2018 Peugeot 5008 now open for booking – RM174k

Seven months after the launch of the latest Peugeot 3008, local distributor Nasim will finally introduce the larger seven-seater 5008 in Malaysia on April 25. Before that, the company is holding a public preview of the people-carrying SUV in Sunway Velocity Mall until Sunday, but if you’re too busy to check it out yourself, don’t worry because we have a full gallery for you to peruse.

Available in just a single Allure THP variant, the fully-imported (CBU) 5008 is open for booking, priced at RM173,888 on-the-road without insurance. That makes it a full RM18,000 more expensive than the equivalent 3008 Allure THP for a pair of extra seats and a larger boot. Included in the price is a five-year/120,000 km warranty as well as three years’ free 24-hour Peugeot Assistance.

Whip out the measuring tape and you’ll notice that the 5008 is significantly bigger than the 3008. While it is only three millimetres wider at 1,844 mm, its 4,641 mm length is massive 194 mm longer, with 165 mm of it going to the 2,840 mm wheelbase. The 5008 is also 16 mm taller, at 1,640 mm.

You’ll notice the longer wheelbase and rear end as well as the more upright rear windscreen at first glance, but the rest of the exterior is pretty much identical to the 3008. This includes the claw-like full-LED headlights with LED daytime running lights and sequential indicators, 18-inch “Los Angeles” alloy wheels and “triple lion claw” LED tail lights. This is no longer an MPV in the vein of its predecessor, but a proper crossover.

The interior is again very similar to the 3008, with the futuristic wraparound dashboard adopting Peugeot’s i-Cockpit layout. There’s a 12.3-inch digital instrument display above the small-diameter steering wheel, while an eight-inch centre touchscreen controls the infotainment system – with MirrorLink, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity, no less – and dual-zone climate control.

It’s at the rear that the 5008 starts to differ from its smaller sibling, with 40:20:40 split-folding second-row seats that can be reclined and slid forwards and backwards. A one-touch tilt-and-slide function provides access to the 50:50-split third row that also fold flat and can even be removed.

As with most seven-seater crossovers, boot space is tiny with all seven seats up, but fold the third-row seats and it goes up to 702 litres – 182 litres more than the 3008. With the second row also folded, that expands to 1,862 litres, which can be increased still further to 1,940 litres with the third row removed. As on the 3008, the front passenger seat can be folded flat to accommodate extra-long cargo.

Standard kit is carried over from the 3008 Allure and includes LED fog lights, keyless entry, push-button start, black “Claudio” leather upholstery, fabric dash and door trim, an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat with memory, auto lights and wipers (the latter with integrated Magic Wash washers), an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, second-row air-con vents, cooled armrest storage and a reverse camera.

As far as safety is concerned, the 5008 comes with six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), Electronic Stability Programme (ESP), Hill Assist Descent Control (HADC), hill start assist, lane departure warning, traffic sign recognition, tyre pressure monitoring, Driver Attention Alert and front and rear parking sensors.

The 1.6 litre THP 165 turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine with S&S automatic stop/start continues to power the 5008, pushing out 165 hp at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm of torque at 1,400 rpm. An Aisin six-speed automatic transmission sends drive to the front wheels. Zero to 100 km/h takes 9.2 seconds – 0.3 seconds slower than the 3008 – and the car will hit the same 206 km/h top speed as the five-seater.

Drivers will have access to Peugeot’s Advanced Grip Control, which uses the chassis electronics to manage the available grip according to the road surface, enabling a greater degree of off-road ability despite the front-wheel drive layout. There are five driving modes on offer – Mud, Snow, Sand, ESP Off and Standard – accessible via a rotary dial located next to the hill descent control button.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Knightrider on Apr 12, 2018 at 8:58 pm

Good luck nasim. Plus more 10k can get kia carnival….can count 3008 at d road…nice beauty techno but can stress owners when come to maintenance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • Ashraff on Apr 12, 2018 at 9:01 pm

(Like) KIA Sorento
    (Dislike) Peugeot 5008

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 43
  • 12yrsold on Apr 12, 2018 at 10:45 pm

This is a good car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr (Member) on Apr 13, 2018 at 2:56 am

Tarak power boot like the 3008?

• suomynona on Apr 13, 2018 at 1:04 pm

Like the 3008, that one is for the higher specced models. Allure is in the middle of the range.

All the bells & whistles are in the GT & GT Line

• stastasta on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:30 am

ridiculous, a tall and heavy bootlid how you expect petite women drivers to close without power boot ? they gonna need to dangle with both arms like a monkey to force it shut.

