SPIED: Hyundai i30 N-Line with racier-looking bodykit

It appears that Hyundai’s sporting N division is doing more than just souping up cars. As it turns out, the performance outfit is also looking to play dress up, as this set of spy photographs suggests.

First on the list, or at least first to be seen, is the kitted-out third-generation i30. Presumably called the i30 N-Line, the prototype here is seen wearing a sportier set of wheels that’s similar in shape to the i30 N. Judging by the low profile tyres, these appear to be 19-inch items.

While the front is completely masked from prying eyes, the rear gets the exact same bumper as the i30 N. The only difference is that the N-Line features dual exhaust tips on one side, unlike split items on the i30 N. The tiny aerodynamic winglet above the rear wheels are also present here, but the i30 N’s huge rear spoiler with triangle brake lights has been omitted.

On the mechanical front, expect no changes to the output, so all stock motors offered with the i30 should remain unchanged. To recap, the i30 gets the new 1.4 T-GDI turbocharged four cylinder petrol engine that delivers 140 PS and 242 Nm of torque. A smaller 1.0 T-GDI turbocharged three-potter is also available, with 120 PS and 170 Nm on tap.

A sole 1.6 litre turbodiesel in three different states of tune – 95 PS/280 Nm, 110 PS/280 Nm and 136 PS/up to 300 Nm – is available for those who prefer oil burners. For those who prefer the NA route, there’s a 1.4 litre MPI KAPPA unit, making 100 PS and 134 Nm. A choice of six-speed manual or seven-speed dual-clutch transmissions are available, depending on the variant.

Hyundai is not the only car manufacturer to offer upgraded styling packs – the Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI R-Line is the product of the exact same strategy, transforming the entry-level model into a racier-looking hatch that looks like the Golf R. Are you a fan of cosmetic upgrades? Tell us, below!

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Whats that the rear? Foglights? Reflectors? Flashing brake lights?

• At my first glance , i thought it was BMW 1Series

• Ramasamy Lingham on Apr 12, 2018 at 7:40 pm

What a great looking car. Sure to sell well. No surprise why Hyundai sells 8 million cars per annum globally

Just started 10 years before Proton did, and their sales are skyrocketing.

We should learn from the Koreans how to work hard and not be corrupted.

• Yeah, wiki is corrupted data. It says Hyundai started 10 years after Merdeka and P1 started 1983. Mana boleh? Eh, bro can go change it & make it right kah?

• Tok_Kun on Apr 17, 2018 at 11:32 am

New Myvi!!!

• harris on Oct 13, 2018 at 12:11 pm

Will this car be available in Malaysia?