KLIMS18: Proton X70 SUV full preview, inside and out

Still no launch yet, but Proton has finally revealed the X70 SUV in full at the 2018 Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS) today. This means we can now give you a full gallery of the national carmaker’s new pride and joy, inside and out.

As you’d have all known by now, the X70 is based on the facelifted Geely Boyue, and will be offered in Standard 2WD, Executive 2WD, Executive AWD and Premium 2WD variants, with the top three present here. All are powered by a 1.8 litre turbocharged and direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engine, producing 181 hp at 5,500 rpm and 285 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 4,400 rpm.

It is mated to a six-speed automatic gearbox and a choice of either front- or all-wheel drive, depending on the variant. The 2WD version gets from zero to 100 km/h in 10.5 seconds and has a claimed fuel consumption figure of 7.8 litres per 100 km.

The Standard 2WD is the base model and gets halogen headlights, 17-inch alloy wheels and fabric seats. The Geely Smart Ecosystem (GKUI) Android-based infotainment system with navigation, music streaming and voice control with artificial intelligence is fitted across the range.

Moving up the ladder, you have the Executive 2WD variant that throws in LED headlights and daytime running lights, 18-inch alloy wheels, faux leather upholstery, a power-adjustable driver’s seat and a 360-degree camera system. Other items visible on the show units are keyless entry, push-button start, dual-zone climate control, an auto-dimming rear view mirror, hill descent control and a seven-inch digital instrument cluster. For now, it is unclear which of these features – if any – are also fitted to the Standard model.

Last but not least is the top-spec Premium, coming with real Nappa leather, a power-adjustable passenger seat (with shoulder buttons) and a panoramic sunroof. New additions to the variant’s kit list that weren’t fitted to the preview models we’ve seen before are the 19-inch two-tone alloy wheels wrapped in Continental UltraContact UC6 tyres (the rest get Giti Comfort SUV 520 rubber), as well as a Kenwood sound system.

Safety-wise, all models get six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control and rear ISOFIX child seat anchors, with the Executive AWD throwing in a tyre pressure monitoring system. The Premium is the only variant to get an Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS), consisting of autonomous emergency braking, lane departure warning, adaptive cruise control, blind spot monitoring and auto high beam.

GALLERY: Proton X70 Executive 2WD

GALLERY: Proton X70 Executive AWD
GALLERY: Proton X70 Premium 2WD

Learn more: ,

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mario and Bros on Nov 22, 2018 at 2:41 pm

Looks wonderful. And thanks to those to 12000 people who book new X70. Well done.

Reason:
    – Greater Fuel Economy
    – Turbocharged Engine
    – Beautiful Design
    – Reliable
    – Advanced Safety Features
    – Many more equipment features

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 9
    • peaces on Nov 22, 2018 at 3:45 pm

yup. Base spec under $90K.

• Voting here please on Nov 22, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Everyone please vote here

If you press likevote, it means you are buying X70
      If you press downvote, it means you are not buying X70

After that, pls give reason after you vote

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 41
      • 12,000 voters have liked. So what’s the point?

• Answers to you and Questions from the user on Nov 22, 2018 at 5:16 pm

Because it is proven that I just read the newspaper about Proton Plants Expansion Completes Next Year as found from Star Newspaper just now and says that 12000 people book Proton X70. Serious I am not joking

• Cannot afford on Nov 22, 2018 at 6:53 pm

I am buying because I am broke. Otherwise I do not want to be seen in it . Seriously… Nothing more.

• Kereta multi guna on Nov 22, 2018 at 6:57 pm

Every pasar auntie and fish monger in the wet market will be using in to ferry their stuff … That’s what happens when it’s in that “category” … Wahhh cheap and can rough use

• PlainBS on Nov 22, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Actually fuel consumption isn’t this car’s strong point. There are competitors fare better in this area.

• Voting here please on Nov 22, 2018 at 5:13 pm

If you press means you like X70
      If you press means you dislike x70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Voting here please on Nov 22, 2018 at 5:14 pm

If you press likevotes means you like X70
      If you press dislikevotes means you dislike x70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Meanwhile its local competitor still playing hide and seek. Teasing here and there and everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Looks like a very well sorted car. The RHD conversion was done well, can’t even tell that it wasn’t natively an RHD car.

• Que the praises from the fanboys. But honestly, it does looks good than the official pictures. Also, price when?

