Proton wants Malaysian vendors to compete against Geely suppliers, says new manufacturing VP

With the Proton-Geely FSP now in full effect, Geely suppliers will soon set up operations here in Malaysia. This will undoubtedly result in competition with local suppliers, but it is something that is being welcomed by Yoshiya Inamori, vice president of manufacturing at Proton.

“When Geely comes in, I want to ask more competition for the Geely cars, because when Geely cars come here from China, it means Geely suppliers now come into competition to produce in Malaysia,” he said during an interview.

“I think therefore (in) the future, I need to ask the Malaysian supplier to be competitive (against the) Chinese supplier, and I think in order to become a global player as Proton and suppliers in Malaysia, such competition is good for both Proton and suppliers,” he added.

Inamori also stressed on the importance of quality, cost and delivery (QCD). “If they want to survive, the QCD must be competitive. It’s not only in China, but Russia, and anywhere in the world. If (they are) not competitive, they cannot survive,” he explained.

Working together with suppliers is of course, an important step, and Proton will meet with them to help discuss ways to reduce costs. This initiative involves preparing an action plan to lower costs by 30%, as highlighted by Li Chunrong, CEO of Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Sdn Bhd (PONSB), in the past.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• thepolygonal on Nov 21, 2017 at 6:03 pm

Oh.. I think we all know how this is going to end up. Competition is BAD for Proton supplier… bad.. bad… especially when we are going to have made in china competition.
    Then again, I hope those years and years of supplying experiences have prepared them well for this.

• dolloh karim on Nov 21, 2017 at 6:04 pm

Proton supplier parts prices in Malaysia were up to 50% higher compared to parts sourced for Japan. This is happening due to cronyism and monopoly protection, lack of economies of scale. But definitely 50% higher price is not because local suppliers have 50% higher quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Jsjsj on Nov 21, 2017 at 6:06 pm

Incoming Iriz Facelift 1.5TGDi + hybrid motor with 230hp 300nm of torque with Proton sensing and 11 airbag (including knee area and windshield padestrian airbag)

Wahhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Accord Is Here on Nov 21, 2017 at 6:11 pm

Local suppliers sure koyak… anyway in a liberalized market, this should be the way to go.

• Proton saying something that makes sense?
    Wow and I thought Perodua putting Active Safety Features onto the Myvi will be the biggest surprise so far for the year. Malaysian automotive scene is definitely changing.

• U havent followed the news scene in MY lately. P1 is just following PM early direction of market liberalisation and competing on level playing field.

• Zachary on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:28 am

Lol… PM early direction of market liberalisation and competing on level playing field? U sure got quite high…

• habisssss la, mana cukup makan macam ni. tak apal dah makan banyak, waiting to close shop

• Jonn Dol on Nov 21, 2017 at 6:21 pm

All the upcoming RHD Geely-derived models that will be produced in Proton Tg Malim must also be exported. That’s for sure in order for the local suppliers to offer competitive price and ultimately for Proton to be a truly global player.

• J Clarkson on Nov 21, 2017 at 6:24 pm

2-3 orang Jepun di Perodua lebih cekap daripada 200-300 ratus pekerja tempatan di Proton. Persona dan Iriz yang kononya bakal mencecah jualan puluhan ribu unit sebulan sekarang cuma terjual 1000-2000 unit sahaja.

Bagaimana Perodua boleh menjual Myvi 8000 unit sebulan, Alza 3000 unit sebulan, Axia 12,000 unit sebulan? Perodua mampu bersaing dan mampu maju tanpa bantuan kerajaan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • There are alot of locals in Perodua as well. They contribute significantly to Perodua.

• Geely suppliers should buy over proton suppliers if they are not up to scratch and cannot meet required standards. Win win solution.

• Soo Kee Leong on Nov 22, 2017 at 5:33 pm

No need buy over. Their quality not up to price what we pay

• Malaysian vendor can kolos shop. China supplier sure win.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 21, 2017 at 11:05 pm

p1 supplier oso mostly p2, toyota, honda, merc, bmw, volvo.. eg APM, Autoliv, Denso, PHN, Miyazu

• kzm (Member) on Nov 21, 2017 at 11:21 pm

if vendors close p2 oso in trouble lor.. where do u think p2 vendor come from?

• Buyp2lor on Nov 21, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Most parts on Geely cars can say 99.9% made in cina, all the way direct to mesia. So if ask mesian vendors supply to p1, hav to buy n order it from cina oso. So which u think can get cheaper supply?

• Delloid on Nov 21, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Power window Lifetime warranty > All

• Silhice on Nov 21, 2017 at 7:10 pm

Great move… As they been given premiere treatment for decades…

• Ben Yap on Nov 21, 2017 at 7:13 pm

Remove proton protection and see how it compete.

• Where is the ‘haha’ icon when you need it…

• matt farrel on Nov 21, 2017 at 7:53 pm

finally proton no longer needs to pay for overpriced, crappy parts

• Mokmok on Nov 21, 2017 at 8:00 pm

Bam! Didn’t saw that coming huh?! No more eating kuih while sipping teh tarik..hurry up Proton vendors, stop day dreaming and save your job now..

• jamarik on Nov 21, 2017 at 8:01 pm

padan muka vendor malaysia….dah ada pesaing…..hahaha

• Woot Woot on Nov 21, 2017 at 8:42 pm

So long Proton vendors

• LOLOL on Nov 21, 2017 at 9:05 pm

Translated….. proton suppliers… time to chup lup…..

• James on Nov 21, 2017 at 9:33 pm

Bye bye supplier of proton power windows

• P1 power window oso supplies P2. If they go, where P2 will get their power windows?

• old horse on Nov 21, 2017 at 10:04 pm

bye cronies suppliers when their part probably made in china as well…or source material from china as well..

• Proton and DRB already killed all the good vendors and replaced them with their own companies who are uselessly and non performing . How can they compete?

• Soo Kee Leong on Nov 22, 2017 at 5:37 pm

Why we need to scared to compare if our quality is good? Because of protection, our supplies not even worry when they delived the low quality with higher price. Let’s improve ourselves. Maybe we can supply Volvo parts in future.