2019 Ford Mustang Shelby GT500 teased – over 700 hp

Ford isn’t done with its announcements at the ongoing North American International Auto Show in Detroit, and is set to introduce its most powerful, street-legal production vehicle ever. If the Mustang Bullitt wasn’t exciting enough for you, maybe the 2019 Mustang Shelby GT500 will do the trick.

Like the Mach 1, there’s a teaser video to accompany the reveal too, where we see bits of the high-performance Mustang along with a homage to the first Shelby GT500. Spotted cues on the modern version include a new body kit with new bumpers, bonnet vents and a prominent rear wing.

Power will come from a supercharged V8 engine that has a projected output north of 700 hp, making the new Shelby GT500 twice as powerful as the 1967 original. This will also strengthen Ford’s stance in the horsepower wars, which is dominated by the Dodge Challenger and Chevrolet Camaro.

The most powerful Mustang made by the Blue Oval is the Shelby GT350R, with 526 hp and 582 Nm of torque from a naturally-aspirated 5.2 litre flat-plane crankshaft V8. No other details about the new Shelby GT500 have been officially revealed, so we’ll have to wait until Ford reveals the car in full.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 12yrsold on Jan 16, 2018 at 1:14 pm

This Ford Mustang Shelby GT500 may have 700hp but it will NOT be sold in M’sia. Maybe by asking – Why is Ford not doing well in M’sia can start the ball rolling !!? john or anyone, your input is highly appreciated !!!

• Theres a showroom in Bangsar long time alredi selling Shelby Stangs, Chevy Camaro, & Dodge Challengers.

• 12yrsold on Jan 16, 2018 at 5:25 pm

Yah, I know what U mean. That showroom – Well, it remain a “showroom” without customers most of the time.

• The muscles there is for show. What it sells most is Alfats & Helfaiyas.
          But if u have the money…