Road safety campaigns fail to reduce road accidents and fatalities, with over 7,000 deaths recorded in 2016

Existing road safety campaigns have failed to reduce the number of road accidents in the country, said deputy transport minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi. According to a report by theSundaily, the ministry of transport’s (MOT) Road Safety Plan 2014-2020 aimed to reduce the number of deaths and serious injuries by 50% by 2020, but the death toll has instead increased every year.

Abdul Aziz added that since 2003, the number of deaths from road accidents never dipped below 6,000. In fact, last year alone, the figure went past the 7,000 mark, up from 6,706 deaths in 2015. This was from 960,569 road accidents recorded throughout the country, with 670,935 involving motorcycles, said road safety department director-general Datuk Rosli Isa. Meanwhile, for the first nine months of 2017, the number of deaths stood at 5,083 deaths from 400,788 road accidents.

All relevant agencies and parties, including the road safety department, road transport department (JPJ), and the Malaysian institute of road safety research (Miros) should look into a more holistic approach to tackle the problem, Abdul Aziz said.

“We should have a new focus (in the effort to reduce accident rates) because I see the data today increasing, that is why I say we have failed and we should admit this fact. Maybe we should look at the practice in other countries like Sweden, where the accident rate is 10 times lower than ours,” he told reporters.

He added that other than increasing use of public transportation, other ways of reducing road accidents could include tightening the conditions for vehicle ownership. Each year, he said, 1.5 million new vehicles and more than 500,000 new drivers were registered in Malaysia.

“In Singapore, a person who wants to buy a personal vehicle must have a Certificate of Entitlement (COE). But in our country, a house can sometimes have up to six cars,” Abdul Aziz explained.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Public transports > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Abdul Kadir Latiff on Nov 21, 2017 at 4:50 pm

Government of Malaysia announced last year that if all cars have VSC, accidents and deaths can be reduce 45%

So Government should instruct all car companies in Malaysia to install VSC in all existing cars at minimal cost

For example, there are 1 million Myvis on the road. Gomen should tell Perodua to recall all those 1 million myvis and install the VSC for all those cars. Hardly cost RM300 also to do so.

Yet it can save thousands of lives.

• Rightwinger on Nov 22, 2017 at 8:23 am

Your head! VSC is not the silver bullet that could magically reduce traffic collisions and/or injuries/deaths.

Why pay RM 300 when a simple change of driving habits is free?

• Sigh. All these ‘educated’ roaduser in MY seems to think just equipping polis with rotan will solve the problem, and yet will bash polis when they actually DO use it! See my analogy there?

• tccsuwi on Nov 21, 2017 at 12:59 pm

why compare us to Singapore? they have better public transportation la. and we have more motorcyclist la

• Let’s start by penalising owners who’s vehicle breaks down due to poor vehicle maintenance and slow heavy vehicles during peak hours. Less of all these unnecessary stress and headaches would create a more pleasant drive thus reducing road rage which may increase accident rates.

• lilytan on Nov 21, 2017 at 1:06 pm

1. What campaign? Hardly see any.
    2. In sweden, they use volvo. The safest car in the world.
    3. In Sweden, they have 8 theoretical tests (yes, eight) before u can get your driving license. One of the toughest place in the world.
    4. In malaysia, we give driving license for charity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • aimran on Nov 21, 2017 at 1:12 pm

1) What is the ratio of road accidents or fatalities VERSUS number of cars on the road YoY?

2) Given ratio of 1), what conclusion can we draw?

• TheDoc on Nov 21, 2017 at 1:12 pm

FAILed AES and AWAS Automated Awareness Safety System…. Billions spent and wasted

• camtakpro on Nov 21, 2017 at 4:02 pm

This is because the Gov is so stupid putting AES on a straight highway road causing unnecessary slow down.

AES & AWAS should be located in accident prone areas, or blind spot / curvy area where slower speed are essential or, overtaking is impossible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • AES is placed at most accident-prone roads, irregardless of what type of road it is. Thats why AES works.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Michael Song on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:44 am

Punishment is third world mentality. Need to focus on education and training. That’s more important.

• We knew which car brand contribute the most.

• Mig29 on Nov 21, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Don’t know actually to do. Very poor maintenance of road condition and system.

• Syukurno1 on Nov 21, 2017 at 1:22 pm

This means can increase campaign budget next year!

Yes!

• Better rakyat have 6 car but drive solo than naik bas full 40 people. Accident died 40 one shot better meh that u want to copy Singapore COE to stop car buying?

• Better u enforce no more lorry n buses older than 5 yrs from moving on roads la..

• Domainicus on Nov 21, 2017 at 1:39 pm

May I suggest a “hollistic” approach such as mandatory ESP/VSA/VSC or whatever.And 6 airbags minimum. And autonomus braking too.

• Coming soon. New to PT? That is why new MyV equip with all what u said.

