Gov’t says toll-free highways in Malaysia are possible

The Malaysian government is optimistic about the chances of toll-free highways materialising in the country, said deputy works minister Datuk Rosnah Abdul Rashid Shirlin. This, however, will take time, she said in a Bernama report.

Stretches of highway considered include the Pan Borneo Expressway in Sabah and Sarawak as well as the Central Spine Road (CSR) which traverses Pahang towards Kelantan.

A review of toll rates and structures is in the works, led by initiatives such as the postponement of toll rate increases which has been put in place several times, she said. The idea is to subsequently have several tolls abolished.

This was in response to a question by a member of parliament regarding the abolition of tolls, who said it is not impossible since four tolls, namely in Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau, Selangor; Bukit Kayu Hitam, Kedah; and the Eastern Dispersal Link, Johor, had already been abolished.

“The government has also made some improvements to the terms of the concession agreements to ensure the needs of the people are met, the interests of the government are preserved, and at the same time being fair to the concessionaires, as opposed to the terms of agreements under the previous leadership,” Rosnah added.

The government had also inserted an ‘exit clause’ where, if concessionaires had achieved their Internal Rate of Return, the concession agreement could be terminated earlier, said Rosnah. As of December 31, 2017 there were 31 tolled highways in the country, and the annual operating and maintenance cost for a highway (for 2016) was between RM6.82 million and RM1.5 billion, she stated.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ah bui on Mar 09, 2018 at 12:39 pm

lanjiao ah Pan Borneo is Expressway… speed limit less than 110km/h is not expressway, and it is not even highway, is connect those kampung road and still got traffic light shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
    • sohai on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Yes, rakyat need toll free, car import tax 30% & car excise duty 105% immediate reduce start this year. GST 6% can remain unchanged.

• 30% & 105% is too much, more than “buy 1 free 1” sohai betul policy since drM. Najib pls correct drM wrong done.

• Ali Harvey on Mar 09, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Public transports alredi very convenient across Sem Msia. Tolls need to remain.

• Jamal on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:37 pm

Malaysia does not need tolls if corruption is abolished. Per year, corruption alone is tens of billions of ringgit.

Clean up the country, you don’t need tolls. Malaysia is a very very rich country. It is far richer than Singapore. We have abundance of natural resources….tin, gold, silver, rubber, copper, bauxite, palm oil, oil and gas and hundreds of other natural resources.

We are infact super rich. But because of corruption, just a handful get all the riches of the country. The majority, 90% of the rakyat, suffer.

Abolish corruption, and you will see, there is ZERO need for tolls

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
      • Sadly true, however many still unknowingly.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 09, 2018 at 11:21 pm

Sadly, you’re wrong. Controlled-access expressways in Malaysia do need tolls to fund their construction & operation. Why…? Because compared to any other road type, controlled-access expressways have the most expensive specific cost per km, as is requires the highest level of highway engineering. They require slopes as gentle as possible, corner radii as big as possible, operating speeds as high as possible, conflict points as less as possible, & zero direct access to properties, accessible only via a limited number of grade-separated interchanges linked to federal, state or arterial roads. Which means, they require a massive amount of machinery, terrain treatment & structural construction.

To build & operate an expressway for a set concession period, the operator has to borrow a huge amount of money, not only for construction but also as a starting capital to operate the expressway. That’s the chief reason for them to collect toll, to enable them to pay the bank loan. If the operator fails to pay the loan & the bank brings the matter to the court, the court may execute an order to confiscate the expressway, just like how banks may confiscate our cars if the loan is unpaid for 3 months. In the end, we will definitely suffer not only because we don’t have the chance to get free toll, but also because all entry & exit to the expressway is sealed.

Other than the loan, the toll is required for maintenance, utility bills & staff salary, which all of them increases every year depending on the inflation rate.

• Bender666 on Mar 10, 2018 at 9:59 am

Yes, and all the children can have until tertiary education FREE if no/low corruption… But sadly, nobody believes it. All kampung-minded used to the corrupted-system.

