Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI facelift introduced in Malaysia – Sportline and R-Line trims, RM156k to RM170k

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has officially introduced the new Volkswagen Golf Mk7 facelift in the country, and four variants (including the Golf GTI and Golf R) give the facelift its working debut here. Let’s start with the first, the Golf 1.4 TSI Sportline.

The baseline model in the local line-up is equipped with a 1.4 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine offering 150 PS at 5,000 to 6,000 rpm and 250 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 3,500 rpm.

Motive power is transferred to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch DSG transmission. Also present is the automaker’s XDS electronic differential lock. As for performance, the Golf 1.4 TSI has a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 8.2 seconds and a 216 km/h top speed.

The facelift introduces a new front bumper with a wider radiator grille and new air ducts on the front apron. The Golf Sportline is equipped with halogen headlights (the R-Line features adaptive LED headlights), but LED daytime running lights and LED tail lamps (which are standard fit across the entire facelifted Golf range) are present, as is a new rear bumper.

Standard equipment and features on the Sportline include Zoom fabric upholstery, 16-inch Hita alloy wheels, an Air Care dual-zone climatronic system, a Premium on-board computer multi-function display, front/rear fog lamps, automatic headlights and wipers and a start/stop system with regenerative braking.

Also on, an 8.0-inch Composition Media, eight-speaker infotainment system with App-Connect, which offers smartphone screen mirroring functionality via Apple CarPlay, Android Auto or MirrorLink, as well as an electromechanical parking brake with an Auto Hold function, tyre pressure loss indicator and an auto-dimming rear view mirror.

The R-Line, meanwhile, adds on Vienna leather upholstery with integrated R-Line logos on the front seat backrests, the aforementioned adaptive LED headlights and a 12.3-inch Active Info Display virtual instrument cluster, which is configurable and offers five different views.

It also comes with R-Line design elements such as dedicated front and rear bumpers and a sports rear diffuser with trapezoidal chrome exhaust trim. The Golf R-Line rides on 17-inch Singapore alloy wheels wrapped with 225/45 series tyres.

Safety kit includes seven airbags, ESC and the Proactive Occupant Protection System, which made its debut in the latest Polo. The system uses sensors to detect situations in which an accident is likely to occur and prepares the vehicle and its occupants for an impending collision, for example by automatically tensioning the safety belts as well as closing the side windows.

The facelifted Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI Sportline is priced at RM155,990, while the 1.4 TSI R-Line will go for RM169,990 (both on-the-road without insurance). Like all Volkswagen models sold here, the Golf 1.4 TSI is covered by a VPCM package that includes a five-year factory warranty with five years of free roadside assistance as well as three years/45,000 km free service.

Compare the specifications of the new Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI Sportline and R-Line at CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2018 Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI Sportline

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Eternalgl0ry on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:43 am

It’s made in malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Besi Buruk on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:46 am

Such a cheap car overseas. Known as the “People’s car”. Here become RM170k

I rather buy a pre reg BMW 330e la. Less than Rm200k At least got more status and more power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 26
  • Besi Buruk on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:48 am

Malaysia has the most expensive car prices in the world. High time for prices to come down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 74
    • komarad on Mar 23, 2018 at 1:06 pm

Come down oredy

https://paultan.org/2016/04/07/car-prices-to-drop-30-by-2018-prime-ministers-dept/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 38
      • Besi Buruk on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:49 pm

article in 2016. Now 2018. Malaysians still waiting. We see car prices going up only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
        • Nope https://paultan.org/2017/09/07/honda-city-hybrid-over-rm100k-without-tax-breaks/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
    • Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
      Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 33
      • Not everyone biches about having no RV, so there’s no need to copy and paste this over and over again, unless… ur a bot

• Get with the program dude. Its the same muppet with the same exp car bollocks just with a another diff name thats all. Same bollocks deserves same reply.

• Vw fan on Mar 23, 2018 at 2:18 pm

That crown goes to singapore

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 25
    • Wait, din u claim even lowly gov servants can afford Cayenne? So what u say now and then tarak ngam wei!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 23
    • No worries mate. Didn’t you say this has no RV and therefore value will drop tremendously? By then you can afford for this sweet beauty mate.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 14
    • Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Mar 23, 2018 at 6:18 pm

Yeah yeah. Same story like MY is going bankrap. Meanwhile GDP growth at 5.9% and overall at RM998 Billion, EPF 6.9%, TH 6.25%, foreign reserves at US$103.9 Billion (dats USD), car TIV at 600,000. Oh we believe ya alrite… NOT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 69
      • Besi Buruk on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:16 pm

aren’t you the same guy who said Malaysia foreign reserves are 1 trillion USD the past few days? Now, reduced to US$103.0 billion kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
        • Nope. I made a correction and redacted the 1 trillion to overall GDP and revised foreign reserves to US$103.9 Billion. Unlike u, i correct my mistakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 48
        • Ken Hong on Mar 24, 2018 at 1:14 pm

so you just confirmed you are using multiple dupes

• Nope. He ask about my comment that Albert et al copied from and i replied on the facts that i have corrected. About using multiple dupes, im sure u know better than me. Isnt that right, Albert?

