Petronas drops Hafizh Syahrin, to focus on Cub Prix and Moto 3 World Championship, grassroots racing

National oil company Petronas has confirmed that Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah, who was slated to ride for Petronas Sprinta Racing in Moto2, will not be carrying its banner for the 2018 racing season. In an about turn of events, Hafizh was earlier said to be riding for Petronas Sprinta Racing, a team formed with the collaboration of Petronas and Sepang International Circuit (SIC).

Instead, the 23-year old racer from Selangor will be riding exclusively for the SIC Racing Team in the Moto 2 category for next year. Hafizh previously raced in Moto 2 under Petronas Raceline Malaysia, as well as competing in the Malaysian Cub Prix, Asia Road Racing Championship and FIM CEV Championship.

For the coming race season, Petronas will focus on the development of new riding talents via its grassroots programme in the Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix. Petronas is also collaborating with SIC in the Moto3 World Championship via Petronas Sprinta Racing.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Mohd Darus Ismail on Dec 21, 2017 at 6:50 pm

My advice to Harizh, give your talent to overseas. Don’t bother with Petronas. Suddenly can do U turn.

They must understand you also cari makan and you need to carry the banner to further promote yourself

Don’t worry bro, go overseas. Look for a company that will appreciate your talent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
    • Err. He is alredi going overseas. Moto2 dun just race in Sepang, ya know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • Mohd Darus Ismail on Dec 22, 2017 at 10:53 am

try to learn English and the context it is said john

• Ur allegation is incongruous to the reality at hand. Pet has been sponsoring him for years and decided its time he needs to grow further and earn his spot on merit. The current gen needs to fly solo while the mother hen (Pet) nurtures future gen. No more AY wayang bollocks anymore. Everything must be earned now, so u can take ur bias somewhere else.

• Amirul Hisham on Dec 21, 2017 at 9:28 pm

That’s how life goes. If Petrina’s is there all the time, Hafiz won’t move as a professional. He will Tongkat all the time. If Hafiz really has the talent, there will be offers coming in. Somehow SIC is still giving him the Tongkat so for the moment he will be in a comfortable position.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • James on Dec 22, 2017 at 11:06 am

Why are you talking rubbish? This is motorsports. SIC and petronas are sponsors. Like those elsewhere worldwide. Move on sir. I smell politics in your comment.

• Gud talent will alwiz find sapot anywhere. Keep climbing the ladder Hafizh! U and ur peers r doing us proud!

• the driver on Dec 21, 2017 at 7:43 pm

A bit of a shame but I hope his new team is just as good if not better than the previous team otherwise he might be heading the wrong direction. A really talented rider given the limited resources.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Mr. F on Dec 21, 2017 at 10:57 pm

He did mention, before the season ends, that if he want to be in potential of more podium finish in the future he need to change from the current team. There was rumor of he having some internal issue with the team. Now PETRONAS announced to discontinue the sponsorship. Clearly, recruiting new star rather than supporting the potential star in hand does look awry.

Nonetheless, as a fan, we hope the best for Malaysia Motorsport future

• Mr. F on Dec 21, 2017 at 11:00 pm

He did mention, before the season ends, that if he want to be in potential of more podium finish in the future he need to change from the current team. There was rumor of he having some internal issue with the team. Now PETRONAS announced to discontinue the sponsorship. Clearly, recruiting new star rather than supporting the potential star in hand does look awry.

Nonetheless, as a fan, we hope the best for Malaysia Motorsport future. MotoGP rider from Malaysia !!

• Ji Kao on Dec 22, 2017 at 1:14 am

Hmm…was there no contract in place?

• azrai on Dec 22, 2017 at 8:27 am

If you are good, then other than Petronas will sponsor you Hafidz. maybe ERDA, Forest City, Bank of China, Wanda Group, Geely etc..

• Msia sport scene is going down the drain. Hafizh did very well last season n now sponsor pull the plug. Same like diving, get rid of the coach that helped train the 1st msian world champion… Sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • MY motorsport doesnt revolve around Hafizh. Its time he competes on merit and show his talents, while others behind him gets the sapot to follow.

As for diving, the coach is stuck in his old ways and refused to update himself. He may be great now, but 5years down the line, others will overtake us. All becoz we refused to use the latest tech, methods, materials, resources to advance. So how does that help our sport scene?

• Nash172 on Dec 22, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Emm then Petronas still sponsor F1 by the way? Its much expensive sponsorship I think.But what the main benefits from it?

• Stefan on Dec 22, 2017 at 8:20 pm

What a load of bull from petronas. How can a rider move to a higher level if you don’t support him from young up till motogp? Hafizh was doing fine given the limited resources he had and he does not deserve to be left high and dry at the last minute like this. Look at Repsol. They supported multiple teams in moto3, moto2 and motogp, most with spanish riders. Petronas support for malaysian riders pales in comparison to that.