February 2018 Malaysia vehicle sales down 9% from Jan, 4% down year-on-year; YTD down 2.3% from 2017

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released sales figures for the month of February 2018, and it shows that the industry is still suffering from a less-than-stellar start to the year, with a sales slump continuing into its third straight month.

Just 40,578 vehicles were registered last month, compared to the 44,575 units that found homes in January, a drop of 9% or 3,997 units. February has traditionally been a weak month for vehicle sales in general, due to Chinese New Year offers and promotions usually coming to an end around this time of the year. A shorter working month as a result of the CNY holidays were also blamed for the sluggish sales.

Compared to the same month the year before, last month’s sales were down 4% or 1,877 units, although February 2017 was a strong month with significantly more vehicles sold compared to 2016. It comes as no surprise, then, that the year-to-date figure is down 1,969 units or 2.3% compared to the same period in 2017, but of course, it’s still way too early in the year to make predictions about the coming months.

The association expects March to deliver more sales, due to the longer working month as well as the car companies’ usual rush to deliver more vehicles to close off the financial year ending March 31.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ben Yap on Mar 19, 2018 at 4:43 pm

times are bad as people are losing jobs, companies are not making a lot of profit and some even closing down, prices of goods and services increase, OPR increased by 25 points… who still dare to splurge and live as if there is no tomorrow? purchasing a car will be the lowest priority as long as the current car can still be used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 19, 2018 at 5:28 pm

Times are bad but out Proton said by 2020, 100% sure they going to to sell 200,000 cars.

Wow, now 70,000 cars but can jump to 200,000 despite times being bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • Pipu look forwards, u look backwards. Deswai they success and ur not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 73
        • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 19, 2018 at 5:51 pm

Proton looks backward then cause Proton loses money and no success

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
          • U only look backwards deswai u only see others coming at u. P1 alredi moving forward with Geely, meanwhile ur toyota is moving backwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 74
          • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 19, 2018 at 7:52 pm

tak faham pasal toyota ni

• Heng Lee on Mar 19, 2018 at 8:26 pm

Car sales & petrol orso go down. But teh tarik go up, never go down..

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 193
      • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 19, 2018 at 5:55 pm

please give evidence that foreign reserves are 1 million. This is ultimate news

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
        • YB Albert on Mar 19, 2018 at 7:41 pm

Rajoo,dont waste yr time rebutting this johnnie fella….he has a degree in reverse psychology…he talks garbage most of the time.Not worth our time commenting on garbage.
          Paultan forum is positive,not garbage.The guy is probably jobless or lepak a lot from work,writing nonsense instead of helping his employer .Just ignore him.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 2
          • If got so much free time reply own dupe, why not use to find a better paying job instead of whining?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
          • Hashim Yeop on Mar 19, 2018 at 8:35 pm

Malaysia Foreign Reserves 1 trillion?

I googled this and cannot find it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
        • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 19, 2018 at 7:51 pm

we are still waiting for the evidence that Malaysia has 1 trillion investments

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
        • Slight error. Foreign reserves at USD$100B and whole GDP at 998B.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 70
          • Mr Meme on Mar 19, 2018 at 11:17 pm

ahh the math makes sens now. 1 trillion – 998billion = 2billion.. seems like a familiar figure to me.. this indeed jingle my dingle.

• Pak cik on Mar 20, 2018 at 8:59 am

Hahahah, reserved and investment you also can’t distinguish lol kasian

• tokmoh. on Mar 19, 2018 at 6:05 pm

Jualan kereta naik, marah jam.

Jualan kereta turun, marah ekonomi terjejas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
        • Rightwinger on Mar 19, 2018 at 6:57 pm

Heads, I win
          Tail, you lose

• If this is how his paymaster wants to play, so if they then own the table, every MY pipu loses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Najis bin MRT on Mar 19, 2018 at 6:42 pm

MRT memang bagus …negara makmur rakyat derita.. hoorah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • YB Albert on Mar 19, 2018 at 7:35 pm

2018 may be a recession year.
      Why? A new gomen MAY come in.Many in the public service may prefer to slow the spending,cos if the new regime start the VSS,MSS or guillotine…they may have to borrow from along.If 10 percent is retrenched,the figure is 130,000 people jobless!!!
      Only those who r already rich and filthy rich,do not give a damn,they spend anyway.
      If new car sales dip 25% in March-May,u can have hefty discounts come Raya.
      Once the buying stops(FOR 3 MONTHS),prices will have to,have to,have to DROP!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 2
  • Everybody holding their purchase this year to get Boyue. All waiting with bated breath.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 50
    • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 19, 2018 at 5:53 pm

Do dream on bro. People are buying 2018 Myvi instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • Mivi alredi on sale. So why sales drop, hmm? Logical explanation is pipu holding purchase for Boyue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 61
        • leoRNado on Mar 20, 2018 at 10:21 am

U need to see Myvi sales in Feb. It overtook the whole proton sales. Last time u said Proton sales was stable, u can see their huge drop in Feb. I know somehow u gonna spin and find another points which is pointless.

• Sam 'john' Loo on Mar 19, 2018 at 7:42 pm

… even the important temperature gauge already ditched out in 2018 Myvi, don’t know what thing that will be missing after this (maybe fuel level, only low fuel warning light appear)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • Remove speedometer cuz Mivi drivers dun care how fast when they speeding. Oso remove signal stalk and lights, no use by them. And oso brake lights cuz alwiz spoil but dun replace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
        • tokmoh. on Mar 20, 2018 at 10:00 am

Tripmeter reduced from 2 to 1.

Meanwhile Proton generously give 3 tripmeters in Iriz, and, also got temperature gauge, syukur.

• leoRNado on Mar 20, 2018 at 10:29 am

Oh Boyoue.. come in pls.. I can no longer wait.. Already 1.5 years passed but not a single Boyoue coming.. The news like nobody business and yet…

• Digidiigi on Mar 19, 2018 at 6:10 pm

finally our economy start to cool down a bit

• Mr Kan Kaw Tim on Mar 19, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Ppl are saving up for their Merc…..Wait till following months….

• Merc are bought by company to take advantage of tax relief… Ordinary ppl don’t save to by Merc.. if you are thinking of buying Merc with saving, financially Merc is not for you…

• Only legal website to see amoi. on Mar 19, 2018 at 7:14 pm

Tht lady in red is hot…least fat boy is not in this one…i like this forum now..

• The modern 2nd hand cars are quite reliable these days.. (except those Conti).. a good 2nd hand 5yr old City, Vios and Myvi still run well n value for money and don’t have to buy new..

• tokmoh. on Mar 19, 2018 at 8:51 pm

You can find 2014 Elantra MD 1.8L going for rm45k+.

I like this car, very great value, and a great car itself.

• Barang Naik (BN) sana sini. Cukai GST, Cukai Eksais Cukai Impot, Cukai Pendapatan….Cukai Cukai Cukai. Sekarang semua sudah POKAI…

• Proton pornton on Mar 20, 2018 at 7:49 am

But number mercedes sale is increased. Mana ada pokai..

• Lem C on Mar 25, 2018 at 4:10 pm

It is quite sure that sooner Car Sales would price up this 2018. I bought this CENTURY battery for my Subaru XT and very satisfied and would like to share to my fellow Malaysian motorist.