• by answering you just proved you are above albert fakenews.

Dah kena kantoi. Try to be smart next time

• Nope. Read lah, Albert.
            I said I redacted the info, deswai Albert et al now points to the correct info that I posted. However u keep on harping old info. So I came to correct u.

• Abdul Ghani on Mar 24, 2018 at 1:19 pm

ooops albert aka john kantoi lagi

• Inikalibolehka on Mar 24, 2018 at 10:00 pm

Our economy is only about RM870 billion – Ringgit Malaysia. Not US$1trillion -USD. If US$1 trillion we will be among the top 10 economies in the world. But surprisingly, VW is a US$350 billion (RM1 trillion plus)revenue company, which is bigger than the Malaysian economy.

• Just repoted in. MY GNI now stood at RM1.321 Trillion

• FYI I never did say it was USD$1 Trillion. All gov local figures r quoted in RM.

• like 1mdb, putar belit now. Kena kantoi tolong diam bro

• Sendri putar sampai termakan sendri, pulak kata org putar. Binggung.gif

• In impending accident will there be enough time to close Windows and sunroof?

• Good hatchback

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 240 Thumb down 79
    • Good hatchback? I think suprima s is better than junk golf 1.4 tsi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 86
      • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 24, 2018 at 1:20 pm

Why u so sad in life. Work harder and u may stand a chance to buy a good and safe VW made cars

• Work harder and be more successful in life

• John Juon on Mar 26, 2018 at 10:23 am

Weeh.. proton>all
          Geely>all
          Buy proton, 100% malaysian made. No copy paste.

• Rather get a Civic Turbo… Or Abit more for Volvo V40..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 27
  • As usual, the still useless,underpowered entry level golf which is very boring compared to the better GTI and R variants. The discrimination continues. Same case with the useless Mercedes A250 sport which should be terminated immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Why of course! If there are people willing to buy a B-segment CHR for RM140k, obviously there will be people willing to buy a C-segment hatchback at RM160k! Logic be damned!

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 23, 2018 at 1:24 pm

So the R line only adds in LED headlights and a body kit for 15k extra?

• Vw fan on Mar 23, 2018 at 2:19 pm

We don’t get 1.5 Evo?

• wait 2 years, pick it up at 50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • First time when this generation debut, it comes with xenon lights & led drl. halogen tail & 16 inch wheels.

Updated model comes with xenon without led drl (only halogen drl), led tail & 17 inch wheels.

Now, facelift comes without xenon, led tail & 16 inch wheels.. to get all the kits, must upgrade to higher trim.. actually, the price is getting higher..

Jetta highline includes xenon headlights, led drl, led taillights, 17 wheels & leather seats. VW should at least match the base golf with jetta highline coz the price is higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • johncenaSUCKS! on Mar 23, 2018 at 3:50 pm

TSI DSG basah ke kering?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • zamer on Mar 23, 2018 at 4:18 pm

its already 2018, still using traditional key to start.
    And the speedometer is last 10 years prodcut recycle.
    Still halogen headlight and dare to price 156k. 110k enough la VW. U know u going to bring down the price anyway in 6 months time.

even Myvi has all this fixed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • TepukLanyak on Mar 23, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Traditional key is much more reliable. Go check the speedometer first. Its so much more advanced than your Myvi

• Myvi may may good now but forever has the ‘kereta besi buruk’ brand image in Malaysia. VW and the infamous Honda branded cars are considered luxury cars in Malaysia bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • BowArrow(Mr.SFA) on Mar 23, 2018 at 7:33 pm

Ya then again – Good luck…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Hamid on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:41 pm

Good price.. next year I can buy 2018 car at 30% discount lol

• Benjamin Ong on Mar 24, 2018 at 9:20 am

LOL the new Golf TSI is a joke… reflector headlamp for a 150k car.. sohair Volkswagen malaysia, the previous version looks much better.

• love the turmeric yellow colour

• 1. Overpriced!
    2. Outdated exterior design
    3. Outdated interior design
    4. Notorious with problems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Buy suprima then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • stastasta on Mar 27, 2018 at 1:26 pm

if i really wanted a VW, why would i buy passat instead of golf. passat has 1.8 engine instead of 1.4, much more interior and boot space, power front passenger seat, power boot.

only drawback for passat is its using older media head unit system.