It was speculated that Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) would produce locally-assembled (CKD) AMG models at some point, and it looks like that time is finally upon us. Based on what we discovered, the Mercedes-AMG C 43 4Matic Sedan and GLC 43 4Matic SUV will be the first CKD AMG models that will be offered. These new CKD models were first spotted on the MBM Financial Calculator page, but they’ve since been deleted.
The difference in pricing between fully-imported (CBU) and CKD models will be the major talking point here, and they are pretty substantial. We’ll start with the C 43 4Matic Sedan, which was priced at RM499,888 on-the-road without insurance when it was launched in May last year. The CKD pricing is a whopping RM100,000 less at RM399,888, or about 20% if you prefer to see it in percentages.
It’s much the same story with the GLC 43 4Matic as well, which goes for RM458,888 in CKD guise compared to RM538,888 as a CBU model – RM80,000, or 14.8%, less. For now, detailed specifications of both CKD models haven’t been provided, but we do expect them to mirror the CBU cars.
Under the bonnet, both cars feature the same M276 DELA 30 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 with 362 hp (367 PS) and 520 Nm of torque – drive goes to all four wheels via a nine-speed 9G-Tronic automatic transmission and the automaker’s 4Matic all-wheel drive system. Performance-wise, the C 43 Sedan completes the 0-100 km/h sprint in 4.7 seconds, while the GLC 43 does the same in 4.9 seconds – both cars top out at an electronically-limited top speed of 250 km/h.
So, with these two, more affordable AMG models on the way, which one will you prefer? A high-performance sedan or SUV?
GALLERY: Mercedes-AMG C 43 4Matic Sedan (CBU)
GALLERY: Mercedes-AMG GLC 43 4Matic (CBU)
It’s not even REAL AMG… Real AMG is one-man-one-engine philosophy.
MAMG
RM499,888 turun 20%, RM100,000. Seperti dijanjikan, harga kereta akan diturunkan secara berperingkat hingga 2017. Syukurrr
Honda Civic under EEV price unchange still from 113k compared last gen, mana ada murah under EEV …?
https://paultan.org/2017/09/07/honda-city-hybrid-over-rm100k-without-tax-breaks/
Mercedes, Geely > all
Nice to see V6 and expect exhaust to fart as I’m farting because of perut kosong makan maggi
This is a very good car which is now so much VALUE FOR MONEY!!!
Analoque clock no more? Look like something is missing over there..
Mesidis, P1, Geely, VolvoCar, VolvoTruck, Lotus > all
At this price, it will wipe out BMW M series completely. Even VW Golf R also can tutup kedai.
I think Mercedes has just wiped out all their competitors in Malaysia
As for Audi….they already tutup kedai. Nobody talks about Audi anymore and their single digit sales speak volumes.
Nice one MBM. Keep up the good work as I do not see BMW Malaysia going the same route with their M cars and don’t even mention Audi with their S and RS models.
BMW have M perf parts.
I’d take the GLC 43 please. More practical and more interior space. Wonder how BMW Malaysia will react, if at all. The 3 Series is on its last legs and will be replaced soon. So doubt they will start CKDing the 340i. The new X3 is not even in Malaysia, not even a CBU. So a CKD X3 is still far away. Perhaps the 540i?
Wow, attractive price tag on C43. Would consider anytime over CLA45 wohooo
Actually no need price reduction of rm100k. Just run a promotion buy 1 free 2 (give 2 free myvis)..
No one wants free myvis. Better gv 2 iriz..
Ha ha ha. I like the last paragraph that say – more affordable AMG models on the way, which one will U prefer?
How nice “if” ALL readers here can afford one !! It will mean M’sian are RICH bcos RM400k is AFFORDABLE. Cheers…
Yet last year, luxury marques were doing record breaking sales. Something must be wrong with MY pipu for having so much money to throw at depreciating assets. Oh wait, property sales were oso record breaking as well…
Properties have record breaking “overhang” la. Did U read the correct news or not ?!
Meanwhile Sime Darby requires pipu to queue in snaking waiting lines just to book a house at Serenia City. Did U read the correct news or not ?!
12yrs is right. Govt frozen indefinitely luxury property developments to control oversupply glut. MY Recession coming…
Luxury property ≠ properties pipu buying by the dozens.
Looks like a fantastic bargain!! However, am curious to know, are these prices for the facelifted model or pre-facelift models?
like : sporty GLC 43. dislike: sedate XC60.
keep in mind xc60 is slighly more powerful , slightly cheaper, and can travel 40km on electricity.
Almost 400K still the man made leather.
Sham on mercedes.