2017 Mazda CX-5 previewed in Malaysia – full spec sheets out, petrol and diesel variants, from RM134k

There has been a lot of buzz surrounding the new Mazda CX-5, with plenty of preliminary information surfacing lately. Now, the second-generation (KF) SUV has been officially previewed by Mazda Malaysia during a roll-out ceremony at the Inokom plant in Kulim, Kedah. We were also provided with full specifications of all five CX-5 variants, along with official prices.

First introduced at the Los Angeles Auto Show in November 2016, the CX-5 features a thoroughly revised design with cues from stablemates such as the CX-9. At the front, you’ll find slimmer headlights to go along with the new bonnet, giving the SUV a sharper look than before.

The busy lower apron on the previous model has also been done away with, replaced with one that doesn’t include faux inlets. Additionally, there’s now a honeycomb-style grille instead of a multi-slat one found on its predecessor.

Moving on, the A-pillars have been moved back approximately 35 mm, while the relative positions of the front axle and A-pillars have been optimised as well. At the rear, the SUV gains a new taillight arrangement inspired by the CX-9, with a line linking the two lighting units.

Inside, there’s a totally new dashboard layout that offers a better sense of symmetry, featuring shapely air-con vents and a dedicated area for the seven-inch touchscreen. The centre console is positioned higher up than before for better ergonomics, playing host to the gear lever and Mazda’s Commander Control.

Other bits should be pretty familiar to what you’ll find in Mazda’s recent models, like the three-spoke steering wheel (from the CX-9), air-con switchgear (Mazda 6) and 4.6-inch TFT LCD display in the instrument cluster.

As mentioned at the start, customers will be able to choose from five CX-5 variants – 2.0G 2WD GL, 2.0G 2WD GLS, 2.5G 2WD GLS, 2.2D 2WD GLS and 2.2D AWD GLS. Three four-cylinder engines will be fitted to the SUV, including two revised SkyActiv-G powerplants that feature a higher compression ratio of 14:1 (previously 13:1).

The 2.0 litre unit now makes 162 hp and 210 Nm (previously 155 hp and 200 Nm), while the 2.5 litre outputs 192 hp and 257 Nm (previously 185 hp and 250 Nm). The last engine is a sole 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D turbodiesel (173 hp/420 Nm).

The only transmission pairing here is a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission, but you’ll get a choice of front-wheel or all-wheel drive as denoted in the variant names. All models also come with Mazda’s SkyActiv-Vehicle Dynamics suite that includes the new G-Vectoring Control system.

In terms of specifications, we start with the 2.0G 2WD GL, which gets LED projector headlights (with bulb-type DRLs), bulb-type taillights and front fog lamps, 17-inch wheels (with 225/65 tyres), manual front seat, dual-zone climate control (with rear air-con vents) and keyless start.

There are also rear USB charging ports, fabric upholstery, gunmetal trim, Commander Control and a MZD Connect infotainment system with six speakers and a seven-inch touchscreen. Safety kit on the base variant includes six airbags (front, side and curtain), ABS with EBD, brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) and traction control.

Moving up to the 2.0G 2WD GLS, you’ll gain LED DRLs, front fog lamps and taillights, along with leather upholstery, 10-way powered driver’s seat, Adaptive Front-Lighting System (AFS), metal and wood trim, walk away lock and keyless entry.

The higher-spec 2.0 litre also gains the i-Activsense suite with Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA), forward Smart City Brake Support (SCBS) and four front parking sensors in addition to the standard four in the rear. The 2.5 litre variant meanwhile, adds on larger 19-inch wheels (with 225/55 tyres).

Lastly, both diesel variants pile on the safety systems with the introduction of Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS), Lane Keep Assist System (LKA), forward and reverse SCBS, Driver Attention Alert (DAA) and Adaptive LED Headlights (ALH). They also get a full colour 4.6-inch display in the instrument cluster instead of the monochrome one fitted to petrol variants.

Price wise, the base model kicks things off at RM134,605.50 on-the-road without insurance, while the 2.0G 2WD GLS is marked at RM148,605.50. The 2.5G 2WD GLS is said to go for RM160,996.70, and the front-wheel drive diesel variant is priced at RM164,579.10. Lastly, the range-topping 2.2D AWD GLS has a price tag of RM175,179.10.

