2018 Peugeot 5008 launched in Malaysia – RM174k

Local Peugeot distributor Nasim has introduced the second-gen Peugeot 5008 in Malaysia, the seven-seater C-segment SUV making its official debut today following a public preview earlier this month.

As mentioned in our preview report, the 5008 – which measures in at 4,641 mm long, 1,844 mm wide and 1,640 mm tall – arrives here in a single Allure THP variant form, powered by a 1.6 litre THP 165 turbocharged petrol engine with S&S automatic stop/start continues, with 165 hp at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm of torque at 1,400 rpm in the way of output.

The mill is paired with an Aisin six-speed automatic transmission, driving the front wheels. Performance figures for the 5008 include a 0-100 km/h time of 9.2 seconds and a 206 km/h top speed. The MY-spec 5008 sits on 18-inch Los Angeles shiny Haria Grey alloy wheels and 225/55 profile tyres.

There’s Advanced Grip Control, which uses the chassis electronics to manage the available grip according to the road surface. Five drive modes are available, in this case Mud, Snow, Sand, ESP Off and Standard, accessible via a rotary dial located next to the hill descent control button.

The 5008’s interior features a layout that was first seen on the second-gen Peugeot 3008, with a futuristic wraparound dashboard adopting Peugeot’s i-Cockpit layout.

Highlights include a 12.3-inch digital instrument display above a small, flat-top/bottom steering wheel as well as an eight-inch centre touchscreen for the infotainment system, which comes with MirrorLink, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity and Arkamys 3D sound staging.

Standard equipment includes full LED headlights, LED fog lights, ‘Claudio’ black leather upholstery, fabric dash/door trim, dual-zone climate control, keyless entry, push-button start, an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat with memory, auto lights and wipers, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, second-row air-con vents, cooled armrest storage and a 180-degree reverse camera. Also on are cruise control and a powered tailgate.

The 5008 is equipped with three individual second-row seats, and the 40:20:40 split-fold units can slide forward/backwards and are reclinable (five different angles). A one-touch tilt-and-slide function provides access to the 50:50-split third row that also fold flat and can even be removed.

Boot space is marginal with all seven seats deployed, but with the third-row seats folded it is 702 litres. With the second row also folded, it becomes 1,862 litres, increased even further to 1,940 litres with the removal of the third-row seats.

Safety-wise, the 5008 comes equipped with six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), ESP, hill assist descent control (HADC), hill start assist, lane departure warning, traffic sign recognition, tyre pressure monitoring, driver attention alert and front/rear parking sensors.

The fully-imported (CBU) Peugeot 5008 is available in four exterior colours, these being Emerald Green, Amazonite Grey, Nera Black and Pearl White. It’s priced at RM173,888 (on-the-road, without insurance), and comes with a five-year/120,000 km warranty as well as three years’ free 24-hour Peugeot Assistance.

Check out the complete specifications of the new Peugeot 5008 at CarBase.my.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Harry on Apr 25, 2018 at 4:25 pm

(Like) KIA Sorento.
    (Dislike) Peugeot 5008

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 70
    • mujur p1 not merged with PSA,,otherwise we get this …! ooo waiii!

• stastasta on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:00 pm

sorento 2.2 diesel has a stronger engine and 4wd. this 5008 has nicer interior design. and to nitpick, 5008 front passenger seat is manual operated not electric.

• digidigi on Apr 25, 2018 at 5:04 pm

very problematic car, this segment is owned by cx5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 46
    • Banglaman on Apr 25, 2018 at 6:06 pm

CRV 1.5T @ 192HP. Fullstop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
      • Its undeniable that crv offers an amazing overall package but tht amount of power cant really be enjoyed in real life. the turbo and cvt are meant for saving the gas. Trust me even the 150 ps tiguan is more exciting to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
        • U r absolutely correct! Finally, read something from someone who really understand automobile compared to those who understand only numbers. Asal hp tinggi je, power… laju.. tu je tau.. pernah tau x truck scania bape hp?? Cuba suh truck standard tu race dgn myvi.. tgk sape telan asap.. lps tu, tgk sape nye hp lg tinggi dan besar nombornye.. oo waiii…

• Jgn kata “tu lori.. ni suv..” point utama kat sini, kuasa hp tu x semesti merujuk kepada kelajuan..

