KLIMS18: Hyundai Grand Starex facelift launched in Malaysia – 2.5 litre turbodiesel, from RM148,888

The refreshed Hyundai Grand Starex has finally reached Malaysian shores, and is being offered in a sole Executive trim priced at RM148,888 on-the-road without insurance. With the facelift, the big MPV adopts a more reserved design instead of the rather bold look of the outgoing model.

This is most apparent at the front, where you’ll find horizontal, trapezoidal-shaped projector headlamps instead of the previous vertical units. The clusters flank the company’s Cascading Grille with horizontal slats, which is no longer designed in a Lexus-esque fashion.

Meanwhile, the rear hasn’t changed much, as the taillight clusters are exactly the same shape as before and there’s still a roof spoiler. An omission here are the faux exhaust outlets seen on the Grand Starex Royale, which was launched way back in November 2016.

Like the Thailand-spec Grand Starex, the dashboard design inside the cabin is exactly the same as before, and not like what you’ll find in Hyundai’s domestic market. A touchscreen head unit resides within a frame on the dash, and is flanked by a pair of air vents. Below it are controls for the single-zone air-conditioning system, which includes controllable rear blowers for all three rows of seats behind the front passengers.

As before, you can swivel the second row seats to face those in the third row if needed, while ingress and egress into the area is done via manually-operated sliding doors. Fabric upholstery comes as standard but you can opt for a leather option as seen here.

The rest of the kit list includes 16-inch alloy wheels with 215/70 profile tyres, front and rear fog lamps, a rear top-mounted monitor display, six speakers, cruise control, rearview camera, automatic lights, parking sensors, four airbags, ESC, BAS, traction control and ABS.

Under the bonnet is a 2.5 litre turbodiesel engine that outputs 170 PS at 3,600 rpm and 441 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 2,250 rpm. A five-speed automatic transmission (with Shiftronic) sends drive to the rear wheels. Each purchase comes with a five-year/300,000 km warranty.

Learn more: ,

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 23, 2018 at 12:27 pm

Buying Grand Starex there is a secret. Just wait 1 year and buy a low mileage super condition 2nd hand unit for RM70k.

Grand Starex is the King of Depreciation. Be a wise consumer. Why pay RM150k for the vehicle when you cna get a 1 year old car for RM70k?

After all, still got 5 years warranty and 300,000KM warranty left.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 36
    • Gaviny on Nov 23, 2018 at 12:45 pm

RM70k buy new Proton Jiaji MPV. Buy local

• Yusof Kadeer on Nov 23, 2018 at 1:05 pm

If Starex can drop like this expect the Proton X70 to drop from RM100k brand new to RM50k in one year. As with all Proton cars, this is normal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Latiff on Nov 23, 2018 at 1:08 pm

Hyundai, Kia and Proton got no RV in MAlaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • RM70k is price for 6 or 7 yr old Starex. You can’t get that price after 1 year. Do your research before you start blabbering rubbish

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 0
      • He memang pun blabber rubbish all these while. Ignore him like what the rest of us do.

• I see you have met the resident troll. Just look at him commenting and replying himself with different dupes. He have time to spew lies and BS partly because he is also a Toyota salesman with too much time sitting in an empty showroom.

• Engineer on Nov 23, 2018 at 12:35 pm

So now they copy the front grille of Renault Espace (https://paultan.org/2014/10/08/renault-espace-full-details-gallery/)? Hyundai’s lack of design originality continues it’s uninspiring march to boredom.

• So many passengers but only 4 airbags to protect them

• Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) on Nov 23, 2018 at 3:13 pm

Doesn’t make any changes if there’s 7 airbags and the driver still drives like he got no passenger at the back. Most starexs are driven by daddies but i can see most daddies drive this car like sedans.

• akmal on Nov 23, 2018 at 5:18 pm

Cheap dashboard design. Disappointed

• star Ex on Nov 23, 2018 at 5:57 pm

Still 2-point seat belt instead of 3-point for the rear passengers?
    https://paultan.org/2018/01/02/two-point-lap-belts-outlawed-from-this-year-jpj/

• That was by old Gov, new Gov means anything jalan, anything boleh, anything kautim.

• No even a chrome grill? Let alone the luxurious dashboard that korean are getting… What a miss call from Hyundai M’sia. Still willing to play the big discount game huh.

• Ben Yap on Nov 23, 2018 at 6:01 pm

i’m sure my civic 1.5 turbo is faster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • StarexRVsucks on Nov 23, 2018 at 8:52 pm

Raced this refrigerator brute with a mercedes clk on the lebuhraya once and it was thrilling. Except for the lousy suspension.

• Ben Pay on Nov 23, 2018 at 11:03 pm

I’m sure you are idiot too.

• Daniel on Nov 23, 2018 at 6:12 pm

My god!
    How many facelifts can one model get?? More than 10 years already and at least 5 major facelifts! Who in the right mind will buy 11year model as a new car??

• Give us the new dashboard and 3-point seat belts on all seats!

• Look so cheap.. design is unflattering. The previous one looks better!

• macampondan on Nov 24, 2018 at 3:07 pm

Should rename to Hyundai Elizabeth Taylor or Hyundai Cher

• Jezza on Nov 26, 2018 at 3:49 pm

5-speed transmission…………………..

• Hadi75 on Nov 27, 2018 at 8:17 pm

Hyundai Malaysia just replace the old face with a new face….plastic surgery on car