J.D. Power 2017 Malaysia Initial Quality Study (IQS) – more problems reported; younger owners fuss more

Click to enlarge.

According to the J.D. Power 2017 Malaysia Initial Quality Study (IQS), new-vehicle owners under than the age of 30 report a greater number of problems with their rides than those aged 30 and older, despite actually experiencing less issues with their new vehicles

Statistics from the information service company’s show that although only 37% of younger owners indicate having experienced a problem with their new vehicle (compared with the study average of 43%), the actual number of problems reported by them is notably higher – those under 30 report an average of 83 problems per 100 vehicles (PP100), as opposed to the 77 PP100 reported by older owners.

The study also found that 24% of younger owners experiencing a problem with their new vehicle stated that they would not return to buy from the same brand in the future.

Elsewhere, seven in eight problem categories measured in the study show an increase in problems being reported. The overall number of problems increased to 79 PP100 from 69 PP100 in 2016, with the highest incidences being in driving experience, vehicle exterior and engine/ transmission categories. Problems related to manufacturing quality increased by seven PP100 and those for design-related issues were up by two PP100.

The 2017 study also revealed that Malaysian brands have more problems – buyers of Malaysian national brands reported more issues than buyers of non-national brands (95 PP100 vs. 59 PP100). The SUV segment, which presently is represented only by non-national manufacturers, recorded the lowest reported problem count in the study, at 48 PP100.

The study also revealed the most frequently cited problem, and that happens to be excessive wind noise, with 4.3 PP100 being reported.

The Toyota Vios ranks highest in the entry mid-size segment (62 PP100), while the Perodua Myvi leads in the compact segment (84 PP100). In the SUV segment, the Honda BR-V has the least problems (27 PP100), while the Isuzu D-Max ranks highest in the pick-up category (52 PP100).

The 2017 Malaysia Initial Quality Study (IQS) is based on responses from 2,843 new-vehicle owners who purchased their vehicle between August 2016 and June 2017. The study – fielded between February and August this year – measures problems experienced by vehicle owners during the first two to six months of ownership, and included a sampling of 47 passenger car, pickup and utility vehicle models from 12 brands.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments generally agree that Malaysian car brands like Proton and Perodua report more problems according to JD Power’s 2017 initial quality study, with Proton’s quality improving under past leadership but worsening after 2012. Many highlight that Malaysian brands tend to have higher defect rates and poorer reliability compared to non-national brands, supporting claims of problematic quality and poor after-sales. Some commenters point out that the survey results might be biased or not fully representative due to small sample sizes, and emphasize differences in expectations based on vehicle segments and price points, like wind noise issues in cheaper cars versus premium vehicles. There is critique towards the perceived bias of JD Power and skepticism about its findings, but a consensus that younger owners report more issues, often due to their higher expectations.

• tokmoh. on Nov 27, 2017 at 3:49 pm

Syukur Bao Teng Iriz kurang masalah berbanding Axia.

Bao Teng > all
    Geely > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Muzamil on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:25 pm

Tak payah pening kepala, tak payah fikir. Beli je Toyota Vios dan Perodua Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
      • Tak pikir skarang, akan jadi pening kepla nanti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 38
        • Gagah Murni on Nov 28, 2017 at 11:41 am

“Buyers of Malaysian national brands reported more issues than buyers of non-national brands”

Well that says it all. Even more shame for the company that ask for RM1.5B but produce problematic cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 20
          • john pening on Nov 28, 2017 at 3:02 pm

That’s why they say:

Proton = Problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
      • John Gagap on Nov 27, 2017 at 7:58 pm

The 2017 study also revealed that Malaysian brands have more problems – buyers of Malaysian national brands reported more issues than buyers of non-national brands (95 PP100 vs. 59 PP100). The SUV segment, which presently is represented only by non-national manufacturers, recorded the lowest reported problem count in the study, at 48 PP100.

The above statement is so shameful. Especially so when we as the rakyat have give about RM20 billion of bailout money to the car company.

So shameful. We give BILLIONS every other year and for 30 years still cannot prove themselves to Malaysians and win our trust.

