VIDEO: The highlights of KLIMS18 as coverage wraps

We’ve now firmly wrapped up our coverage of the 2018 Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show. You’ve seen all the launches and previews, pored over some of the concept cars and even had a look at the booth girls present, but here’s a quick roundup of everything that’s happened at the event.

Over at Honda, the brand showed Mugen concepts of the CR-V and Jazz and unveiled the interior of the facelifted HR-V, while Toyota launched the new Camry and previewed the Vios. Meanwhile, over next door, Lexus debuted the ES sedan and UX compact crossover for the first time in Malaysia.

Across the way, Naza made a splash, previewing the DS7 Crossback, Kia Cerato and Kia Picanto GT-Line. In the Malaysian corner, Perodua showcased two concepts, the hotted-up Myvi GT and the X-Concept; it also held a sneak peek public preview of its forthcoming SUV. Right across was the Proton stand, where it had the X70 out in public for the first time, and announced the December 12 launch date.

Two pick-ups were shown side to side – Mitsubishi brought out the facelifted Triton ahead of next year’s launch, and Ford launched the Ranger Raptor; the latter also previewed the facelifted Mustang. Hyundai brought a slew of cars at this year’s show, launching the facelifted Grand Starex, previewed the new Santa Fe and Kona and displayed the Accent, i30 N, Kona Electric and the hydrogen-powered Nexo.

Upstairs, Nissan brought along the electric-powered Leaf that will be launched in the second quarter of 2019, and also showcased its e-Power range extender electric vehicle technology that will also be introduced in the near future. Speaking of tech showcases, Isuzu also brought along its 1.9 litre Ddi Blue Power turbodiesel engine, alongside concepts of the D-Max and MU-X and accessory packages for the D-Max.

So that’s all for us at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show, and we’ll leave you with a video roundup of everything there is to see at the show. Don’t forget that the show runs on at MITEC for another two days, so there’s still time to check out all these and more – and take part in a lucky draw to win yourself either a Perodua City, Honda City and Toyota C-HR. Tickets are priced at RM25 for adults on weekends.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mimpi ngeri on Nov 30, 2018 at 11:23 pm

I woke up and saw a Cina Geely called a Proton ? Must be a nightmare… Better go back to sleeping

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
  • Voting here please on Nov 30, 2018 at 11:38 pm

Everyone pls vote, do you think KLIMS 2013 is better or KLIMS 2018 is better

– If you press upvote, it means you prefer KLIMS 2018 than KLIMS 2013
    – If you press downvote, it means you prefer KLIMS 2013 than KLIMS 2018

Once you press your vote, pls give reason why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 38
    • Voting here please (Sponsor by: Mario and Bros on Dec 02, 2018 at 10:18 pm

Hmmm. Right, this shows that majority people would prefer KLIMS 2013 than KLIMS 2018. Also, not only just people vote for KLIMS 2013, still need to give reason why people prefers KLIMS 2013 than KLIMS 2018. Especially, those people press upvotes that people prefer KLIMS 2018 than KLIMS 2013, still need to give reason too as I mentioned again.

• Nobody NEEDS to do anything, dude. Yours is a corridor survey. It isn’t going to be published in the WSJ or anything.

• Plojohn no visitor on Dec 01, 2018 at 10:46 am

Look how empty Proton booth is, not a single visitor in there. Only saw the salesmen minum teh and no sales at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
    • seriously dude, did u even go there?
      I was surprised when i reached Proton booth, it became hotspot among the local.

• suomynona on Dec 01, 2018 at 8:48 pm

I beg to differ, I went on Wednesday & the crowd is swarming around X70, naturally. I was only able to get clean shot of pics without people around at 9pm only.

• Darren on Dec 01, 2018 at 9:18 pm

You must get your eyes checked. The video screenshot showed so many people were crowding Proton’s booth.

• p2macai on Dec 02, 2018 at 5:37 pm

Perodua toyota SA busy badmouthing other brands here, sure showroom empty

• Better get your eyes checked, dude. Not only your brain got problem, now your eyes too. Good luck

• Watch the video b4 u bash. Only make a fool of urself lor. Hahahaha!

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 01, 2018 at 11:41 am

Instead of wasting my RM25 (Rm100 over with family), I rather take my kids and myself to Naza Auto Mall in PJ (along Federal Highway). They have better cars there and excites me more.

KLIMS, I have to walk long corridors one way like LEMBU. Then there are thousands of people pushing their way. Everything one way. I want to go back to previous showrooms also susah as cannot gostan.