• Rightwinger on Nov 22, 2017 at 8:38 am

Risk Compensation my dear…. The more safety equipments/systems are available, the riskier the driving attitude.
      It’s evident in everyday driving- drivers of premium brands that offer superior safety solutions exhibit their superiority complex nonchalantly as if their vehicles can save them from their own fool hardy driving skills.

• alldisc on Nov 21, 2017 at 1:52 pm

malaysia has about 31-32 million population.

we also have about 11 million cars on the road. and we put more than 500,000 new cars every year on the road. which translates to about 5%.

to consider the number of population and number of cars on the road, it is impossible to reduce the number of accidents or deaths. but to be able to maintain the numbers to between 6-7,000 ppl died in MVA i can say is job well done.

• applegreen on Nov 21, 2017 at 2:05 pm

“In Singapore, a person who wants to buy a personal vehicle must have a Certificate of Entitlement (COE). ”

This is what he and gov want. Get more $$

• And why not? Some certain segments of pipu grumble why we dun follow SG, and yet complain when we DO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • stasta on Nov 22, 2017 at 3:39 pm

follow singaporean bad things but not the good things ? why not follow MYR 1 = SGD 1 ?

• Leafable on Nov 21, 2017 at 2:10 pm

1. NO proper training in driving/riding school. Probably half of them don’t even have licenses.

2. NO tough enforcements in place. Thats plenty of laws and regulations but no one enforce them. Police corruption is a major issue that contribute to this.

3. NO properly maintain their vehicle’s health. Yearly compulsory inspection do help as well.

• rally_fan (Member) on Nov 21, 2017 at 2:20 pm

come on JPJ.. what kinda dumb remark is that? Singapore COE has nothing to do with reducing accidents. why blame cars and car drivers for high accident rates? likewise police.. the only tool they have to combat the high accident rates are “speed cameras”… Of course you will fail.. look at the statistics… 670,935 motorbike accidents out of a total of 960,569…. thats around 70% bike related incidents.. isn’t it obvious your problem is bikes and not other wheeled vehicles?

• lilytan on Nov 21, 2017 at 4:04 pm

Thats what happen when ur priority is selling customized vehicle plates.

• xoxox on Nov 21, 2017 at 4:44 pm

gov want to see got water fish to catch or not…..

• Comment on Nov 21, 2017 at 2:22 pm

Its all about enforcement….
    .no enforcement, no following of rules….

• Normal Guy on Nov 21, 2017 at 2:33 pm

Not surprised.. It’s not that Malaysians don’t know that reckless driving causes accidents, but it’s because they think they can avoid it because their driving skills are so good. Just drive on nkve or federal highway during rush hour and you’ll see. You’ll either see some idiot tailgating, a dungu weaving in and out of traffic and setans driving around cutting Q acting all taiko. How to change? When something happens it’s not their problem, these are pathetic low lifes who got nothing to look forward to in their lives but people like the rest of us who needs to go to work to progress in life suffer.

• smith on Nov 21, 2017 at 2:55 pm

Enforcement, pure and simple. Enforcement everyday all the time.
    Drivers/motorbikes beat lights and cut across double lines all the time without fear. Drivers/motorbikes speed down residential roads without a care for other vehicles, pedestrians or schoolchildren. Countries like Sweden and other advanced economies have cameras EVERYWHERE which are automated. They look for deviations in patterns and send out data to the enforcement agencies.
    No need for your trip to Sweden – just buy automated cameras – program them at traffic lights, residential roads, schools, kampung roads and put in the logic to check. You can call the MOT in the UK for assistance on this. Again – NO NEED for you to waste tax payers money on a trip to Sweden. We all know that’s why you brought it up

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 21, 2017 at 3:16 pm

These campaigns fail because they are focused on speed instead of safety. Mandate all new cars to meet the 5 star Euro NCAP standard and improve the quality of the roads and you’ll see a dramatic reduction in fatalities.

• lolpanda on Nov 22, 2017 at 9:32 am

even a car with the most sophisticated safety equipment still won’t protect you if you choose to go rampant and drive like a lunatic on the road. A Volvo / Merc isn’t going to make you invincibile. Malaysians tend to blame everything else before we blame ourselves..blame the bad roads, the car manufacturers, the enforcement…list goes on.

The issue is in the attitude and maturity of drivers on the road. Blatantly breaking laws and trying to challenge authorities when they get caught or “ask for chance” or the all time favourite..play dumb: “I didn’t know there was a double line” or “the light was yellow when I crossed”. ignorance is not a plea.

it all needs to start from tightening the rules and procedures to getting your driver’s license. even a child could operate a car if they didn’t need to share the road with other users or follow rules…but it takes a lot more training to become a qualified driver worthy of a driver’s license. Just look up driving tests in Finland / Sweden and see how they do it; probably more than half of drivers on our local roads today wouldn’t qualify for a license by those standards.

As they say down under: a driver’s license is a privilege, not a right.

• Campaigns?

Please start with heavy vehicles.. what is a tractor doing on the road at 30kph on busy street at peak hour?

Brakes and tyres on busses and lorries a major concern. Exploded tyres can be seen along the highway, they don’t even bother to clear them..