Keep in mind these prices are for cars with a metallic paint finish, which is RM400 more than those with solid paint, according to a dealer price list. The premium colours – Soul Red Crystal (an evolution of Soul Red Metallic), Machine Grey as well as Snowflake Pearl White Pearl Mica – will cost an extra RM2,000.

The obvious competition for the CX-5 is the Honda CR-V, which is available in four petrol-powered variants, priced between RM142,400 and RM167,700.

Mazda CX-5 2.2D AWD GLS

Mazda CX-5 2.5 2WD GLS

Mazda CX-5 2.0 2WD GLS

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Thomas on Sep 28, 2017 at 11:03 am

no powered tailgate on top variant….MRCC (adaptive cruise control) is missing too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Kusuma on Sep 28, 2017 at 8:23 pm

Boyue all variant got evrything.

• Sohai on Sep 28, 2017 at 9:35 pm

Mazda at luxury price is a dying brand, even rm200k 3-Star BMW or Isuzu Truck-Lorry beat Mazda sales… all bcoz of luxury price & discount RM0 given. The Soul Red crystal having 3 layers painting at Japan but only having 2 layers painting workshop at Inokom kulim. The capability of Soul Red painting and the facilities for mass production mode still a question, now launching with NO CAR available !!! You also will find out Mazda 3 & CX-5 is *poor in braking where taking longer distance & time to stop the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
      • I wonder why, when I test drove the 2.5 realized the car takes longer to brake. Was wondering maybe it was not bled properly. But certainly felt the lack of braking power

• Whats taking them so long to launch this uninspiring thing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 28, 2017 at 11:14 am

Quite a competitive pricing from Mazda I must say. The 2.5G is around 160k and this hits me hard because the Camry 2.0G (2.0G with 4 speed transmission! Fuxk) I bought last time was priced by umw also arnd 160k. I felt like an idiot, but now of couse i have replaced it with a 318i…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
    • LordLancer on Oct 02, 2017 at 12:27 pm

frankly idk if getting a 318i is smart move.

• so main purpose is show off u r getting richer?

• Just to buy into the brand. I cave a 2.0G that drives like a dream, certainly far comfy than a 318i. Wrong move buddy

• Really need to try out the rear seats in this. Was in the market(albeit a year ago) for a SUV and it was the peevious gen CX-5 rather tight and upright rear seat that was the deal breaker, addition of a rear ventilation is a huge plus in this gen. The previous gen CX-5 Interior was also more moody in comparison to the Previous gen CRV more airy cabin.

Certainly a more evolutionary design in the Mazda compared to the CRV’s slightly revolutionary(in comperitive to the last). Design wise, Mazda have always been ahead of the pack, the spaceship-like CRV appeals to some(from the front, me included), but it cant match the modern appeal of the more sculptured SUV from Hiroshima. But both Japanese C-seg SUV have taken very different approach in their SUV, Mazda aims at style and trendyness while Honda is trying to captured the practicality side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Nizam on Sep 28, 2017 at 11:34 am

(Like) Mazda CX-5.
    (Dislike) Kia Sorento

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 38
    • I will go for CX5 any times, it is same category as Volvo and VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
      • victor on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:09 am

I would also go for the Cx5 any times too

It is also the same category as BMW X3, Audi Q5 and Mercedes GLC too in that case!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • GOOD BUY YALL on Sep 28, 2017 at 11:45 am

The front ie the mouth is open too wide ya.. is very cooky…the designers are into lots of anime me tnk..overal its better than the famous boat ie CRV ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • BEST BUY on Sep 28, 2017 at 9:55 pm

Wow 2017 CX5 118k

• CX5 and crv are both the same class and category

Both fall into Non Premium SUV category.

Either you like the handling which is better in the CX5 or the more spacious interior of the CRV in your selection of these two typical Japanese SUV brand

• Newcomer on Sep 28, 2017 at 12:07 pm

This section is for CX5, if you are going to suggest CRV that ugly car or Kimbap car, get out from here, this is not the place for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
  • Ben Yap on Sep 28, 2017 at 12:21 pm

pretty high powered for a NA engine with only 2.0 engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • ismail on Sep 28, 2017 at 12:30 pm

Tahniah Berjaya Johor

• Johnson Amigo on Sep 28, 2017 at 4:19 pm

is that rust stain at tyre compartment of the red car?? hmm…and the dented dot on the edge of the door normal?