No point I pay so much of money just to see mainly accessories, engine oil and credit cards mainly being promoted. Very few new car launches.

Big car brands also don’t show off their supercars. Nothing to get excited about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
    • Darren on Dec 01, 2018 at 9:17 pm

Good! There’s less of you to crowd the scene ogling at girls and blocking my camera. Please stay far far away, as your pathetic presence is not need. Thank you.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Dec 02, 2018 at 12:32 pm

I find it akward going to showroom without the intention of buying anything so that’s why I go to a motor show.

It depends on the individual. For example you may get excited over a supercar but I get excited over a Saga.

• Many complaints but you dun even go there, legit?

• Jasmin on Dec 01, 2018 at 11:48 am

I was very disappointed in our recent KLIMS. This will be my last KLIMS. Jaguh Kampung don’t know how to organize a proper car show.

• Ismail Saad on Dec 01, 2018 at 11:54 am

No Ferrari, no Porsche and no Lamborghini. No Maserati, No Bentley. No Rolls Royce. No McLaren. No Jaguar.

All Malaysian cars only

Real International shows got nearly all car brands. Why I want to see Toyota, Honda Proton and PErodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • To add-on. Entire Volkswagen group is missing. That includes Audi. Mazda is missing. Subaru is missing.

• Not even a proper Merc booth eventhought there were some AMGs at Petronas. No Audi, Beemer, and Fiat or Alfa as well

• Jamal Zahrin on Dec 01, 2018 at 12:04 pm

KLIMS was a mess for me. Nothing much to see. I can go Proton showroom if I want to see the X70 or UMW showroom if I want to see a Camry

MAI also malu. they should have a booth to explain EV and hybrid technology to the public as well as emissions.

Our KLIMS so bodoh. No education. Nothing to teach rakyat about latest technology

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Aero (Member) on Dec 01, 2018 at 5:25 pm

I went to KLIMS 2018 on the 28th, mainly because I wanted to see the new X70 up close. But I ended up spending around 6 hours there, photographing all the interesting cars, and talking to a few SAs. Because I went on a weekday, and am a student, the ticket was only RM5. The parking was RM15 flat rate. I would be upset too if I had to spend the full RM40 ( weekend price + parking ).

But honestly, getting to see and sit inside the X70 is well worth it, RM40 or not ! The Proton booth was by far the most packed at KLIMS 2018, everyone wanted to check out the X70; young, old, families, businessmen etc.. I ended up waiting 5 hours until 9.30 pm for the crowd to clear to get some clear photos of the X70 models ! As for the X70 itself, I can see why a lot of people are hyped up for it. It is unlike any Proton to come before it. The X70 feels thoroughly premium, modern and comprehensive. There is no compromise, almost everything you want and expect from a RM100k+ car is here, and then some.

Previous ‘premium’ Proton models like the Perdana V6, Perdana VTEC, Waja 1.8, Chancellor, Inspira, Suprima S and Exora Prime were all outdated, unrefined, or were lacking in some form or aspect (except the Inspira, which was very underrated). Even though most of these premium Protons were close to or above the RM100k mark, they didn’t feel like RM100k cars for their time. The X70 definitely does, it feels like a RM150k+ (D-segment) car, especially from the inside. All the materials look and feel nice, and are well put together.

However, one thing which bugs me is the ‘grip handles’ on the centre tunnel… like is that even necessary ? It looks daft, and feels like a case of style over substance. I also don’t like how the centre tunnel is so elevated, it makes the front compartment feel cramped. This trend is quite common among SUVs for some reason, perhaps it is because of 4WD reasons, I’m not sure. Then again, some people might like it, so to each their own.

Overall, after seeing the X70 up close, my respect for the X70 and Geely Group has grown even stronger. Proton will soon have a fantastic product to offer, and many a Malaysian are rooting for their success. All that remains to be revealed is the price, and we’re just days away from knowing (the formal launch is on December 12th).

But I’m still not going to jump on the ‘ hype train ‘, because I don’t want to be heartbroken yet again if the X70 does not sell as well as hoped. Better to be have humble expectations and be pleasantly surprised, than to have ambitious expectations and be utterly disappointed. This is just my pragmatic view anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Ben Yap on Dec 03, 2018 at 10:06 am

Students go there no money to buy car, not adding value to the show anyway.

