LPT2 toll rates down by 50% if BN wins Terengganu

Tereng­ganu’s Barisan Nasional (BN) division has pledged to reduce toll rates on the second phase of the East Coast Expressway (LPT2) should it win in the upcoming general election (GE). The announcement was part of Barisan’s 20-point manifesto that was revealed during caretaker deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi’s one-day visit to the east coast state.

“We will reduce the toll rates on LPT2 up to 50% in stages,” said menteri besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Razif Abd Rahman after the launch of the Kuala Berang Barisan election machinery. Currently, it costs RM43.30 for a Class 1 vehicle to travel from Karak in Pahang to Kuala Terengganu via the LPT2.

The present rates for Class 1 commuters plying the LPT2 is 12 sen per kilometre. This news follows the ruling coalition’s manifesto to remove toll collection in stages within 100 days of governing if it wins the upcoming GE and abolish toll payment for motorcyclists using the Penang Bridge.

What do you think of this? As always, share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• natluap on Apr 13, 2018 at 12:37 pm

They are in power now… Why not do it now rather than after GE14 ? Reduce now la…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 1
    • Azrll on Apr 13, 2018 at 1:31 pm

toll rates down, then funding for education and hospital medical oso down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • Kassim bin Abdullah on Apr 13, 2018 at 2:36 pm

Only country in the world where the ruling party can entice people with such things.

If you know people are suffering, why don’t you do it now? Why wait until GE14?

By the way, Malaysia does not even need a single tolls if corruption and stealing stops completely.

Every year, we lose tens of billions of ringgit just from corruption alone. That money can pay for every single toll in Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 0
      • Ali baba on Apr 13, 2018 at 7:47 pm

They do after GE14 but at the same time extending the concession to 100 years

• What the heck! You are the one implemented these tolls and wanna be hero to reduce it????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 0
    • testing on Apr 13, 2018 at 2:52 pm

other competitor say totally abolish toll if they take over putrajaya. i think that is more interesting proposal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Gabriel on Apr 13, 2018 at 12:52 pm

I like it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Up to 50% in stages?? Really?? Why not make it abolish 50% on 6th may onwards & abolish 100% starting 6 june?? Then Dr M/Pasz to counter-offer??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Henry on Apr 13, 2018 at 1:13 pm

Reduce toll by 50% but compensate with taxpayers’ money. So clever. There is an Agreement to honour, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Klman on Apr 13, 2018 at 1:30 pm

Yeah reduced 50% tol charges but later increase concessions period 10 years. Good try.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • SALang on Apr 13, 2018 at 1:35 pm

50% in stages..

Why not give a date? Why not 100%?

I remember last GE… 30% reduction in stages.. but where is the 30%? You know what I’m talking about..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Didn’t u approved the toll rate in your current tenure????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Zzzzzzzz on Apr 13, 2018 at 1:50 pm

Huuuaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh….im sleepy oredy…

• pailtin auto on Apr 13, 2018 at 2:16 pm

PLUS Hway to utara takda turun toll ke?

• pengayuhbasikal on Apr 13, 2018 at 3:43 pm

hahahahahhaha…joker…state administered by them…they are the owner of the highway…built from their money…give 50% now laaah…not later…

• drMpower on Apr 13, 2018 at 3:56 pm

How long the CA for LPT2 to Anih? And who own Anih? Anyone know?

• VIKNESWARAN RAMASAMY on Apr 13, 2018 at 4:07 pm

reduce after win then increase next year… good deal

• Do not believe them anymore

• Never trust thief thing, Nowday ppl is suffering inflation BN manipulate and GE14 comes he offer in return something previous he take from you.

• What for BN promise this and that? Unlike opposition they are already in power for many years and still in power now and could have done whatever things that they are promising now and then. PH can play this trick, like abolishing toll, reduce car price, reduce GST, etc after they are elected as federal government but not BN.

• Henry Ford the XIIth on Apr 14, 2018 at 5:09 pm

With that kind of road quality, LPT2 should have been made toll-free from Day 1.

• RodaEmpat on Apr 14, 2018 at 11:47 pm

If they are sincere, why not do it during their last 4 years.? They lupa they are ruling Ganu ka?

• what has become of government. A place where corrupt exist and wants to exist and gives goodies so to stay corrupt and in power.

• kabakebana on Apr 16, 2018 at 7:48 pm

They oredi win PRU13, y don’t do it

• fanofthisite on Apr 18, 2018 at 12:22 pm

so much bull from the ruling coalition running upto GE, they should be given a ticket for reckless driving