• zamer on Apr 13, 2018 at 6:18 am

the seat design is super messy.
    make it looks a complicated car to own

• Ahmad on Apr 13, 2018 at 8:35 am

I’ll wait for CX8

• Boring engine again. Seems like Peugeot only got 1.6 THP engine to use most of their cars. Why no 1.8 or 2.0 engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • andromeda on Apr 13, 2018 at 9:17 am

Maintenance is an issue of the past. I and driving the 308 THP 2016 and the car is a complete blessing and does not give me any issue. If only i can get apple carplay upgraded on the model and some bodykits.

My tip to a Peugeot buyer, keep maintenance with the official workshops and you will not suffer any issue. Of course getting to know the technician will help further. I heard of those who suffer but for most of them it is because they go outside workshops and only came back to Peugeot when the issue is unsolved and critical, of which by then they are extremely irritated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
    • No exactly. Owned a Peugeot 408 2.0 and the gearbox faulty, brought to Peugeot just after their 3 year warranty but still under 2 years Insurance warranty but unfortunately, Peugeot don’t wanna pursue with the repair as they mention that it is troublesome to deal with insurance.

Multiple times arguments and heading up and down to Peugeot, found out the faulty was with their Peugeot Seremban centre who did the service did not change the engine oil accordingly and also caused some problem to the gearbox.

Then, brought it to Tribunal and NAsim Sdn Bhd with their contacts etc and finally the judgement was to get the gearbox repaired with 1 month warranty.

So unfortunate that the judgement was not given to change the gearbox. When collected the car from the Peugeot HQ in Shah Alam, the technician said to me personally to sell the car immediately as he was told to “MAKE UP” the car for a month.

I have the gut feelings that something was wrong thus, I trade in the car and I lost 38k. I was turthful enough and told the Mitsubishi salesman that I am selling the Peugeot due to this gearbox issue and I am using the Mitsubishi discounts to cover some lost and top up another 21k to cover up for Peugeot.

The salesman helped me to trade in my Peugeot and I got my Mitsubishi. The salesman dealt everything for me and I did not meet the buyer (a 2nd hand dealer).

Exactly after 3 weeks, the 2nd dealer called me directly and said the gearbox is spoilt and have to be changed.

I apologised to him and said that I have told the salesman about this. The dealer said, the gearbox got problem but he did not expect to spoilt so fast.

This shows the commitment by Nasim Sdn Bhd and Peugeot as a whole.

I have gone to KPDNKK, Consumers, Tribunal and most importantly I have e-mailed and even called the complains department in PSA France and just because we are in Malaysia, the European complain department did not even bother to reply my e-mail nor update me any status.

My sincere advise, please get all this Risk Calculated because buying a Peugeot.

There are a few more owners who faced similar issues with Nasim Sdn Bhd and the case was blamed back to the customers.

They only wan’t to sell their cars promoting as European cars at Japanese price and failing to mention that maintaining the car is a GARGANTUAN task!

Once beaten twice shy!

No more Peugeot in Malaysia!

NAsim Sdn Bhd is a let down and PSA as a whole mistreated Malaysian customers despite repeated attempt to contact them through phone calls and also e-mails.

All the attempts were just ignored. I wish all the best to all future Peugeot owners and current owners who are already facing difficulties with Nasim Sdn Bhd.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • stastasta on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:33 am

andromeda, you must be quite simple-minded to claim that your “car is a complete blessing ” after driving it for only less than 2 years. lets see what you have to say in year 2022 !

• Tan Lih Jin on Apr 22, 2018 at 4:02 pm

Not exactly for me too own a 308thp send in service center for gearbox failure, for few time can’t solve it, last time I saw the mechanic delete all the record inside car ecu, delete that mean no record what happened to the car, failure free car OMG. I fast fast sell after a year Own it. No more Peugeot in my life

• Vincent on Apr 13, 2018 at 10:05 am

Looks good! It worth to wait! In 2 to 3 years time, can get the used unit at around 50K. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 13, 2018 at 11:00 am

its all good…except that glovebox

• But basher says thats the right way of doing LHD to RHD conversion. Just do it lazily and quickly. Not like P1 doing proper Boyue conversion. Or Elon doing Tesla3 conversion.

• rchoo on Apr 13, 2018 at 11:49 am

RM18,000 difference compared to equivalent 3008, I actually don’t know how these guys set the pricing (maybe solely based on perceivable profit can garnered?).

