January 2018 week four fuel prices – all go down

Another Wednesday, and so it’s time again for another fuel price announcement, and prices for petrol and diesel have all gone down by one sen from that last week.

From tomorrow, January 25, the price of RON 95 petrol is RM2.29 per litre (from RM2.30 per litre last week). Similarly, the one sen drop in RON 97 pricing means that the fuel is now RM2.56 per litre for the coming week (RM2.57 per litre last week).

As for diesel, Euro 2M is priced at RM2.31 (from RM2.32 per litre last week), while Euro 5 diesel will go for RM2.41 (previously, RM2.42 per litre). These prices will come into effect from midnight until January 31, when the next fuel price adjustment will be announced.

This week’s fuel price announcement is the 44th since the weekly system took effect at the end of March 2017. The current price of RON 95 petrol is one sen lower (from RM2.30 per litre) than at the start of the programme, while RON 97 is four sen less per litre (from RM2.60). Diesel, meanwhile, is 11 sen higher than it was then (from RM2.20 per litre).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Vincent on Jan 24, 2018 at 5:59 pm

Hard to convince Malaysian that our G is basing on a formula to determine fuel price! History showed that.. it down 1 cents, then up 3 cents again. But reality is, MYR has gain strong to below 4 since 1 week ago! International oil price also dropped below 70… why only 1 cent down?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Jan 24, 2018 at 6:00 pm

I wouldn’t mind paying a ringgit more for euro 6 petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • 4bini on Jan 25, 2018 at 9:55 am

i save now 40 sen a week. RM1.60 a month. But my electric bill for small house of 5 people is RM500

• Richard Lam on Jan 24, 2018 at 6:10 pm

Ha ha ha ha. They must think Malaysians are so dumb. Everytime go up, it is about 4 sen or more

But go down always 1 sen.

Now my full tank i save only 30 sens. I can buy 2 biji Hacks Hitam or 2 bigi Sugus with the savings.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
  • Md Asmadi on Jan 24, 2018 at 6:11 pm

my Conti full tank 60L. so I saved 60sen, Syukur..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Proton oh Proton on Jan 24, 2018 at 6:16 pm

What… increase 3sen and reduce 1sen??????

• Richard Lam on Jan 24, 2018 at 6:20 pm

Our petrol and diesel so expensive and yet our Government gives us dirty Euro 2 Petrol and Euro 2 diesel

Euro 2 petrol and Euro 2 diesel was banned in Europe in 1994. 24 years later, we are still selling it. It was banned because it was confirmed to be carcinogenic and cancer causing and toxic.

Malaysian Government also still selling Euro 2 diesel. 90% of diesel vehicles still using Euro 2 Diesel. Lethal and toxic.

Now looks like even Vietnam got cleaner petrol and diesel following Thailand and Indonesia and Singapore.

Malaysia oh Malaysia….perlahan perlahan 24 years….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • John Doe on Jan 25, 2018 at 8:42 am

Are you using RON97 cause its EURO5 standard. Based on your comments your not…. Sad!

• Let me correct you. RON97 is not Euro 5. It is Euro 4M. The M does not equal to a proper Euro 4 standard. Only diesel has Euro 5 in this country

• Dokgo on Jan 25, 2018 at 3:41 pm

Some say that bhp ron 95 is a little bit higher than euro 2….is it true?

• Geng Cukur on Jan 24, 2018 at 6:25 pm

Syukur lah 1 cent per litre turun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Perhaps in the next decade we will be reading about the Ringgit per Kilowatt/hour rate when electric cars really go mainstream.

• lilytan on Jan 24, 2018 at 6:40 pm

Thank you

• Ben Yap on Jan 24, 2018 at 7:04 pm

either way, government still untung.

• Bapak Jepun on Jan 24, 2018 at 7:26 pm

This week turun 1 sen, next week naik balik 3 sen. Boom. Profit. Gomen win. Rakyat lose. Mic dropped.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 24, 2018 at 8:32 pm

How come so quiet here…bcoz prices go down…HAHAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • johnnas on Jan 25, 2018 at 3:07 pm

john doe u lame F,

whoever told u it’s Euro 5??? It’s Euro 4m and it’s really a 3.5, not fully Euro4 compliance.

a keyboard warrior and u dunno? alamak….ur a disgrace to the com nerds.