More Proton dealers to upgrade to 3S and 4S centres

Five more Proton dealers have signed a deal to upgrade to 3S and 4S centres respectively, as part of the national carmaker’s dealers network upgrade exercise. This is the second batch of dealers to take part in the signing ceremony, three weeks after an earlier batch did the same.

The agreements were signed between Ho Tuck Sum, head of sales and network planning at Proton, with Datuk Shamshudin Nor, director of Pantai Bharu Corporation, Liew Vee Lee, director of Harima Automobil, Judith Yam Siew Chu, managing director of Atiara Johan, Mohd Nazrin Bin Mohamad Fozi, director of Rahman Brothers Automotive and Leong Chue Chye, managing director of Hoi Keen Services.

“There must be a reason why Malaysians are fascinated with the tiger. The Proton logo itself has the image of a roaring tiger. Surely it represents boldness, courage and a spirit of survival. Just like us now at this point, taking it all in our stride, we will move ahead to ensure we continue to remain relevant and competitive in the automotive industry, by delivering to you top of the class products, quality and services,” said Li Chunrong, CEO of Proton.

“For me, the fact that we have more dealers joining in to upgrade their outlets speaks volume. This shows that there are businessmen out there who believe in the Proton brand and have utmost confidence that this partnership with Proton will elevate to greater heights and increase brand presence in the industry,” he elaborated.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Vkeong on Jan 25, 2018 at 12:39 pm

Kudos to GEELY mgmt & those competitive P1 deslers for turning challenges into Opportunities. Another Volvo success beckons!

• Boy Racer (Member) on Jan 25, 2018 at 1:11 pm

In order to stay relevant, Proton better update their existing models at least before they launch the Boyue. A minor facelift is no longer acceptable.

No one cares if the logo is a lion or a rat if you don’t even offer value to customers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • theanswer on Jan 25, 2018 at 3:02 pm

the whole line up will be replaced.

• Abdul Shukor on Jan 25, 2018 at 6:58 pm

Proton’s sales history

2006 – 115k
        2007 – 118k
        2008 – 141k
        2009 – 148k
        2010 – 157k
        2011 – 158k
        2012 – 141k
        2013 – 138k
        2014 – 115k
        2015 – 102k
        2016 – 72k
        2017 – 70k
        2018 – ??? (Proton say sure 500,000)

• Abdul Shukor on Jan 25, 2018 at 6:57 pm

P1 expect to climb to 500,000 unit, 87% market

https://paultan.org/2017/11/10/no-retrenchments-at-proton-workforce-set-to-increase/

fuyooh…..from 70,000 terus to 500,000

• kzm (Member) on Jan 26, 2018 at 10:33 am

lol..those 500k target they try to achieve is in 10 years. logically it is not just in bolehland (tiv 550-650k) but whole ASEAN region

• Mcm.mission impossible ahahah

• tokmoh. on Jan 25, 2018 at 1:17 pm

Syukur customers can have more convenience.

Bao Teng > all

• What Proton lacking is not 3,4,5S service centre. What they really need are to upgrade the manners and knowledge of the foreman and also supply chain of parts.

• lilytan on Jan 25, 2018 at 1:58 pm

Perhaps they wanna follow vw. Fancy cars, fancy SC but poor service n unreliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • theanswer on Jan 25, 2018 at 3:03 pm

i agree with u. but maybe one by one lah.

• Yes. one by one but you address the most pressing issue. P2 is selling so well despite having pathetic office building located at remote places.

• Pipu buy P2 becoz its cheap not becoz its gud.

• People rather buy a smaller and more expensive hatchback from p2 than bigger and cheaper sedan from proton. Look at your saga sales vs myvi.

• comparo on Jan 27, 2018 at 5:33 pm

Saga is not hatch and it is A segment now

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 25, 2018 at 1:48 pm

Between now to 2020 is a long time to see some impact of this partnership. Boyue will only start delivery in 2019 & the earliest impact can only be measured in 2020. The current crop of models needs a breath of fresh air with upgraded interiors & higher quality materials at par with Boyue. This is something cheaper & faster to do without involving too much makeover as in 100% ground up new models. At least for the next 2-3 years, sales could be sustained while waiting for more newer Geely models to be launched to compliment the product line-up.

• IhaveEnoughMoneytobuyonlyproton on Jan 25, 2018 at 1:55 pm

Beside the service center, don’t forget to boot the vendor who keep supplying low quality part. Proton’s car that still fresh, already got rattle sound inside the dashboard.