Mind you, In China the maximum price difference between the same equivalent set up of 3008 and 5008 is only 人民币 6,000 (which is equivalent to less than RM 4,000).

Paul Tan is correct to note the difference of only extra 2 seats and boot space, are these worth RM18,000 difference.

We are not gullible Nasim.

From a Peugeot faithful user.

• stastasta on Apr 22, 2018 at 11:41 pm

look carefully at the pictures, 5008 gets power boot which 3008 doesnt have. and probably there are other differences as well.

• Kogulakannan Rama linggam on Apr 13, 2018 at 12:01 pm

Does this car gets the Focal sound system here in Malaysia

• stastasta on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:37 am

this car is medium spec. therefore no focal sound system, no sun roof, no power boot, no front power passenger seat

• pailtin auto on Apr 13, 2018 at 2:14 pm

What about radiator fan noisy? Already settled?

• Owned a Peugeot 408 2.0 and the gearbox faulty, brought to Peugeot just after their 3 year warranty but still under 2 years Insurance warranty but unfortunately, Peugeot don’t wanna pursue with the repair as they mention that it is troublesome to deal with insurance.

Multiple times arguments and heading up and down to Peugeot, found out the faulty was with their Peugeot Seremban centre who did the service did not change the engine oil accordingly and also caused some problem to the gearbox.

Then, brought it to Tribunal and NAsim Sdn Bhd with their contacts etc and finally the judgement was to get the gearbox repaired with 1 month warranty.

So unfortunate that the judgement was not given to change the gearbox. When collected the car from the Peugeot HQ in Shah Alam, the technician said to me personally to sell the car immediately as he was told to “MAKE UP” the car for a month.

I have the gut feelings that something was wrong thus, I trade in the car and I lost 38k. I was turthful enough and told the Mitsubishi salesman that I am selling the Peugeot due to this gearbox issue and I am using the Mitsubishi discounts to cover some lost and top up another 21k to cover up for Peugeot.

The salesman helped me to trade in my Peugeot and I got my Mitsubishi. The salesman dealt everything for me and I did not meet the buyer (a 2nd hand dealer).

Exactly after 3 weeks, the 2nd dealer called me directly and said the gearbox is spoilt and have to be changed.

I apologised to him and said that I have told the salesman about this. The dealer said, the gearbox got problem but he did not expect to spoilt so fast.

This shows the commitment by Nasim Sdn Bhd and Peugeot as a whole.

I have gone to KPDNKK, Consumers, Tribunal and most importantly I have e-mailed and even called the complains department in PSA France and just because we are in Malaysia, the European complain department did not even bother to reply my e-mail nor update me any status.

My sincere advise, please get all this Risk Calculated because buying a Peugeot.

There are a few more owners who faced similar issues with Nasim Sdn Bhd and the case was blamed back to the customers.

They only wan’t to sell their cars promoting as European cars at Japanese price and failing to mention that maintaining the car is a GARGANTUAN task!

Once beaten twice shy!

No more Peugeot in Malaysia!

NAsim Sdn Bhd is a let down and PSA as a whole mistreated Malaysian customers despite repeated attempt to contact them through phone calls and also e-mails.

All the attempts were just ignored. I wish all the best to all future Peugeot owners and current owners who are already facing difficulties with Nasim Sdn Bhd.

• Its sad that such a great car’s reputation is destroyed by lousy after-sales service by Nasim.

From the forums and a couple of friends who owned the 208 models onwards have nothing but praises for the new Peugeot cars. Only to complain about the maintainance reliability from Nasim. Shame on them…

• NK,

Pegeout 408 all know got problem, why u buy? you didnot get huge discount? forget the pass move forward bro…

• Pikir lebih sikit Untung Lagi Banyak on Apr 13, 2018 at 6:42 pm

Buy the car at your own risk…..Or check at Forum and read review and comments….

• MCD3500 on Apr 13, 2018 at 9:39 pm

I owned a 2011 Pug 5008. I guess I am one of the blessed owners for not having a problem at all with the car. Of course, the first year the battery died too fast. But then, we learned to switch off those unnecessary electronics.

Motion and Emotion is definitely a suitable tagline for the car. That’s why recently, I got myself the Sukan SEA Pug Traveller for the growing family. The feel and specs (for the price) – is too hard to resist.

It’s a car for life. Don’t dream of getting any reasonable offer if you want to trade in your Pug. Keep it and take care of it. And you will enjoy its pleasure when you take it on one of those roadtrips.