KLIMS18: Isuzu 1.9L Ddi BluePower engine, D-Max and MU-X concepts on display; accessories launched

As we begin to wrap up our coverage of the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS), we come to the Isuzu stand, where the company is previewing its latest 1.9 litre Ddi BluePower turbodiesel engine. The RZ4E-TC has been on sale in other markets since 2015, and while Isuzu Malaysia has yet to provide a timeframe for its introduction over here, it should be arriving fairly soon.

Set to replace the long-serving 4JK1-TCX 2.5 litre mill, it makes 150 hp at 3,600 rpm and 350 Nm of torque between 1,800 and 2,600 rpm – figures that are up 16 hp and 30 Nm, despite being 19% more fuel efficient and 20% lighter. It also has a carbon dioxide emissions figure of 161 grams per kilometre.

Also being showcased are two concepts based on the D-Max pick-up and MU-X SUV. The former is said to feature a “street rugged” look, coming with beefy steel bumpers, 20-inch Lenso alloy wheels and a roll bar, plus blue geometric graphics and a “blue metal armour” interior claimed to resemble a soldier’s suit.

The MU-X show vehicle, on the other hand, is apparently fully capable off the beaten track, with features that are inspired by the company’s participation in the Borneo Safari. Aside from the aforementioned steel bumpers, it also gets a three-inch lift, a winch, a roof tray and mud tyres. The black and yellow exterior colourway, which is said to complement its rugged aesthetic, extends to the leather-trimmed interior.

Lastly, Isuzu Malaysia has introduced two genuine accessories packages for the D-Max, called Titanium and Robust. The Titanium package gets various chrome details including headlight garnishes, tail light guards, door handle covers and garnishes, a tailgate cover and garnish and door visors, while the Robust has these in matte black and adds a black bonnet visor. The Titanium also gets chrome door sill plates.

Both packages are priced at RM1,180, and the company is offering additional options including a matte black front bumper guard and fender flares. These are priced at RM1,390 and RM1,090 respectively.

GALLERY: Isuzu 1.9 litre Ddi BluePower engine

GALLERY: Isuzu D-Max concept
GALLERY: Isuzu MU-X concept
GALLERY: Isuzu D-Max with Robust package
GALLERY: Isuzu D-Max Titanium and Robust package official photos

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• OKlah. better late than never. Thank God I pulled out decision to buy Dmax this year. Isuzu, please launch it ASAP.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 27, 2018 at 7:59 pm

Anything is better than the China made X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • Darren on Nov 28, 2018 at 1:28 am

X70 is an SUV. Dmax is a pickup. How do you even compare? Better go get your eyes checked.

• Mustapha Kamal on Nov 28, 2018 at 9:43 am

Japanese brand is 100X better than cheapo China brand

• notakata on Nov 28, 2018 at 9:44 am

Anything is better than cars wit kirrer airbags

• Tan Yann Hwa on Nov 28, 2018 at 9:51 am

I reckon we shouldn’t compare both of these SUV/PICKUP directly as they are different in chasis type, i.e. Monocoque and ladder frame. Both are distinct in terms of stiffness and ride comfort. Btw, accept it or not, X70 proved it with the china market share.

• Makbul on Nov 28, 2018 at 9:59 am

This car is thousand times better than our Proton Arena.

Proton Arena was one of the best pickups in the world, according to Proton’s CEO

• camtakpro on Nov 28, 2018 at 2:24 pm

Almost go for MU-X. Compare price to Fortuner WTF. Read online review for Isuzu MU-X then double WTF people have 1.9 6-speed auto, we still old 2.5 5-speed auto.

In the end go for something else.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 27, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Right so I took my family there today to experience the KL motor show but was utterly disappointed with the event. There weren’t many manufacturers to begin with and as usual almost half of the participants are accessories companies. I’m only a bit happy because my young daughter enjoyed sitting in all the new vehicles. Even the Isuzu booth was mediocre and the overall experience compared to the Tokyo motor show I went to back in 2014 is like heaven and hell. We have LOADS to improve.

• JOACHIM on Nov 27, 2018 at 9:17 pm

Japan is nothing compared to those car events in Europe like Geneva Motor Show. Japan has LOADS to improve and learn.

• Badrul on Nov 28, 2018 at 9:37 am

KLIMS run by abang abang who have no vision about International Motor Show Standards. Jaguh kampung. Only sell accessories, engine oil and banks selling credit cards.

Disgrace

• Mazda dont have. Subaru dont have. BMW dont have. Entire Volkswagen group also dont hv.

• Slowpoke on Nov 27, 2018 at 7:21 pm

Slowpoke forever….

• benzs on Nov 28, 2018 at 9:46 am

Malaysia always left behind. Never intro to us first but another few years later…

• Zulkiefly Omar on Nov 28, 2018 at 8:51 pm

I saw the dmax concept at KLMS-Mitec today. Wow… fantastic. It’s better than the Ford Ranger Raptor. If the price all-in OTR is below RM150k… then it will Ford Raptor greatest rival.

• DMax of course will be cheaper than RM130K. Even if the MUX change to 1.9L, I don’t think will price higher than Raptor

• tenggara mobility on Dec 16, 2018 at 9:34 pm

Malaysia market is what a dumping ground for old engines? Philippines alrdy fot 1.9ltr dmax, thailand long ago same like UK. Our roadtax also blardy expensive to be feeling good in 2.5 3.0ltr dinosaur.