2018 SYM CRUiSYM 250i and Jet 14 scooters launched in Malaysia – priced from RM20,021 and RM7,089

In conjunction with the launch of the 2018 SYM VF3i 183 cc supercub, SYM Malaysia also launched the 2018 SYM CRUiSYM 250i and 2018 SYM Jet 14 scooters. The CRUiSYM 250i comes in two versions, the standard model and the Special Edition, priced at RM20,021 and RM20,339, respectively, while the Jet 14 retails for RM7,089, with all prices including GST, but excluding road tax, insurance and registration.

The CRUiSYM’s Euro-4 compliant liquid-cooled single-cylinder displaces 249 cc and produces 21.1 hp at 7,500 rpm and 23.5 Nm of torque at 5,500 rpm. No lightweight at 196 kg with a 12-litre fuel tank, the CRUiSYM 250 delivers its power via a CVT gearbox, as is typical of scooters.

Under the seat is found storage for two full-face helmets, and inside a cubby-hole in the front cowl is a 12-volt power socket for charging electronics. Braking on the 250i is with hydraulic discs, the front being a 260 mm diameter unit, and the rear measures 240 mm, with front-wheel ABS as standard.

Fuel for the 250i is carried inside a 12-litre tank and it rolls on a 14-inch front and 13-inch rear wheel. There are three colour choices for the CRUiSYM 250i – Black, White and Red – and availability at authorised SYM dealers in Malaysia is from next week.

Meanwhile, in the 125 cc scooter class, SYM Malaysia has launched the Jet 14, designed to cater for the urban commuter looking for affordable daily transport over short distances. The Jet 14 comes with a 124.6 cc single-cylinder air-cooled engine that is Euro-4 compliant and produces 10 hp at 8,500 rpm and 9.2 Nm of torque at 7,000 rpm.

With a rated top speed of 110 km/h, the Jet 14 has a 7.5-litre fuel capacity and weighs 128 kg. Braking is with a hydraulic disc in front and drum brake at the rear, with wheel sizing being equal at both ends of the Jet 14 at 14-inches.

The Jet 14 comes with twin halogen headlights, and LED tailights, with space under the seat for one full-face helmet. The flat floor panel makes mounting the Jet 14 easy, especially for riders wearing a skirt and the seat height is a low 771 mm.

There are three colour options for the 2018 SYM Jet 14 – Red, Blue and White. Availability of the Jet 14 is from May at authorised SYM dealers across Malaysia.

GALLERY: 2018 SYM CRUiSYM 250i

GALLERY: 2018 SYM Jet 14

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• fiendi on Apr 15, 2018 at 10:12 pm

wow! kena angkat satu ni..!

• fiendi on Apr 15, 2018 at 10:13 pm

wow! kena angkat satu ni..

• This is like bigger that VTS?

• Papa Goines on Apr 16, 2018 at 9:01 am

I believe VTS is 185cc (rounded off to 200cc for marketing purposes) carburetted

While this is more of an upgrade to the ongoing GTS250i with its fuel injected 250cc

Pls do correct me if I’m wrong

• TreeHugger on Apr 16, 2018 at 12:50 am

Jet 14 in other markets come with rear disc brake. Why in Malaysia downgraded to drum brake? Save cost at the expense of safety? Come on la sym. Shame on you.

• Anonymous on Apr 16, 2018 at 8:22 pm

You sure? Seems to me that they’re drum brakes everywhere else as well.

• Anonymous on Apr 17, 2018 at 10:22 pm

No… This is Jet 14 125 with rear drum brake. Jet 14 200 comes with rear disc brake and abs.

• This one is Jet14 125. The other one is Jet14 200 comes with rear disk break and abs.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 16, 2018 at 7:12 am

RM20,000 for a scooter ?????!!!! Has our currency become Zimbabwe money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 16, 2018 at 11:19 am

what price of scooter in ASEAN region?

• Cant afford the 20k one? Well, we have a Rm7k just for ur budget. So when ur gonna place the booking?

• Bernard on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:18 am

Buy Yamaha Nmax 250. Its truly amazing!

• Good choices for over rm20k-25k market. If you can’t afford, then stick to Elegan 250 for under rm13k. Of course, outdated by 2 years.

• 12yrsold john on Apr 16, 2018 at 11:26 am

This 250i is a Good looking & practical scooter but at RM20k, I’m afraid it is a bit expensive. Maybe the Jet 14 is the BEST alternative to scootering.

• Kelika on Apr 16, 2018 at 9:29 pm

Only 250i?How about 300i?

• Justin on Apr 18, 2018 at 10:09 am

You need to apply for B full to ride the 300cc.
      250cc can still use your normal B2.

• Adam Malik on Mar 20, 2019 at 11:58 am

Sym 250i cruisym…
    Sy baru beli bulan 0ct 2018. Start pakai motor dlm bulan nov hujung. Mileage baru 11000 tp tayar BELAKANG dah bengkak tengah2. Keseluruhan tayar kat tengah dah bengkak. Bunga dah pun timbul cam kelopak. Bila sy call kedai motor xl motor seremban. Dia org ckp xde warantty atau gurantee.. Sy bagitau tayar tak tahan panas jalanraya. So diaorg ckp memang tak blh tlg. Persoalanya: Adakah masalah ni akan timbul lagi klu sy tukar tayar baru. Tayar apakah yg sesuai utk motor 250i cruisym. Sebab motor ni berat tp tayar tak tahan panas jalanraya. Tayar ori pun xleh habis nk minta tlg siapa.. Diharap sesiapa tlg bagi idea atau rekomen tayar BELAKANG mana sesuai.
    PARA PEMBELI HARAP HATI2..
    terima kasih….