Road condition.. huge potholes and high speed humps causes people to brake hard, cars behind may not be able to respond on time..

• What a load of crap!!!
    1. Driver education and etiquette is virtually zero as can be seen by how people drive – tailgating, texting, jumping traffic light, not giving way to on coming traffic, not following traffic rules. Just only this morning I saw a car making a U-turn on a double line road. Guess what an on coming bike hit the car and flew. If the rider of the bike were to die, I think the drive should be charged with manslaughter no less.

2. Sub-standard cars being produced with minimal safety equipment.

3. Old cars/trucks and buses way pass their useful date are still allowed to be operational. This one the transport ministry/JPJ needs to take responsibility for the accidents caused.

4. Poor maintenance of roads and build quality. I cannot understand why after so many years of road building we still cannot get rid of “lakes” of waters on our highway when it rains.

5. Everything in this land when caught is “Encik boleh Kasi Chance?”

6. the list goes on.

• azhar on Nov 21, 2017 at 4:35 pm

iklan kat tv pun takde..signage pun kecik, gi tgk negara maju 2 kali ganda besar signage

• Ini sebab harga minyak naik.
    Minyak mahal.Bila minyak mahal,driver & rider ramai malas nak tekan brek sb bila tekan brek,kereta berhenti,nak jalan balik penggunaan minyak tinggi.
    Bila minyak mahal,rider & driver akan nak cepat sampai untuk jimat minyak,bila nak cepat mereka ikut jalan shortcut dan skip jalan itu ini..skip queue..lalu lorong kecemasan..x ikut procedure…main redah jer sb nak cepat sampai,malas nak jammed nnt minyak nak kena isi lagi..minyak mahal…lagi pun sikap masyarkat Malaysia sendiri..baik melayu ker..cina ker..india ker..semua ada ego..sombong..bongkak..x boleh ditegur..pantang tegur nak pukul..pantang tegur nak bawa kereta laju2 tunjuk bajet baguss…semua bangsa sama jer..

• Bad road design is half of the problem here. People wanting to merge on and off a highway at the same stretch. Incredibly foolish design of the roads, you can’t blame the people really. And then you have plastic cones all all sorts of crap over the roads to confuse and cause accidents.

• tokmoh. on Nov 21, 2017 at 8:45 pm

Main contributers are rempits.

So long the law continues to protect motorbikes, where even if they salah hit car, but car became at fault, penalised and lose NCD through no fault of his, rempits will continue to be arrogant and die more.

Langgar red light, nobody penalise them. Should reward car that mow them down to teach lesson to motorbikers that they’re not immune to law, and car drivers need not fear to deliver justice to these pests.

• Turbo charged car is the main cause!

• lolpanda on Nov 22, 2017 at 9:19 am

I think you’ll find that most accidents on the roads involve naturally aspirated cars purely from a factor of percentage of NA cars on the road vs turbocharged ones.

how much more uneducated could your statement be…

• So many Malaysians too stupid or lazy to wear seatbelts. Darwins law.

• ROLAND on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:09 am

i remembered when i took a driving licence class, the instructor commented that our syllabus incl. testing is to simple and insufficient to train new driver to drive safely and effectively compared to many developed nation..he commented that in my class 15 years ago and until today our leader still search for the answer that already known…..its true after all “the answer is blowin in the wind”..

• My humble suggestion to our government.
    1) Lower the new car price/tax which come with safety feature.
    2) Government provide soft loan to encourage trade in their motorcycle for a low price car (used or new, as long come with safety feature). 70% death count due to Motorcyclist and pillion rider.
    3) All new cars must come with such as ACC option for higher spec. Sad case even such an expensive Mercedes E class doesn’t come with it at least an option. I believe the buyer don’t mind to pay extra 10k. Kudus to Honda.
    4) Compulsory for every car come with in car DashCam. This will reduce negligence driving.
    5) Having campaign to educate user understand the bus route. I believe all people have seen the bus in front of your house/office without knowing where the bus goes. Put this as corporate agenda, school event.
    6) Insurance premium cheaper for car with semi-autonomous feature.
    7) Every traffic light install AES, not on the highway.

Malaysia is one of the highest income gap country in the world. It is not easy to force poor people to change new car. Let’s start something. Life is valuable.

• Michael on Nov 26, 2017 at 10:15 am

Off topic… If a driven use the phone to talk without handsfree is illegal but if a drive watch video with handsfree holder is it legal? I experience 2 times on different driver…i felt is very dangerous because their eye focus on the video…i think the authority have to do something

• driive on Nov 27, 2017 at 1:08 pm

Everyone is missing the root cause. Driver education here is basically useless. If you pay, you pass. So people who don’t know how to drive and don’t know the rules are on the road now.
    Revamp the driver’s education system, all these problems will be solved

• Kids learn from parents. Do not even say kampung. In rural areas, parents go against traffic laws, eg speeding, against red light, no helmet, no safety belt, no child seat, using emergency lane, allow young boy to ride n drive without license, react like samseng during accident…….