The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released sales and production figures for the month of March 2018, which shows an improvement from the downward trend over the past few months.
Last month saw 49,985 vehicles being registered, representing an increase of about 23.2%, or 9,407 units from the month of February. The encouraging figures are largely due to March being a longer working month and companies rushing to deliver cars, specifically those that end their financial year on March 31.
Compared to the same month last year, the sales volume in March 2018 was 7%, or 3,733 units lower than in March 2017 that saw 53,718 vehicles being delivered. Interestingly, the number of passenger vehicles sold in March 2018 was less than in March 2017, but it is the opposite case for commercial vehicles.
As for year-to-date sales figures, the number currently stands at 135,140 units as of the end of March 2018. This is 4% less, or 5,700 units less when compared to the same period last year.
For the month of April, the association doesn’t expect much deviation from what it observed in March. It attributes this to consumers adopting a “wait and see” attitude ahead of the 14th general election set to take place in May.
Ini mesti salahan… oh wait, din basher says economy menurun deswai need to kolos shop? Reality and basher cakap tarak ngam wei. Ini salahan reality.
Many small shops already closed..regardless of what industries..open ur eye big big la..small eye john..putang ina
Very true Johnissohai. For pro-gov spinners, its better to read deeper than just throwing out blind komen. Up 23.2% are largely due to March being a longer working month and companies rushing to deliver cars, specifically those that end financial year on March 31.
Wonder how is VW and Volvo result.
Wonder how is DRB audi result. 20 last mth
I cannot wait for todays results that will show Proton only sold 3000 or 4000 cars for the whole month.
Few thousand Proton sales man…..but only can sell 3000 plus units last month
Proton sold 3000 or 4000 this month. You too optimistik bruh.
Small shops kolos but other shops became more and bigger. 99speedmart just launched their 1000th shop. Satu ribu wei! And consumers now do more online shopping. Lazada, 11street, Shopee, etc even can rake in Rm1 Billion (thats B) during 1 event only! Is that a sign economy is bad? Bollocks!
Even Toys’R’Us oso kolos all their USA shops, isit means USA economy is bad and they going bankrupt?
Kedai rakyat1M barang lg murahhh..Ooo wai
KR1M 1.0 dari Mydin.
KR1M 2.0 dari 99speedmart.
Patutlah Mydin complain… oh wai
Luxury yachts, birkins & diamonds super laku. Is that a sign economy is bad? Bollocks! !
Nope. But apparently unstarted tunnel and 13 years straight money losing bakery is. Go figure.
OMG….bn macai spotted…knnccb
Ini mesti sebab sales Proton naik mendadak hasil dari quality volvo kot.
Ramai yg berlumba2 beli p1 persona & iriz sebab waiting list myvi 6-12 bulan…
Also, potential carbuyers already realised that new myvee threw out water temperature gauge which is cut corner specification (perhaps they learn from AxAi which is king of cut corner).
Axai?
Since when sales up means economy good? Usa sub prime loan also all time high on housing sale …It’s just credit to the market and debt increasing for the nation before default and bankruptcy when credit tightened
Sub prime loan is poor indicator of market health becoz it was abused to gip loans to undeserved pipu who cant pay back, which happened. Loans in MY now more strict and only given when theres confidence on the repayment.
Despite banks have confidence on their repayment as claim by U, there are till thousands people defaults on their cars & housing loans not to mention credit cards & personal loans too.
Stop fooling yourself. The numbers of bankruptcies amounting to 60 plus per day say our economy is not prospering as claimed by U Mr ECONOMIST. Please check with your Gomen on Bankruptcies or U want me to spell it out for U !!
Alamak john, read the article again. It said March sales up BUT total sales from Jan-Mar is DOWN. Did U read the WHOLE article B4 commenting !?
more fresh grads become Grab drivers. probably that’s the reason for the rise.
just hoping those fresh grads choose to buy local cars for Grab rather than foreign brands.
Economy is in the shiits…this data proves nothing..maybe mosly 1st time buyers..actual inflation is a secret…ask the ruling gov if they dare declare it…u know what yr 50 or 100 ringgit malaysia gets u..pity those with kids..
Pity those who complain when others r racing past and speeding ahead of them. They only know how to stop, whine, then go back home b4 finishing the race.
U mean P1 ?
I foresee, on YTD figures, a downward trend in 1H2018 and an upward trend in the 2H2018. Overall in 2018 the figures will be relatively lower compared to 2017.
I really confirm Proton boyue can boost 20,000 unit permonth for Proton.. mark my words..