And mind you, we Malaysians are quite patriotic. Each of us have had at least 2 or 3 Protons in our lifetime. We gave Proton so many chances over the years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 40
        • Implying that now P2 has lousier quality compared to P1, since majority of those cars being bashed by younger owners r invariably P2. What a shame. We gave P2 so many chances over the years, yet they got worse, year by year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 48
          • Dreamer on Nov 28, 2017 at 5:11 am

Dah beli tak dapat 20km/l, arrghhhh peninggggg

• lousy john on Nov 28, 2017 at 3:00 pm

The only thing lousy is your ‘twisted’ fact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
          • Sama Kunta Loo on Nov 28, 2017 at 10:02 pm

Even a proper temperature gauge can simply remove (new myvi) or missing like that (axial n biza), just one time ‘unfortunate’ overheat which went unnoticed due to missing gauge (seriously i don’t really trust their blue and red idiot light), the car engine can KO or gone up in smoke anytime.

• mataseoul on Jul 11, 2018 at 3:22 pm

Proton’s built quality actually improved tremendously under the guidance of Syed Zainal (2007-2012, market share 23% @ 150k units per annum).

He was the one who did the clean-up for all the tah!2 left by Tengku Mahalol (1996-2005).

But suddenly Di.Ar.Bi took over Proton in 2012, & they brought in together their “tidak apa” attitude. Proton went downhill afterward, again (10% market share @ 75k units per annum).

• Fadzili rahman on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:01 pm

Younger owners experiencing a problem with their new vehicle stated they would not return to buy from the same problematic brand in the future.

Just as leader had stated, Gen Y must aim high to become successful in the future, have high expectations and must dare to dream big.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Speak louder on Nov 27, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Their main complaint is wind noise. When you buy a RM40k Axia, don’t expect the NVH to be as good as a RM80K Vios. You get what you pay for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • Ohwai on Nov 28, 2017 at 5:12 am

Jepunis cars louder than camtakpro

• Xiaomi on Nov 28, 2017 at 6:44 am

I suspect most of P2’s respondents put NVH as one of the problems lols.
        Aiya. 40k car how wan get quiet one like 100k cars mah?

• lilytan on Nov 28, 2017 at 9:14 am

Thats why msian cars are going nowhere. Just because they are cheaper, it does not mean it has to be badly made.

• Thrylos on Dec 08, 2017 at 5:00 pm

….to be as good as a RM80k Vios? lol

• Rightwinger on Nov 28, 2017 at 9:22 am

You mean generation snowflake? The ‘hand me everything on a plate’ generation?

• old horse on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:02 pm

This JD jokes continues…i mean it has been for years of this joker’s report..

• Small % on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:01 pm

I get what you mean. Surveying 3000 cars from 600k total cars sold annually doesn’t seem to be conclusive enough.

• Logic on Nov 27, 2017 at 6:30 pm

It also depends on how long the cars have been launched…for instance, BRV launched less than a year and for sure it is less problematic than cx5 which has been launched more than 5 years

• The same can’t be said for VW. Old VW Beetles are actually more reliable

• lilytan on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:03 pm

Younger ppl buys cheaper cars (msian cars) while older ppl buys foreign cars. That why younger ppl experience more problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • ex-VGM staff on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:34 pm

they had wrongly matched expectations to reality. if they buy a myvi or iriz, exepct it to be like that. dont buy a civic and expecting it to be like a C class merc.

or buy a vios but expecting level of comfort and performance like a camry. also wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Carazy on Nov 27, 2017 at 6:33 pm

Young & old generations do not want them. So who’s gonna buy P1 cars ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
  • Hmm. Iriz is just 2 points behind Mivi while being a massive 5 points ahead of axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 26
    • Gen 2 on Nov 28, 2017 at 11:57 am

Comparing different segment makes u smart, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • Do u realise what is the comparison? Pls read the chart b4 bashing, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
        • Gen 2 on Nov 28, 2017 at 5:45 pm

Yeah, 2 points are tiny while 5 points are massive. It shows how bias u are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • Why yes, when even out the results vis a vis to Mivi, Iriz is 2.5X better than Axia, no?

• Kuinosan on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:43 pm

Toyota Vios highest number of complaints. No surprises here with the attitude of UMW Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
    • I can't hear you, speak louder on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Excessive wind noise is the main complaint? When you buy Axia, don’t expect it to have NVH as good as a segment above. Pay peanuts, you got peanuts.

