu ye.

• kaizen on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:44 am

betul2, biar papa asal bergaya

• Over and over again on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:15 am

Not sure if sarcastic.

• xoxox on Nov 16, 2017 at 2:44 pm

not necessary…usually it’s only penuh on the 1 week + after the payday..like last week of the month and first week of the month..after that period, the KFC staff can smack flies…

• oh tokmoh tokmoh on Nov 16, 2017 at 3:59 pm

u wanna know why? iphone x sold out because it is limited edtion, someone who is really rich didnt buy just 1. rakyat marhaen tengok iphone 6 refurbished punya harga pun geleng kepala je. kalau iphone 5c sold out, itu logik… kfc & mcd cheapest price u can buy super jimat box at 8.95 & mcsaver at 5.99. people tend to eat there because go to mamak or restaurant pun paling tidak keluar rm7-rm10. bukan stiap hari penuh pun, masa gaji dan brim masuk je..masa tu jalan sampai jem org nk drive thru. hari lain kosong kot. bukan nak backup fastfood, tak elok fastfood ni, tapi itu realitinya. kalau betul2 duk kl nampaklaa.

• Bernard on Nov 15, 2017 at 7:04 pm

We are an oil producing country. Further global oil prices have dropped.

Does this make sense?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • sabahan on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:03 pm

You choose something that makes sense to you. You can decide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
      • Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Nov 15, 2017 at 9:00 pm

yes we are, but oil we produced are exported due to higher quality, Gomen import oil from arabs for local use. thats why la minyak mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • With recent conflict around saudi, u sure global price is down?

• Paultan please put the price of current oil crude so it easy to see hows the price going on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
  • Benny on Nov 15, 2017 at 7:59 pm

Common! Something going to turn ugly next year. Take full advantage now… poor rakyat! Vote properly!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • can’t take this anymore. my daily salary rm35. this is too much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • KAPCAI FOREVER AND EVER ...WAT TO DO on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:13 pm

M not suprise …i hve said before tht fuel prices are slated to hit the 3 mark by end year .m not wrong ok…its time to forgo the fancy wheels and just get a bike yall..ok…good luck…cos it will pass that mark and onwards to 3.80 by mid 18..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • toyotafan on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:40 pm

one other aspect is that adjust lifestyle…especially for those big time in property investment (even with 1 property!)…all hutang big time to pay every month until can’t pay for petrol

property market downhill, agents losing their jobs…

banks wont take back your property even if it falls below bank valuation, even if you cant pay….they will restructure and you pay forever…

sell it off and have some monies put in bank a.c

• thepolygonal on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:15 am

Problem is it’s a buyers market now and not much buyer are buying.

• Minggu depan turunla on Nov 15, 2017 at 8:57 pm

This week crude price down. Rm up. Only can see the effect next week.

• Brace for rm2.70

• I think the rise in oil price is the last hurrah for the oil producers the world will ever see.

The automotive/travel industry is undergoing transformation – revolutionised and turned inside-out.

There’s so many new technologies being developed, some are headed towards commercialisation.

Technologies like fast-charging, autonomous driving, even passenger-carrying flying drones are going to change the way we travel and consume energy.

They’re all happening sooner than we think.

• Unker Slow and steady on Nov 15, 2017 at 10:03 pm

i’m gonna drive 40km/hr to save petrol. Save fuel and safer journey….

• ccy7218 on Nov 16, 2017 at 12:44 am

Then you will reach office 2 hours late… Career affected… Save fuel and safer however will lose the reputation and career… Think again…

• kaizen on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:47 am

if you plan poorly, nothing will work

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu 1M on Nov 16, 2017 at 1:46 pm

Obviously, this unker oredi retired. No need to rush to office. Just go market to buy vege. Or drive to his fav kopitiam to drink kopi and eat roti bakar.

No need also to worry about reputation and career la.

• 12yrsold on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:31 am

Do not be penny wise but pound foolish. Driving at 40kph means U are actually using more fuel.

Cars are designed to maximize fuel at 80/90 kph CONSISTENTLY. U will make people angry if U drive slowly & U will also HOG/slow down others.

• Petrol station owner on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:54 am

Petrol price going up wor, why the petrol station owner never say anything when price go up? Everytime fuel price go down they will cry making lost. This time untung gila d lor… Stop making noise when fuel price go down next time…

• if only all the shares i bought in KLSE is like that…up up and away..

no choice had to pump petrol this week…:(

• vincent on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:12 am

When will those petrol station operator come out and complain they make too much profit?

• still low on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:32 am

still low our petrol price as you can tell from the heavy traffic jam every morning. hope gov just increase the price to rm5 / L, those poor shouldn’t drive and jam up our traffics and waste our time. they should goto take public transport.

• C.P. MOHAN on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:33 am

Some of the comments have got it right to me anyway. It is time to look at the demand side or getting the best mileage for one’s vehicle (marques can help), even pumping air regularly makes a small difference to my wallet eventually.

• Gabriel on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:10 am

when i look at the opposition’s alternative budget, they did not mention anything about abolishing this method of pricing fuel in our country. It will ultimately still be connected to global oil prices. No subsidy for the masses. What good is that for us the people? It seems like we need to tighten our expenses and be thrifty in this challenging time.

• WildFangX on Nov 17, 2017 at 3:38 pm

Depending on situation, one might be inclined to put aside enough money for 4-5 fuel tanks. However, even for a MyVi, this can be quite difficult.

Assume that you only put enough in for 30-litre refills. If you go by the current price for RON 95, expect to lose RM 285.60 (4 refills a month) or RM 357.00 (5 refills a month).

As much as I hate to be right, I forsee the possibility of RON 95 hitting either RM 2.50 or RM 3.00 sooner or later. Make your calculations based on those two numbers, and draw your own conclusions, people.