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Sep 28, 2017 at 5:37 pm

Nobody is buying Mazda anymore on ethical grounds. The car maybe good but on ethical grounds, Malaysians know how Bermaz increased prices 3 times last year despite knowing Malaysians were suffering with high cost of living and GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
      • The fact is Maslan cakap betul, GST kurangkan kos hidup, makin ramai beli Honda.

• Henry on Sep 28, 2017 at 9:51 pm

Just because you can’t buy you assume no one is buying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Suffering from high cost of living, GST and yet you want to complain about Mazda not cheap enough? Shall I complain why Merc A45 are not selling cheaper because I only 3k a month?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • it's not about you on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:56 pm

They can sell at whatever price they want. Just because they are selling at a price we can’t afford, doesn’t mean they are not ethical. I can’t afford too, and i like this cx5’s design very much, but i’m not complaining cause there are always cheaper alternatives. But for those that like this and can afford, it is their right to pay for however much mazda charges them. If they are to be “ethical” and sell at a price every malaysians can afford, there will still be those in poverty that can’t afford. So how to be “ethical”? Give FOC lo…

• finally, my wish car is here :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • musangKing-originalz on Sep 28, 2017 at 1:02 pm

this is going to impact crv sales greatly! crv is fugly in comparison…who need extra bit of cargo space?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
  • Adaptive Cruise Control is missing? What a pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • mystvearn on Sep 28, 2017 at 1:57 pm

To sum up,

If you have Euro 5 diesel in your area, get the diesel. If not get the 2.0 GLS model. Base 2.0 and 2.5 l does not make that much sense.

• Kind of surprised the turbodiesel 2wd is almost the same price as petrol 2.5 2wd. Assuming that the Malay plant will supply thailand? And guessing we don’t get the lovely cream leather trim in these parts.. Which IMO is a real shame (if so) , and will make me reconsider the CRV.

• applegreen on Sep 28, 2017 at 2:27 pm

Sad to see only 6-standard speakers not 10-Bose speakers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • cx3 still ok if 6 standard speakers for this cx5 to get the standard is rather money ripoff

• ZeeZally on Sep 28, 2017 at 9:07 pm

TRUE! im expecting Bose as well! And sunroof also not available :( why larr why larrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • willy on Sep 29, 2017 at 8:19 am

it would seem the CEO Bernaz did not try harder according to his feedback “We(Mazda/Bermas) is selling the car as a niche/premium car.”
      doesn’t the BOSE speakers and Adaptive cruise control is missing could be added to premium category?…

if the price is a concern to Bernaz, just list it out as optional !!!

• The 2.0G 2WD GL base model is very competitive. It has all the 1st world country safety specs and plus it is fabric seats. I prefer fabric seats because I do not want to kill a cow so that I can sit on them everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • willy on Sep 29, 2017 at 9:00 am

its true that the base model cx5 vs crv base model is roughly almost same. pros and cons of each. but cx5 is slighly cheaper abit

• rae3100 on Sep 28, 2017 at 2:56 pm

Very disappointing to see there’s no Radar Cruise Control (on the flagship of the CX-3) or Bose Sound System (as on the flagship of previous gen CX-5).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Jack Maverick on Sep 28, 2017 at 4:38 pm

CX-3 in Bolehland takde radar cruise control bro..

• wydle on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:54 pm

In Malaysia ,

CX3 is categorised as non premium SUV and they would not put any crusie control for the price asking.

Moreover, the number of CX3 seen on the road is very few too !!

• tokmoh. on Sep 28, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Geely > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 26
    • Who cares! on Sep 28, 2017 at 5:30 pm

Tokmoh><no rv=crap car=scrap metal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 36
      • oliver on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:30 am

You mean X3 , GLC and Q5 are crap cars and no RV too

X3, Q5 and GlC >>> European scrap metals

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Suprised 560 units Volvo sold and plant is going to move out from Malaysia. This brand really cant work here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 38
      • Tahar on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:26 am

Surprise !!

Volvo is assembling its car in malaysia for export to all Asean countries.

Whether you buy a Volvo or not in Malaysia is not important as Volvo got other bigger customers in some Asean countries including Taiwan in need of their cars.

