Malaysia-Singapore Second Link toll rates reduced by up to 82%, to reduce congestion at Causeway

Good news for those who travel often between Johor and Singapore. From tomorrow, the levy and toll rates at the Malaysia-Singapore Second Link will be reduced, benefitting both commercial and private vehicles. This is to ease the load on the Causeway.

The prime minister’s office said in a statement last week that the levy reduction would involve commercial vehicles entering and leaving Malaysia and the toll reduction was for all vehicles except motorcycles during off-peak hours, Bernama reported.

“The government has agreed to reduce the commercial vehicle levy to RM50 for vehicles entering and leaving Malaysia, down from the current rate of RM100 to RM200. In addition, the toll rate outside peak hours at Linkedua, between 10am and 3pm and 11pm and 5am, for all vehicles except motorcycles will be reduced by between 47% and 82% according to the class of vehicles,” it said.

The new rate after the significant reduction will be RM4 (from RM7.50) for private vehicles, RM3 (from RM5.70) for taxis and RM4.50 (from RM9.10) for buses. Commercial vehicles (classes two and three) will pay RM4.50 and RM6.10 (from RM17.10 and RM34.30), which are the same at the Causeway. This move is expected to reduce the number of commercial vehicles using the Causeway by 40%. The Second Link connects Tanjung Kupang in Johor with Tuas in Singapore.

The PMO’s statement said that another measure being taken by the government to reduce congestion was the implementation of the Johor Bahru-Singapore Rapid Transit System (RTS) project.

“The rail link between Bukit Chagar station in Johor Bahru and Woodlands North, Singapore is expected to commence in 2024 and it will have a capacity of up to 10,000 passengers per hour in each direction. It is also expected to cut the travel time to 30 minutes compared to over an hour now. The Malaysian and Singapore governments have already submitted the offer letter to the company that will build and operate the RTS,” it said.

In addition, KTM will also increase the frequency of the Shuttle Tebrau from 26 trips to 31 trips daily. The statement said that this would allow the train operator to ferry 1,500 more people across the Causeway than the current 7,783 per day. This is a short-term measure before the four km RTS route is completed.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• for me driving 2nd link everyday to work will be nightmare after this discount haha

• Chris on Feb 12, 2018 at 1:56 pm

Keep in mind, the objective is to reduce congestion at the causeway. By reducing toll during non peak hours at second link, do you think there will be an impact?
    The jam is mainly during peak hours when commuters are going to work and vice versa.
    Would you travel further during non peak hours just for cheaper toll?

One solution is to open all counters and add additional counters.
    Staff need to speed up work too!

• MY SG on Feb 12, 2018 at 3:14 pm

Both ppl in both side of the GOV, keep it SIMPLE. As mentioned, open all counters, add more counters, add more ppl, faster processing. The toll reduction is only for off peak hrs. This will result in 40% reduction. Dream on! Action is required for PEAK HRS jam reduction!

• IGP mom on Feb 12, 2018 at 2:10 pm

How does reducing toll help to reduce congestion? Well, then I don’t mind if PLUS also reduce the toll to reduce traffic jams at Msia highway.

• Reduce toll at 2nd Link transfers traffic to there from Causeway, thereby reducing jam at Causeway.

• IGP mom on Feb 13, 2018 at 12:36 pm

You do know there’s no interest from Singapore part to make the traffic smooth right? Reason being let it stuck to reduce the amount of Msia cheap labor from crossing the border, earning the money and simply spend in Msia, thus taking the wealth away while threatening the already critical livelihood of Singaporeans. It is jam for a reason. It just doesn’t make for Singapore to sell their cars that expensive, and the improve the traffic flow to allow more cheaper cars from Malaysia to flood their roads.

• Mohd Babjee on Feb 12, 2018 at 2:38 pm

This is a good move. But what about reducing car prices as well? Toll rates do not impact us as much as paying our monthly car loans.

Currently Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world. Can the Government honour their promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

Oh btw, I don’t think reducing toll will lessen the congestion. More pople will now be on the roads because of the cheaper toll.

This is Malaysia 101 UITM Economics. The Government is not in touch with the people nor are they on the ground with the people.

People in Malaysia travel less because tolls are so expensive. So, when you reduce tolls, more cars will be on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
      Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

• Trusting 101 UITM Economics is better then trusting ur comment. People in Malaysia travel less bcoz tolls are expensive? Yea..ur logic and data tak bulei pakai.

• are you serious? Malaysia has the most expensive car in the world? what studies are your opinions based on? Please reseerch your topic properly before you make comments like these. New Perodua Myvi costs RM54k. In Singapore, the equivalent will cost around RM210k! and we drive for 10 years! Malaysian car can be driven until the doors fall off. Need I say more?

• Geng Cukur on Feb 12, 2018 at 3:41 pm

Just do land reclamation JB- Singapore and build super toll with 100 lane
    The rest of space can be built for condo for our good friend from China

• Thiaga on Feb 12, 2018 at 4:20 pm

This is only a partial solution. Reducing tolls at off peak hours will encourage lorries to use 2nd link at off peak hours. But what about those who are commuting to get to work and to get back home? Nobody is going to go to the office at 11am just to get the lower toll.
    The solution should be
    1) to open up all the counters in singapore and malaysia during peak hours.
    2) to charge same toll as woodlands at 2nd link.
    3) to offer more discount on toll at off peak hours.

• Can anyone tell me when the whole country is switching to the rfid registration tags. I heard it was January. Thanks John