• In MY, anything free will not be appreciated and will be abused. Kampung-minded saw this and knows they shud work for it. Kampung-minded smarter than city-minded.

• You… I like you

• U do realise PBH is still UNDER CONSTRUCTION, right? How much can u speed?

• lanjiao, Pan Borneo Highway is still under construction la. From which Earth do you come from?

• Yes toll-free highways are possible. Vote wisely!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • iammokh on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:19 pm

The future’s in the air
      I can feel it everywhere
      Blowing with the wind of change
      Take me to the magic of the moment
      On a glory night
      Where the children of tomorrow share their dreams
      In the wind of change.

• david on Mar 09, 2018 at 12:54 pm

Possible in your dream, or in your next life?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Sel & Png shud emulate Federal gov to build toll free hiways too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 24
    • stastasta on Mar 12, 2018 at 5:02 pm

can i choose to pay my GST and income tax to state gov instead of federal ?

• Gomorrah on Mar 12, 2018 at 9:48 pm

How are they supposed to do that with the way power is distributed between Federal and State governments? Or are you just going to continue to peddle fake news?

• Aminur on Mar 09, 2018 at 1:00 pm

Betul Tol Lebuhraya Utara Selatan (North-South Highway) memang sebenarnya tamat bulan Mei 2018.

• mak jermah on Mar 09, 2018 at 1:05 pm

PRU gula gula,all this while blast opposition and die die saying this is totally unfeasible,unrealistic but now you were saying opposition is true?no…..your time is over

• Another dangled carrot on Mar 09, 2018 at 1:20 pm

Before election: everything is possible. After election: we need to conduct studies before implementing anything, so wait a few years for the studies to be completed and no promises ok.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 7
  • Yeah its the suggestion of toll free highway is only possible when GE14 is here. When asked when is possible, they answer possible in 30-50 years time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Yeah I’m sure it is just like the promise to reduce 30% car prices back in 2013. Trying to believe Laaaaaa…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Some cars prices have already reduce, e.g Picanto. But anyhow, Manifesto is not a promise, remember the promise to abolish Sungai Nyior toll plaza in Penang?

• Boy Racer (Member) on Mar 09, 2018 at 2:53 pm

“This, however, will take time”

Hmm, where have I heard this before

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • lilytan on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:12 pm

Rather have toll roads than free roads full of potholes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Rather they continue toll the roads and shove all that money for more public transports instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • 12yrsold on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:16 pm

Rather they shut-up & do it without saying something they cannot keep.

• They should implement toll at the front door of your house since you like it so much.Then you will be having a great time paying toll everyday, few time a day to sponsor their private transports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • If i use it everyday, i dun mind paying and neither shud u. Nothing is free in this world bub. And in MY, anything free will not be appreciated and will be abused. So yes, keep the tolls and shove all that money into public transports.
          U can put a toll booth right in front of my gate, but how ur gonna charge me when i walk out to the nearest MRT station?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Gomorrah on Mar 12, 2018 at 9:52 pm

And if the nearest MRT station is more than 5km away/not accessible by a feeder bus then what are you going to do? Wake up at 4.30am to get to work at 8am ah? You talk like all of Malaysia revolves around KL.

• Ahmadjr on Mar 09, 2018 at 6:21 pm

Why not have both? Toll road and pothole roads.

• erwinkarim on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:27 pm

election year my friends!!

anything is possible before you cast your votes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Bender666 on Mar 10, 2018 at 9:54 am

Ah… I see you also a man of culture… Good.. Can see the clear picture..

• JERRY on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:46 pm

Possible but not workable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Chin Peng on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Eh, so suddenly.

• no need to abolished toll we all know it needs the finance to cover maintenance and other cost, the toll price should be structured to a lowest possible price for the people.

• If only our ringgit is stronger and we have more buying power, yes, we can bring down not only toll cost even our cost of living.

• azrai on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:59 pm

So what will happen to SUKE, EKVE, DASH..

