The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has reported strong interest for the returning 2018 Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS 18), which was announced in January. The show will be held from November 23 to December 2 at the Malaysia International Trade and Exhibition Centre (MITEC) off Jalan Duta.
Themed “Beyond Mobility”, KLIMS 18 promises “new launches and groundbreaking concepts”. MAA describes it as a “branding show” where auto marques gather to showcase their latest product offerings, “automotive dominance” and engineering visions.
The big names will be there for sure. Confirmed brands include Daihatsu, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, Infiniti, Isuzu, Kia, Lexus, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Peugeot, Perodua, Proton, Toyota, UD, Kawasaki, Honda motorbikes, 3M, Elite Looks, and V-Kool, among others.
“We are pleased about the responses to KLIMS 18 as the show will not be successful for Malaysia without the support of industry players and the public. As the association representing members’ interests in the automotive industry, MAA is presenting KLIMS to engage our members in unity so that we can be consequential in promoting a stronger industry for the benefit of all members and to provide the public an exciting purview of the possibilities available for their personal or family vehicles,” said MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad.`
Organisers are targeting over 100 exhibitors and over 350,000 visitors. “There is still time for industry players to participate at KLIMS 18, however, we are advising companies to confirm their bookings soon, so as not to be left out of available exhibition space,” Aishah added.
“We are delighted that KLIMS is back again this year and being a regular participant at all the previous shows, UMW Toyota Motor will certainly be present. This year, our range is a vibrant and diverse one, demonstrating ever better mobility for all. With ever-better cars, we expect to be able to give visitors a glimpse of the future as well,” said Ravindran Kurusamy, president of UMW Toyota Motor.
The Sime Darby auto division will be joining KLIMS with its Ford and Hyundai brands. “As the sole distributor of Ford vehicles in Malaysia, Sime Darby Auto Connexion’s exhibit will be more than just a showcase. Staying true to its tagline ‘Go Further’, visitors can look forward to special offerings and a rare treat themed around going further in technology and safety,” said Dennis Ho, MD of Sime Darby Motors – Malaysia, Thailand and Taiwan.
“Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors, on the other hand is all out to impress visitors with Hyundai’s latest SUVs that embody the brand’s Modern Premium concept. Hyundai believes in adding premium value to the car beyond just a transportation vehicle. Be sure to check out what Hyundai has to offer as these are no ordinary SUVs,” he added.
After two consecutive years of contraction, MAA has forecasted a growth of 2.3% for Malaysia’s automotive industry this year, which is tipped reach 590,000 units in 2018.
Here’s a throwback to 2013, the last time KLIMS was held.
Average household debt levels stands at 84present, wage growth is stagnating and our ckd car prices is still out of affordability range of average Malaysian, let alone CBU car prices, how do these industry players expect a TIV increase…… Interesting..
16% car prices affordable
https://paultan.org/2018/04/04/miti-deputy-minister-says-average-car-prices-have-gone-down-by-16-38-percent/
And yet luxuries keep breaking the limit. Interesting…
The MAIN reason luxury vehicles keep selling is bcos the Rich is Immune to price in relative terms.
In short, the rich are getting richer & they are not affected at all while the poor is getting poorer.
Pipu keeps getting poorer when they keep aiming for cars they cant afford, exp pongs they keep changing yearly, and lifestyles that they jeles about. Even when income increases, their expense on unnecessaries outpace it. Poor financial management is no ones fault but their own.
Did U know U just CONTRADICTED yourself when U said – “And yet luxuries keep breaking the limit. Interesting”
in short- ukur baju ikut badan la. kalau tak mampu, tak yah membebel itu ini tak kena, cari lah jalan lain/baru…
@12. Nope. While the upper and mid classes becomes wealthier, the poor became poorer. But ultimately, the economy increases. Understand so far?
So while the mid & uppers go for non-local cars and luxuries, the poor side oso want it and hence burdened themselves unnecessarily with more debts. The upper & mid can pay for these becoz they usually have better financial management but the poor will struggle. The WANTS supersede the NEEDS. Boleh paham dik?
the lower income group still battling with the rising cost of living, no thanks gst
GST din compel the lower income group to buy ipongs every year lah. Chasing lifestyles of the uppers did.
Zaman orang muda,
bila Raya tukar kereta,
lepas Raya tarek kereta
If got good response, no need to urge anyone…apa la..
Yawn. We want eye candy and rare exotics, not ford, hyundai and 3m. MAA and incumbent president, please work harder or else pass on the mantle to someone new and fresh. Thank you.
Cant wait to test drive Proton Bayu 1.8T
Without Merc or BMW or whatever big brand, I won’t go.
Kinda boring and less car to see in previous year at PWTC
With Maserati or Bentley or whatever small brand, i will go. Kinda exciting and lot car to see in previous year at PWTC
Hahahahahaha……
If it’s that good as u claimed, u don’t need to urge more participation. Is just a big showroom for those who have no times to go showrooms one by one.
New launches? Groundbreaking concept? Thailand and Indonesia motor shows have already beaten us long time.
wow so exciting ! i am expecting a lot of booths offering:
tinting
coating
credit card
loans
insurance
dash camera
Shud bring in more rare cars. Like USA model specific models. New Camaro, Corvette, F-150~750, trucks & bus, and motors. The last KLIMS was the debut of Mustang in ASEAN and this year show shud be just as groundbreaking.
Yeah stronghold must join, field will better after new gov.
Ini sesat kes or lost in translation kah?
Straight from Google Translate without checking with second source of translation.
Again ini salahan Google Translate for salah translate.
rofl!!!xp
Most of the rakyat cant even afford to buy the overpriced Japanese or German cars here in Malaysia compared to USA, Canada and even UK. Forced to buy Protons and Peroduas again and again until death.
How about Kapcai motoshow next year maybe? LOL
Meanwhile non national car percentage kept increasing and luxury car broke record sales for another year. Which cave u came from again?
Bro, thats only like what for example top 8 percent of the Malaysian population who are rich. The other 92 percent are still struggling to even own a home.
Mr Tim has a valid point, kapcais are more popular due to low running costs than a car including the infamous Myvi. I own both thats why.
Last time KLIM events were just “showroom cars” placed under one venue. On top of that, with some shops selling accesories. Kinda dissapointing and waste of marney. Better watch u-tube and eat popcorn.
Wasting my time going to this event. Better go to Juru and hopping from one showroom to another..