February 2018 week one fuel prices – petrol, diesel up

Public holiday or not, it’s a Wednesday and that means new fuel prices for the week ahead. After last week’s one sen drop, we will see a two sen increase in petrol and three sen increase in diesel prices from midnight.

From tomorrow, February 1, the price of RON 95 petrol will be RM2.31 per litre (from RM2.29 per litre last week). Similarly, the two sen jump in RON 97 pricing means that the fuel will be RM2.58 per litre for the coming week (RM2.56 per litre last week).

As for diesel, Euro 2M will be priced at RM2.34 (from RM2.31 per litre last week), while Euro 5 diesel will go for RM2.44 (previously, RM2.41 per litre). These prices will be in effect until February 7, when the next fuel price adjustment will be announced.

This week’s fuel price announcement is the 45th since the weekly system took effect at the end of March 2017. The current price of RON 95 petrol is one sen higher (from RM2.30 per litre) than at the start of the programme, while RON 97 is two sen less per litre (from RM2.60). Diesel, meanwhile, is 14 sen higher than it was then (from RM2.20 per litre).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Muzaffar bin Dollah Said on Jan 31, 2018 at 6:29 pm

Typical scenario. Everytime drop 1 sen, it goes up by 2 sen or 3 sen.

Pity Malaysians. We are already paying the highest car prices in the world, now, we have to pay high petrol prices.

Infact, goes up or down does not matter. We Malaysians have already prepaid Ron 95 prices at RM3.00 for the next 20 years with our super high car prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 172 Thumb down 10
    • facemask on Jan 31, 2018 at 6:51 pm

#Selamatkan lah Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • They’re building up enough reserved margin to be utilised for PRU14. Once the date is confirm, we can expect to see series of price drops which in turn building up a feel good factor among rakyat…what a wonderful leaders they are…kerajaan prihatin memahami kesusahan rakyat, caring goverment…well, you already knew the scrip by heart now…

Then, the vicious cycle will continue….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • polla on Feb 01, 2018 at 7:56 pm

next wed down 1 sen…wanna bet?

• Muhd Satibi bin Harun on Jan 31, 2018 at 6:34 pm

Shameful. Oil producing country but sell petrol so expensive to the Rakyat. Better for China to come and help us run the oil companies. We will get cheaper petrol through efficiency and lean personnel

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 10
    • tiadaid (Member) on Jan 31, 2018 at 7:40 pm

What is up with racists masquerading themselves as Malays & keep talking bullshit about China?

There are plenty of oil producing countries who aren’t selling subsidized petrol. Indonesia for one. And Russia, the country with the highest oil production IN THE WORLD. And the US. And Iraq. And China (so much for efficiency & lean personnel). And Canada. And Brazil. Of the TOP TEN oil producers in the world, 60% of them sells “expensive petrol”. And those countries produce way more than Malaysia.

Malaysians DON’T DESERVE CHEAP FUEL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 57
    • Rightwinger on Jan 31, 2018 at 10:40 pm

What you said about going lean don’t mean squat if we’re a nett oil importer. No level of efficiency can negate the effects of using more than we can extract.

• hlwzy on Feb 01, 2018 at 6:50 am

actually if ypu have any knowledge on malaysia’s gas you will know that ours is not suitable to be used for vehicle engine combustion and is mostly used for airplane fuel

• shawal on Jan 31, 2018 at 7:22 pm

Last week MYR/USD @ 3.95
    Crude @ US70
    Today @ 3.89 Crude @ UD68
    Mana fuel price mechanism formula?
    Still under OSA?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • kereta_lembu on Feb 01, 2018 at 2:55 pm

Fuel Price Mechanism Formula? I think you have a better chance of spotting Big Foot than having the formula revealed. How many years of asking already? If it was something that was transparent, it would have been shared. Then people will understand and accept if the formula was true. Otherwise, every week people will ask and complain about the same thing. For sure there’s something to hide….OR better still, there’s actually no formula hahaha.

• Jane Lee. on Jan 31, 2018 at 7:50 pm

I truly agree with you.

• YB Albert on Jan 31, 2018 at 8:22 pm

Donald trump’s favourite phrase ” REGIME CHANGE”.”BUILD THE WALL”.
    Which would you choose?

• Barry on Jan 31, 2018 at 10:30 pm

Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change that we seek.

• Sean Liew on Jan 31, 2018 at 8:28 pm

Why are you still harping on the fuel price matter? It doesn’t matter anymore because it has nothing to do with our daily lives. If you were to continue with this topic and our expensive car prices, you aren’t going anywhere! I advise you all to move on and start a brand new life. If you think the fuel price is too high then plan wisely. If you consider our car prices too high then don’t buy. Face your current reality and grow up! Don’t compare with other countries’ privileges when you are still a Malaysian!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 67
    • Halim on Feb 01, 2018 at 9:15 pm

Silly statement la bro. We as rakyat need to voice up if things are not right

• YB Albert on Jan 31, 2018 at 8:29 pm

Folks ,get ready for Rm3/litre very soon.
    It is no longer a myth.
    It will hit the rakyat hard , very very hard.
    Gomen officials given spanco maintained cars dont give a damn even if petrol shoots up to Rm5/litre.
    Your favourite roti chanai will hit Rm3 a piece in no time.
    Your tambang bas sekolah will skyrocket 30 percent easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • n.a.j.i.b

• The sign of The End of the goverment that will die soon. Why still do not understand the hardship of people with this sensitivity news makes people more angry. The people are increasingly aggravated and the goverment is more arrogant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Proton oh Proton on Jan 31, 2018 at 9:06 pm

As expected, go down 1 sen and up double.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • shawalabdullah on Jan 31, 2018 at 9:21 pm

Last week US/MYR 3.96
    Brent @ US70
    This week 3.89
    Brent @ US68
    Mana fuel price mechanism formula?
    OSA kah ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
    • Potato13 on Jan 31, 2018 at 10:35 pm

Not to mention that MYR has gone up against the USD.

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 01, 2018 at 10:18 am

You muppet. This week’s prices are based on the averages of LAST WEEK’s costs.

Since last week RM 3.96/$70 (not that we use Brent prices, but I’ll humour you), so why should it be lower?

• rosdi on Feb 02, 2018 at 4:30 pm

why diesel price more than petrol. anybody out there, pls explain this to me.