• kowreck on Nov 22, 2018 at 3:01 pm

weird that the top of the line spec does not come with AWD

• Why not? Honda also does the same with CRV. Doesn’t hurt their sales at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • johnissohai on Nov 22, 2018 at 3:12 pm

the more i see the interior..the more boring it becomes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
  • Rest john X70 in Peace on Nov 22, 2018 at 3:13 pm

This will for sure make Proton close shops because it won’t sell. Habis all money to rebadge and finally no sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
    • Toyota salespipu r screaming how to counter the waves of X70 promotions and publicity. Certainly cant fight with their overpriced, underspec, outdated dinosars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Still no price one walawei on Nov 22, 2018 at 3:29 pm

Still no price. What the heck sial

• tbh, nice looking car. the only thing is reliability since we don’t have any experience with Geely before. Hopefully it as good as Volvo if not better.

hopefully the price is within reach of M40.

• Greasemonkey on Nov 23, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Aiya,dont be like volvo…not reliable,parts mahal lagi,comfort ok la,but still lose to french marque…

• guan yin ma on Nov 22, 2018 at 3:37 pm

After more than 1 year of teasing, still don’t dare to reveal the price. Proton ar proton. If you continue this strategy, nobody can help you even GEEEEELY.

• thefact on Nov 22, 2018 at 4:42 pm

CBU, goverment (new) has been very slow in approving CBU prices…

• FIST (Member) on Nov 22, 2018 at 3:40 pm

those 19 inchers gonna hurt to replace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • The best local SUV would combine the Mazda CX5’s build quality, the Honda CRV’s interior design and the Subaru Forester’s handling prowess + it’s AWD drivetrain. As for China competitor shown above, it is far from desirable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Veyron Owner on Nov 22, 2018 at 4:57 pm

Yeah, and priced like Kancil. It is this very stupid demands of Malaysians that makes a decent local car seems insufficient for their impossibly high demands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • 1.8T slower than the Honda HRV, Jazz and City and all other SUV in its category… lousy heavy car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • banana on Nov 22, 2018 at 3:58 pm

all those noisy fly who concern about price acting like they have cash to buy seconds after release. only make noise to know the price,, then condemn the price,, then fly to another shit and make noisy there..rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • James on Nov 22, 2018 at 4:09 pm

I don’t understand why it takes so long to release the price of the car and the date to deliver the on the road.

• Lason Jo on Nov 22, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Still teasing and no launch… was thinking to upgrade… but poton keep on hyping till its basi, so i booked a crv already bahhhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Tun F on Nov 22, 2018 at 10:51 pm

Don’t talk cock here dude…. So many said this way… But actually never bother about Proton… Just act as if you were interested….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Max291 on Nov 22, 2018 at 8:26 pm

7.8L/100km? At what speed? 40kph? Malaysia still don’t have proper measurement methodology. So, I’ll take it with a pinch of salt.

• J0han on Nov 22, 2018 at 8:56 pm

Not my pride nor my joy

• Makanmakan on Nov 22, 2018 at 10:15 pm

It’s a lot smaller in person. Kinda like the CHR, looks big in photos but small in rela life. The X70 is about the size of the HRV but with a bit bigger boot.

• Then I believe you haven’t go to the KLIMS yet

• theanswer on Nov 26, 2018 at 12:45 pm

x70 is quite big actually..cant compare directly with hrv since hrv use ultra seating interior that makes it quite spacious. but from the outside..x70 is still longer and wider.

• Why didn’t put in lane keep assist?

• Engineer on Nov 23, 2018 at 9:32 am

It is to ensure drivers don’t become lazy and rely on the advanced systems, the driver must still be steering the car.

• Ben Yap on Nov 23, 2018 at 10:49 am

A good alternative for those that cannot afford a Honda CRV turbo.

• suv KING on Nov 24, 2018 at 4:07 am

if priced above 100K, it will be like the accordana again, cannot sell

If priced below 100K, then it will give other SUV like CX5, CRV run for he money..will be a top seller and may see proton regain some market share

• Kanna Dass on Nov 24, 2018 at 10:53 pm

Want 2 know more about proton x70 SUV

• sirlirkuv3 on Nov 28, 2018 at 9:44 am

can we turn the passenger bag off?
    can we have a inside picture of the glove-box next time..it’s usually missing from the photos