• Karam singh on Dec 03, 2018 at 10:26 am

SUV has a higher centre of gravity, and tends to roll.more in corners. The handle has dual purpose which will be in cornering and also when the vehicle is tilted to one side during off road manoeuvering. Ask Porsche why the Cayenne and Macan has it

• Thanks to PT for the coverage. Every iteration, it gets better and better, with many more unique never-b4-seen-in-this-region cars. Kudos to KLIMS organiser, u did a gud job!

Hope to see more in next KLIMS!

• Ben Yap on Dec 01, 2018 at 8:40 pm

This is the worst car show. These are the brands not there:
    1)Ferrari
    2)Porsche
    3) Lamborghini
    4) Mazda
    5) Subaru
    6)Maserati
    7) infinity
    8) Bentley
    9) Rolls Royce
    10) McLaren
    11) Jaguar
    12) BMW
    13) Mini
    14) Haval
    15) Land Rover
    16) Renault
    17) Chery
    18) Suzuki
    19) isuzu
    20) volkswagen
    21) Audi
    22) volvo
    23) chevrolet

Those who read this, next time if you want to go for the next KLIMS, watch out for paultan’s post and you can see if it’s worth to go or not.

• No eye see!!! on Dec 02, 2018 at 8:59 pm

It should not be called KL International Motor Show as it should be called Malaysia Auto Show only. As a Malaysian, I felt malu only because when one of the mats salleh who have been to like Tokyo, Geneva and Bangkok motor show, sure he will say WTF???

• malaysian driver on Dec 03, 2018 at 12:54 am

This is a very very disappointing motor show, if not the worst for a few reasons
    1. it’s like show room that charge entrance fee. very very little new cars. I might as well go to the show room, get free coffee and some salesperson standby in the showroom
    2. where are the Conti brands? no Merc (oh please don’t tell me putting an A class in the personas booth counts), no BMW, No Volvo, No Audi and heck, not even VW
    3. I thought we are going green, but where are those green tech related booth/cars, it should be one of the main attractions if we are serious about making our country an auto hub

Will I come again to the next one ?
    please la, even if it’s free I also won’t go again with this kind of quality.
    it’s a shame, and Paultan.org has the responsibility to tell its readers about these issues from day one in stead of blindly promoting it. I mean, are you guys one of the organiser that reap the profit or you guys really think it was a good one from the pre opening day you went in?

• KLIMS2020? on Dec 03, 2018 at 7:41 am

KLIMS 2018…A great dissapointment motor car event. Some of the major players went clearly missing, namely Volkswagen Malaysia, Audi Malaysia, Porsche Malaysia, BMW Malaysia, MINI, Volvo Malaysia, Mazda, Subaru, Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia and Shell Malaysia… Even Mercedes Benz only shared their platform with Petronas Bhd….Where too were Yamaha, Ducati, Triumph, Aprilia, Suzuki, Modenas and Harley Davidson?? Kudos to KIA, Hyundai, Proton, Perodua, Toyota, Lexus, Nissan, Honda, DS, Peugeot, Isuzu, Mitsubishi, Kawasaki and Benelli…Got bag of souvenirs from Daihatsu….Low points for SDAC-Ford because the Mustang was locked while I was there the first sunday weekend :(

• Amran on Dec 03, 2018 at 8:26 am

Lim guan eng kills proton slowly.. Subsidy for below 1.5l engine policy.. R. I. P proton

• newme on Dec 03, 2018 at 11:51 am

After looking at the X70, I must admit that it is a big leap for Proton. It’s not that Geely is good but it’s because Proton previous model was so bad and worst than a China brand. Despite that, the X70 is still far from the Japanese let alone the continental.

While X70 is a huge improvement for Proton, Proton business model may hinder its sales. Look at Ertiga and Perdana with short product life cycle because of their unsustainable model. Ask anyone that wants to get parts replacement.

• 3 series on Dec 03, 2018 at 1:53 pm

Nope. It’s interior is on par if not with continental
      And nope, conti such as BMW – build quality is not that good, you can hear rattling here and there, flimsy.

Jepunis is far left behind, no need to say.

• newme on Dec 03, 2018 at 3:05 pm

The only selling point that Geely has is Volvo and it’s not that great. It’s Volvo that got sold to a China company, not BMW nor Toyota. And Volvo sits at the bottom of customers satisfaction index.

• 3 series on Dec 03, 2018 at 5:48 pm

Meanwhile, Merc also has something for P1
          https://paultan.org/2018/10/10/proton-gets-ai-company-behind-mercs-mbux-to-develop-malaysian-english-voice-recognition-system/

Burnnnnnnn