• superdriver on Apr 26, 2018 at 10:31 am

Dude try the car first. Take it for a spin, truly amazing engine even though its 165 hp only. Torque power is good. The power is there whenever you need it. The CRV takes time to deliver it. I tried it on the civic. Not impress at all This includes even Subarus latest XV and forester, the CX 5 is design was leading 5 years ago. Now boring… really it is, its not impressing anyone even with its maroon red paint. Its 2.5 liter engine produces less than 187 hp. About 20 more hp than 508 but the performance figure is nothing to shout about from the 5008(less than a 1 sec). For that you will be forking out more than RM 2k a year for road tax. The 1.6 is only RM90. Whether your buying a car or not or just a car enthusiast like many of us, just test drive the car. It will give you a better impression and feel of the machine across all other manufacturers and brands. It helps to make better choices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Banglaman on Apr 26, 2018 at 11:33 am

crv stupid lousy junk
        quality cannot even beat my Cx5
        turbo problem some more
        dangerous car
        just the piece of junk collected from scrapyard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • Banglaman on Apr 26, 2018 at 11:37 am

just go and drive your junk honda
        later turbo problem like the case in China don’t cry like baby or your kucing sudah mati
        i enjoy my 2018 Cx5 2.0 Gls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Lol cx5 is 5 seater this is 7 seater lar bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • Rimau on Apr 25, 2018 at 6:43 pm

Yea 7 seater ,want condemn also tak pandai no wonder always good RV only .kah kah

• Teropong on Apr 25, 2018 at 7:30 pm

7 seater Proton X7 SUV lagi best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
        • Ha ha.. tu le… tau condemn je.. mmg le skrg ckp cx5 tu terbaik.. tgg le hbs warranty nnt…. member aku dah nyesal da beli.. tp, kalau nk condem, blh je.. “apa? 2.0 xde turbo?? Xde auto boot? Spare part mahal?”.. tu blm campur ala2 leather interior yg merekah lg.. tgk le steering tu nnt.. oppssss… tercondem lak.. my bad..

• How do you know is problematic car? It is just launched. Simply said problematic. Not responsible at all!

• AlternatePersona on Apr 25, 2018 at 5:37 pm

Oddly enough no mention of cruise control, I can see it on the steering but does it come with adaptive cruise control? Not mentioned in brochure either.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Apr 25, 2018 at 5:45 pm

It has regular cruise control, not ACC.

• AlternatePersona on Apr 25, 2018 at 5:52 pm

That’s just sad when the 308 has it and the 3008/5008 family-oriented MPV omits it.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Apr 25, 2018 at 5:55 pm

The 308 isn’t exactly flying out of the showrooms, so…

• I think unless u do a lot of highway miles, ACC is superfluous… however it is unfortunate to not include Auto Emergency Braking System. This 5008 spec is perfect except for that.

• stastasta on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:00 pm

personally i find it disappointing that the 5008 front passenger seat is manual operated not electric.

• El nino on Apr 25, 2018 at 6:13 pm

(Like) kia grand carnival
    (Dislike) Peugeot 5008

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
  • Junkrat on Apr 25, 2018 at 6:27 pm

Will there be plans to CKD it like 3008…?

• Au revoir on Apr 25, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Used 5008 (1st gen) for about 3 years only, couldn’t take it, lots of problem. Not touching French car again no matter how beautiful or highly speced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Better have enough money for service interval especially major service.

• Seriously Peugeot… How long more would you intend on flogging the ancient prince 1.6 thp engine….. Don’t you have any other larger displacement force induction engine’s to replace this power plant.? And the transmission, when will you guys start offering 8speed auto transmission… The 6 speed unit is seriously getting long in the tooth…

• applegreen on Apr 25, 2018 at 11:24 pm

Now RM173,888. Early next year RM137,888

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 26, 2018 at 8:11 am

Not bad for a CBU TBH. Makes you wonder why the 3008 costs so much. The factor stopping me from getting a Pug is its after sales service. Naza is right to ask the principle to take over operations here in Malaysia and make Naza a dealer instead.

• i would rather buy the soon-to-be-launch borgward ^^

• Sparcov on Apr 26, 2018 at 10:08 am

Put alot effort on the design.

3008 and 5008, why looks the same?

Can’t Peugeot differentiate it like previous generation?

• stastasta on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:01 pm

the “same sausage, diffferent lengths” strategy is used by mercedes (C E S class ) and bmw (3 5 7 series). all similar exterior and interior design.

• Oh my God. So sick of comments from Vios & City boys here. I personally have 3 peugeots in my house namely 207cc, 308 and 408. In terms of driving experience and durability, they are definitely better than my uncle’s toyota camry. He always complaint that he spent most of his time in workshop. How about that??!! Boo to the haters! HAHA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • I wish I can say that about my Peugeot but sadly I can’t. My Peugeot is always givingme problems and the amount of money I have spent on repairs. And now my car is still in the sc for the past 6 months

• aishah diyana on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:00 pm

The 3008 had simply amazed me and im sure this 5008 is gonna be better! Its gonna be great for me and my family.tons of space.lots of features and simply beautiful.And the functions aint basic compared to the cx5 honda crv.Long were the days where the japanese brand is problem free.And peugeot has been great so far in their customer service and after sales.I dont have any worries so far.

• Boring Spec on Sep 04, 2018 at 8:06 pm

Only available with Allure spec and no GT or GT line spec which offers the real nice features. Without them sorry no deal.

• Jibaiman on Sep 26, 2018 at 3:03 pm

No 4wd option. Really disappointed.