• aiyarkk on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:36 pm

what? you dont read?? highest ranking which is the lowest problem per car. not the highest problem. some problem with you eyes or brain?

aiyarrk!

• HowToReadChart on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Hey, can you tell me that how your primary school teacher taught you to read the chart? rofl!

• Do you know how to read the graph in the first place?

• he can not read on Nov 27, 2017 at 8:00 pm

haha, the moment when bashers found a golden chance to bash but realize it was an epic fail themselves

• common sensor on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:45 pm

JD Power is just a marketing gimmick. Not a genuine customer feedback as the sample size does not represent the volume sold.

• talldisc on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:39 pm

so you want JD power to interview all 1.2 million car owners (bought between 2016-2017)? and by using what method is that, may i ask? its not a marketing gimmick, not sponsored by any of the car makers. and every brand has an equal chance (all the cars rated were genuine, not car rental companies or taxis) and has the same age limits.

please let us know what better idea you have!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • I am surprised the Hilux scored below average. And that the D-Max is a massive 11 points ahead of the Hilux.

• Surprised? The Hilux as a reliable vehicle is just an old marketing gimmick (toyota/hilux fans will rage). The others have slowly picked up (pun intended) pace and the ‘supposedly’ king is just usually supported by old timers / ignorant buyers who think toyota > all.

• common sensor on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:49 pm

2,843 new vehicle owners over a period of 10 months onto which about 450,000 vehicles sold. Feedback from 0.6% purchasers .. do you think the data collected represent the true condition of the vehicles??

• karam singh on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:45 pm

firstly. they are all volunteered (you dont think 100,000 car owners are so free to participate, esepcially if they live far).

this can be used as a guideline or benchmark. meaning if some companies are not doing well, then instead of blaming or giving excuses they will immediately sit down togeteher to find a rectification. fyi, toyota was ranked best in CSI scroes some 10 years ago, then knwocked down to 2nd spot by Honda then later down to 3 and down to 6th. but UMWT has fixed it right (with product and after sales service) and they are no. 1 in JD sales and service for 2 years straight,

• simon on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:54 pm

the BRV is NOT A SUV…..

• winwin on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:27 pm

True. It is an MPV. Not an SUV.

• Neither is HRV thats oso on that list, but hey, what do those pipu who buy these cars knows the diff? So probably JDP survey is a reflection on MY buyers ignorance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • When toyota is not No.1 in everything, ini mesti something wrong… according to basher logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 37
    • Xiaomi on Nov 28, 2017 at 6:55 am

Toyota had become complacent, being the market leader for so long. Thats y Honda is overtaking them.

If the business is hot you could do no wrong, if the business is cold you could do no right.

• Oh Wai on Nov 28, 2017 at 11:59 am

When proton is last in everything, ini mesti salah pengguna. Oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • Yeah, something wrong with the charts when P1 not last in everything… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
        • Oh Wai on Nov 28, 2017 at 5:36 pm

Are u sure P1 not last? Oh wai oh wai…

https://paultan.org/2016/10/07/j-d-power-new-models-stimulate-weak-malaysian-market/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Rightwinger on Nov 28, 2017 at 7:43 pm

2016? oh wai….

• U do realised that was 1 year ago? Din someone said anything can happen in 1 year. Oh and Iriz is above Axia, so…

• hondafan on Nov 27, 2017 at 11:24 pm

we want full report not partial!! wheres the rest of the list???

• Queen of MusangKing on Nov 28, 2017 at 12:01 am

As the name implied, it’s just an initial study lah…..so, just treat like any other report.

Anyway, the study did not disclose much details…..donno how they produce and derive results. just showing a bunch of graphs. Nothing conclusive.

• report is true, we read in forums people who bought new car has this and that problem, bad fitting quality etc

its a reflection of the car manufacturer’s attitude towards quality control in this country, irregardless of which brand they are…all same

• Can we have something around 10-20 problems / 100 cars?

Still a lot defects for that numbers.

• common sensor on Nov 28, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Again, its a marketing bullshit. To get the survey data, you have to buy the report and you have to pay something like 200K Sing-Dollar. If you don’t buy ie you don’t subscribe .. then, your position will drop in the subsequent year.

• Thrylos on Dec 08, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Do you think is right to compare Euro standard cars and car with no standard? The reports merely feelings of the drivers.