• autodriver (Member) on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:47 pm

Please don’t implement toll free policy, this will create even more cars on the road which means we need more highways to be built. If toll free means government has to pay on it and end up GST rate increase, income and corporate tax rate increase, less subsidies to necessary people, cut other welfare etc to balance the income and expenditure.

I start leaving my house to office at 630am in KL and office is only 15km away, it took me 1 hour to arrive and yet my office hour start at 830am. If toll free encourage more vehicles mean I gonna start leaving house at 6am or earlier, I may then need 1 and half hour to arrive office.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • SOKONG INDUSTRI KERETA on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:40 pm

Agree…must have toll roads to control the jam…naik harga toll lagi bagus

• Sparcov on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:58 pm

No chance, don’t dream. One toll down, 10 new toll up. This is what happen in Kuala lumpur and selangor.

Barang naik, harga naik. Pernah turun?

We don’t mind to pay toll, if all motorcycle can be remove from expressway. We don’t want to see kapcai speeding at 140 on the fast lane in between car. Go to NKVE, you will find those. Go to Federal highway, they won’t use motorlane,

We don’t mind to pay anything extra provided the government give us 1st class service and facilities.

We don’t mind to vote for anyone provided the basic life, cost of living and income matching.

We don’t mind to pay if crime, foreign worker can be reduce

So we want to pay now, what say you? can you fulfill all the promises?

• autodriver (Member) on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:58 pm

In fact there are many people do not need to drive to work. Due to lousy public transportation connectivity and low public awareness on how convenient by using public transport people tend to own a car and drive to their desire destination. One factor of high bankruptcy rate is because of car hire purchase. There are many people drive to work and park their vehicle from 9am-6pm, hundred thousands of vehicles are actually under utilized its value and vehicle is depreciating asset if we don’t fully utilize it mean we make loss of it. Please no toll free policy.

• Laguna on Mar 09, 2018 at 5:34 pm

Manyak familiar punya promise. But today not just tolls did increased, in fact more and more highway with tolls being introduced. Lu bagi I tau siapa mau vote.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Mar 09, 2018 at 5:36 pm

Notice how these cheap politicians always use the word ” possible” trying to entice us? Puik..!

• Ben Yap on Mar 09, 2018 at 5:41 pm

toll-free highway is only possible after 200 years later.

• Insaf la dei!! on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:42 pm

Anothet fake news la…the best so far this year…trump pun kalah wei!

• johnissohai on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:14 pm

Dont talk so much la government…the more u talk..we know more tolls u will add

• Henry on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:33 pm

Of course it is possible. The Gomen just pay off the concessionaires with taxpayers’ money. Contracts must be honoured, no? Guess who are the taxpayers?

First they dig a hole for the people and now they pretend to help the people out of the hole. So good of them.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 09, 2018 at 11:23 pm

…and the taxpayers’ money include those from Sabah, Sarawak, Kelantan & Perlis who never taste the controlled-access expressways in their own states.

• pomen on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:35 pm

before election – toll free highway are possible

after election – we need toll to cover operation,maintenance cost

again rakyat kena game…lol

• Toll free highway already exist. Toll free meaning Plus get free toll booth from gov to collect toll.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 09, 2018 at 11:05 pm

Pan Borneo Highway is NOT a controlled-access expressway like PLUS. It is just a limited-access divided highway, a tier lower in the road type hierarchy.

• Sputjam on Mar 11, 2018 at 8:34 pm

Get rid of our politicians and we can be like germany. Autobahn free, education free, healthcare free.

• Lawson on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:27 am

To Sputjam: Germany do not have politicians, or should I say, no political leaders ?. The germans is one of the most hard working and productive people in the world. They have big names in automobile, transport, chemicals, engineering etc etc etc. Their GDP is one of the highest in EU. Pls do not compare to Monaco. They also pay high tax to enable the free autobahn, free education and health care which you mention. The moneis for these definiately are not given to them from Arabs!!. They badly lost the WWll and take them 20+ years of hard work and thrift to get back onto their feet. Same for the Japanese. My question is are you more like the germans or japanese or the typical Malaysian?.