VEP system scheduled to begin at the end of April

The implementation of the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) system, which will apply to all foreign registered vehicles entering Malaysia via the Johor Causeway and Second Link expressway, is slated to start at the end of April, Bernama reports.

According to deputy transport minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi, the ‘Touch and Go e-Wallet’ that will be used for the cashless payment of the road charge is currently being tested. He said that the implementation of the VEP system has involved modifications, infrastructure installation and associated development, and these were being fine-tuned.

“Apart from that, the coordination procedures among agencies at the border checkpoints needed to be finalised before the implementation of VEP,” he said at the Dewan Rakyat. He added that the VEP system will also be implemented at the Malaysia-Thailand border later this year.

AppleMark

The VEP tag that will be issued to foreign vehicles will be fitted with radio-frequency identification (RFID) technology and will integrate a cashless payment system developed by Touch ‘n Go.

At the Johor entry point, the VEP was supposed to have begun operating last June, with collection of the VEP charge starting from mid-July, but it was postponed. With the implementation, every foreign-registered vehicle will need to apply for the VEP when entering the country from the two links to Singapore. A processing fee will be levied, and the permit will be valid for five years.

A separate per-entry road charge of RM20, implemented since November 1 last year, is currently being levied on vehicles entering Malaysia from Singapore.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Digidigi on Apr 06, 2018 at 10:52 am

the system is so slow, last month went Singapore, the barrier mulfunction, suddenly come down and hit my car, kampung management vote by kampung people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Why u say SG pipu kampung? Just cuz their system bang ur car then claim from them lor. SG dollar sap sap sui.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • NajibStyle on Apr 06, 2018 at 8:27 pm

Soon Malaysians step outside their house also need to pay toll or some form of tax

• Digidigi on Apr 06, 2018 at 11:10 pm

I am saying the malaysia system which is currently ungergo testing

• MY system? R u sure? Cuz this dun affect u unless ur Sinkie or ur just making up fake news! Stop the lies!

• MY system manada barrier. Nak tipu org yg selalu keluar masuk SG ke?

• DarrenC on Apr 09, 2018 at 9:35 pm

He is not talking any false thing.
            It has a barrier at there ….
            if from CIQ , after scan passport before reach bridge , there got one … three lane only.

• Tsunami on Apr 06, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Deswai alot kampung people switch to urban city. Kampung people makin bijak learn to use Touch and Go.

• Charge them foreign vehicles, no problem.

• Ben Yap on Apr 06, 2018 at 5:08 pm

for singaporeans to recover the cost, all they have to do is eat more malaysian durian as it is cheaper here than in their own country. after amortizing it, they still save la.