Geely or Volvo Corporation uses Malaysia as a manufacturing hub to export its cars thus creating jobs and foreign exchange. This was done way back in the 60’s before you were born or when you were still feeding with milk.

Meanwhile , Japanese and German CKD assemblies are just sucking away malaysian Money by producing cars for consumption in Malaysia only except Tan Chong ( vietnam plant).

By world standard , perhaps all the German and japanese car manufacturers should also close shop in Malaysia too . The sales volume generated by these brands are also far too low to sustain profitability and justify their CKD investment in Malaysia too .

The CKD German and Japanese brands also does not work out here too and should all move to thailand or else where too.!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
      • If volvo wants to close shop in Malaysia, I think Audi and lexus will close shops even FASTER in Malaysia!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Sep 28, 2017 at 4:03 pm

The rear looks like a Photoshop mashup of the Mazda 2 and previous gen CX-5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • carlover on Sep 28, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Any idea when will Mazda launch the Malaysian-spec CX-9? Currently they are still only selling the Australian-spec version…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
  • norah on Sep 28, 2017 at 4:47 pm

typical hideous japanese car….take kia with better design language. Uncles car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 21
    • Kan. Bukan takat language je. Design & specs pun lawa kot!

• uncle that like uncles car bah on May 31, 2018 at 2:40 pm

Haha korean car china spare part ady rm3k if factory made ady rm5k

why buy car that cost u more on repair than its monthly installment?

• 12yrsold on Sep 28, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Someone interviewed the CEO in BFM radio recently. The question was – Why is Mazda cars more expensive(slightly) compared to its competitors??

His answer was – We(Mazda/Bermas) is selling the car as a niche/premium car. He even ask M’sian to Go check it out or test drive & “feel” the difference B4 commenting.

After feeling the texture on the cars(Mazda 2-6 models), I will say the feeling of the texture are indeed softer/better.

Drive the car, any car. U can tell that its slightly more tight/better screwed & it definitely handle better then its competitors(not mentioning name here).

I like the Mazda-3 after testing & I can tell it is better than my Japanese equivalent. Maybe I will trade in my car 3 years later when their new SkyActive-X is launched. Happy testing guys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 29
    • Junkard on Sep 28, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Handle like sampan, typical jepunis quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • william on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:35 pm

Totally agreed !!

Most Japanese cars handle and ride like “A SAMPAN”!!

After riding in any one of these Japanese cars, you always feel like throwing out due to effect of unsettle erratic undulation ride (feel like the head is spinning).

• Auto cruise control (Mazda Radar Cruise Control) not included ? Cannot understand its omission from the top spec version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Zoom Zoom on Sep 28, 2017 at 5:39 pm

Machine Grey really looking good!! FTW
    …but all mazda cars still kruk kruk sound. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Terrible service provided. My CX5 initial fuel consumption 7.6liter/100km. After service 9.6liter/km. How could that happen without make changes to the engine???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • Victor on Sep 28, 2017 at 9:01 pm

Very good article, but there is some error about 2.0 GL is with led headlight and bulb type DRL (not LED DRL) from what i read from the spec.

Thank you.

• They always have these cheap looking floormats

• Add A Comment on Sep 29, 2017 at 8:43 am

Honestly guys….nice meh?

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
  • jim labu on Sep 29, 2017 at 9:13 am

All I wanna know is this: Does the 2.5l petrol version comes with the Cylinder On Demand technology?

• Get the 7 seater Mazda SUV into malaysia.

There are too many good 5 seater SUV in the market like CRV/X-trail/Kia sportage/Tucsan/sorento.

Those opt for brand will go for CRV and Xtrail.

On other, who opt for good powerful engine can go for Tucsan 2.0 diesel or 1.6 petrol turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • IzzyAff on Dec 03, 2017 at 1:19 pm

Mazda is good but Sorento is better. I mean Kia always come up with good cars

• HONDA Lover on Jan 07, 2018 at 7:07 pm

Tak kesah lah if compare to any suv and obviously the others is better… i prefered cx5… Continental taste, style, lux,
    sports… xtrail?? Like abah2/atok2… crv? Futuristic/cool/average… outlander?? Like crv… forester??? Xper lah… hihihihi… no need to kutuk2 laa… if u afford go ahead… if not, just keep calm n drive what u got…