• theanswer on Jan 25, 2018 at 3:04 pm

more like malaysian ckd quality. civic fc..jazz also got the same complaint. my 2016 vios already got warped disc.

• Bernard on Jan 25, 2018 at 1:59 pm

Having a symbol of tiger does not make one a tiger….

• Char Kuey Teow on Jan 25, 2018 at 2:03 pm

I own a Proton Waja. The problem is not your service centres. It is the cost of the spare parts. It is so expensive that I have to buy parts online and ask my mechanic to fix it. The last thing we need is a fancy dealership service centres

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Char Kuey Teow, yes the main problem is their service centre. Second is the quality of Proton cars. Other brand also has their own problem, it is the SC to handle and rectify the problem and complaints professionally.

• Be fair on Jan 25, 2018 at 10:59 pm

If I may add.. Source of the problem is Proton product quality. The SC is part of the solution to solve the problem,which created by the manufacturing that accept defective parts from the vendors. Resolve the quality issue, u will then notice the SC will handle less warranty and spend less time solving problem on the cars.

• Be fair on Jan 25, 2018 at 11:03 pm

@Me..you got the other way round. .. 1st,Source of the problem is Proton product quality.

2nd,The SC is part of the solution to solve the problem,which created by the manufacturing that accept defective parts from the vendors.

To sum up,
        No.1: Resolve the quality issue at the source.
        No. 2: then you’ll notice the SC will handle less warranty and spend less time solving problem on the cars.

• theanswer on Jan 25, 2018 at 3:06 pm

sc spare parts is well known expensive..regardless what brand.

• Char Kuey Teow on Jan 25, 2018 at 3:40 pm

I buy new original parts for my BMW E36 325i from Bavarian auto in Malaysia cheaper than Proton original parts. Why made in Germany parts cheaper than made in Malaysia parts? I mean seriously. I enjoy servicing my Kelisa at Perodua service centre. Good service and super affordable. Proton please take note!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • My Mivi spares r even more exp than my Gen2. And servicing cost is even worse. I took off the Mivi servis in SC after 3 years whilst I maintained servis in P1 SC for 7 years. P2 alwiz cekik darah, even more exp than my frens City.

• Helmy on Jan 25, 2018 at 9:22 pm

Proton is cekik darah BMW of Asia.

• loler on Jan 27, 2018 at 5:37 pm

I vomit my lunch to read bimmer parts cheaper than p1. LOL

• I never have to pay exorbitantly for any spareparts, neither from SC nor from PPC nor from outside pomen. And saying that u buy parts online, i alredi know what u said is fake news becoz P1 only sells spareparts on internet via PPC and its not that much diff from getting it at SC.
      What u getting from online is REM parts which r cheapo taiwan/china knockoffs which compromises quality.

• Char Kuey Teow on Jan 27, 2018 at 1:38 pm

I buy only original proton, perodua and BMW parts. I buy original proton parts at their spare part centre in Glenmarie industrial park. All my cars are old and in great condition. Seriously proton sell your parts cheaper at your dealership and service centre. timing belt prices really cekik leher

• Proton just CBU the Boyue into Malaysia, don’t wait any longer wasting your time. Exempted excise duty for proton (anywhere proton still mainly hold by gov). More sales then more money earn, ai yoh yoh nj tak tau kire math macam senang ni geh?

• Ruslan Bahari on Jan 25, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Please. If you don’t have a brain, act like it. Which part of the equity is owned by the government? Even to say “mainly”?

• 7yrs old on Jan 25, 2018 at 9:24 pm

Government shouldn’t bail them out at all.
        P1 now so snobbish

• VoidDance on Jan 25, 2018 at 6:01 pm

How to CKD it if current Boyue is a left-hand drive car in China. Do you want to drive left-hand drive car here? It is not as simple as ABC to change from left-hand drive to right-hand drive arrangement for a car that exclusively designed for left-hand drive only environment.

• 1st kebodohan. How to CBU when China drives at Left side?
      2nd kebodohan. Gov alredi sold P1 to DRB back then, so how does it ‘mainly hold by gov’?
      3rd kebodohan. Do u think RHD conversion is so easy? Go ask PT https://paultan.org/2018/01/12/photo-of-proton-right-hand-drive-geely-boyue-is-fake/

• The chinese really know how to make bussiness. The upgrade package is just way to kill unproductive centre so it will left with minimum no of sales centre. They also ask dealers to cut they price and thus, less commision for them. By doing this, less money goes to non-quality dealer, and more volume and high efficiency to the one who is serius in the bussiness.