Mazda CX-8 7-seat SUV to be introduced in Malaysia by third quarter of 2018, new Mazda 6 by Q2 2018

According to a report published by RHB Investment Bank, Bermaz Auto is planning to introduce the CX-8 as well as the refreshed Mazda 6. During the roll-out ceremony of the new CX-5 in Malaysia last year, we were told the seven-seat SUV would be sold in markets outside of Japan, and that Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh, CEO of Bermaz, has expressed interest in the vehicle.

As a recap, the CX-8 is the only seven-seat SUV sold by Mazda in Japan because the CX-9 is not offered there. It measures 4,900 mm long, which is 350 mm more than the CX-5 but 195 mm shorter than the CX-9. It is also narrower than the CX-9 by 129 mm, at 1,840 mm. In terms of wheelbase, it is identical to the CX-9 at 2,930 mm, which exceeds that found in the CX-5 (2,700 mm).

The seven-seat CX-9 is already being sold in Malaysia, so the introduction of the CX-8 is likely to give customers access to a more affordable seven-seat SUV from Mazda. Currently, the CX-9 is priced at RM281k (2WD) and RM297k (4WD), whereas the CX-5 goes for between RM135k and RM176k.

The CX-5 is locally-assembled in Malaysia, while the CX-9 arrives fully imported from Japan. If affordability is the purpose of the CX-8, it would make sense for the seven-seater to follow in the CX-5’s footsteps, and be locally assembled in Kulim as well. The report indicates that it will be available in both CBU and CKD forms.

In Japan, the CX-8 is only available with a 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D turbodiesel engine mated to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. The powerplant is identical to the one in the CX-5, although it has been uprated to produce 188 hp and 450 Nm of torque (from 173 hp and 420 Nm). It is not known if any petrol options will be offered for the Malaysian-spec model.

As for the new Mazda 6, the sedan first made its appearance at last year’s Los Angeles Auto Show with design as well as powertrain updates. The latter now includes a 2.5 litre naturally-aspirated SkyActiv-G engine, now with cylinder deactivation, as well as the SkyActiv-G 2.5T turbo unit from the CX-9, making 250 hp and 420 Nm. The RHB report says the car is due in sometime in the second quarter, but another analyst report by Kenanga Research gives a third quarter 2018 introduction.

GALLERY: Mazda CX-8 at the 2017 Tokyo Motor Show

GALLERY: 2018 Mazda 6, US market

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• pakcik on Mar 15, 2018 at 1:48 pm

CKD Mazda CX-8 at 180k. Im sold.

• Put in the 2 litre and price it around RM 140K to beat the CRV and Nissan X-trail and sorento.

7 full seater SUV will be in hot demand where present SUV only come with 5+2.

if your pricing good, i will say bye bye to my Toyota Estima.

• Ahmad on Mar 15, 2018 at 3:16 pm

The car that i have been waiting for. But surely if launch 2018, no skyactiv-x yet? Guys, help me choose a suitable car. Family with three kids, 7 seater SUV or other MPV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • What safety? on Mar 15, 2018 at 4:32 pm

Skyactive X is for petrol engine. So far there’s no mention of Skyactive X for diesel engine. Skyactive X will first come with Mazda 3 in 2019.

• chewke on Mar 15, 2018 at 5:54 pm

SUV more stylo for the dad. MPV more convenient for the pessengers. If you drive alone most of the time then get the a SUV. I had the same question before and I chose SUV. Cheers!

• gahpadu on Mar 15, 2018 at 7:25 pm

yourr kids surely love MPV more than SUV. just bring them all for test drive

• Boyue FTW!

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 16, 2018 at 4:28 am

With kids? Ur better of with the upcoming Nissan Serena with easy access for the kids. These 7 seater SUVs are a pain to get in and out unless u want one to go through the occasional floods.

• ganni on Mar 16, 2018 at 2:42 pm

when u say u are looking forward for the cx8..i assumed your budget might be around 200k-300k..

so, if you have other car for daily use, just go for Large MPV as such Vellfire or equivalent..it is more convenient..

but, if you don’t have any other car for daily use, and plan the purchase to suit both daily and family requirement, better by SUV..

• Volumez on Mar 15, 2018 at 3:23 pm

CX-8 below 150k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • 12yrsold on Mar 15, 2018 at 4:38 pm

Please CKD this CX-8 in M’sia. It will mean cheaper & help our local vendors not to mention help our local workers even if in a small way.
    If it sell well & the built quality is as good as it should be, export to our neighboring countries & do it FAST as time wait for NO man. Cheers…

• halloha560 on Mar 15, 2018 at 5:16 pm

(Like) Mazda CX 8 2018 and Mazda 6 2018
    (Dislike) Toyota Fortuner 2018 and Toyota Camry 2018

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Please dont give us the ugly red dash interior that you have for cx-9. I mean if you wanna do it, do it as an option. Do it the cx-5 way and I am sold.

• Low2215 on Mar 16, 2018 at 8:46 am

Expect to be around 200k. I don’t think it will be ckd anyway

• I believe the title of the article is wrong … the timing of the release for the Mazda CX-8 and the Mazda 6 should be reversed.

Source: The RHB Investment Bank report that is quoted in the first paragraph of this article.

• Bernard on Mar 16, 2018 at 12:35 pm

The Mazda RED is the best in the world. It truly brings out the design,lines and silhouette of the car.

• Xpander bila nak masuk

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 17, 2018 at 5:28 pm

Consider a used Santa Fe. 12 month old 5+2 seater at less than RM60k

• WIlly on Mar 18, 2018 at 1:49 am

Mazda will always disappoint their loyal fans by offering lower specs with high price, NO HUD DISPLAY, NO BOSE …. and so on

• Nur Ahmad on Mar 27, 2018 at 10:19 am

Hello I’m waiting for cx8

• lenovo on May 22, 2018 at 11:24 am

will they come in before the SST? if they do, order will boost up

• It’s August 2018, still no sight of the cx-8

• tricycle on Sep 26, 2018 at 9:04 pm

I am from the future. It is almost October, no sign of CX-8 yet in our market.