Toll collection ends at KL-Seremban and Salak expressways – Sg Besi toll now 80 sen cheaper

Starting today, toll collection will end at the Sungai Besi toll plaza for the Kuala Lumpur-Seremban Expressway and Salak Expressway (E37). This is according to a statement released by the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM).

With the ending of the concession period for the aforementioned stretches of highways, there will be no more toll payments required when entering and exiting at the Sungai Besi toll plaza, depending on the vehicles class (Class 0 – free, Class 1 – RM0.80, Class 2 – RM1.20, Class 3 – RM1.70, Class 4 – RM0.40, Class 5 – RM0.60). However, exiting at any other toll plaza along the aforementioned highways will still require you to pay the normal journey rates.

The E37 is a particular stretch of road not managed by PLUS Malaysia, but rather by ANIH (formerly known as Metramac). Therefore, the toll rate paid at the Sungai Besi toll plaza includes its own toll charges to cover the Kuala Lumpur–Seremban Expressway (now been removed), as well as the rate for using the PLUS highway. The E37 starts near Jalan Istana in Kuala Lumpur and ends near the Sungai Besi toll plaza at the North-South Expressway.

“Users who pass through the Sungai Besi toll plaza will only need to pay the toll charges within the North-South Expressway (PLUS) alignment that they are traveling through,” read the statement. LLM stated this move will benefit nearly 130,000 motorists using the toll plaza daily.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 01, 2018 at 10:12 am

Mana toll abolish janji tu? Dah 3 minggu menunggu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 96
    • Hamdan Dolah on Jun 01, 2018 at 11:42 am

60 tahun kami tunggu. You tada bising, sekarang mau bising kah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 11
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 01, 2018 at 12:15 pm

Jambatan Penang masih ada. Manada toll abolish ni!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
        • BN hanya janji untuk pengguna motosikal tau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Tapi DAP kata mau toll lagi, juga mau toll terowong dia tau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
          • Cukurr la ckit john… dah kasi Free, lagi bash kaw kaw. Ish ish

• bukang mau bising on Jun 01, 2018 at 1:38 pm

Bukan mau bising. Sebab kerajaan baru ada janji,bila dia menang, esok hari toll terus hapus serta merta. jadi sekarang kita tunggulah. Jangan jangan janji kosong aje.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • bodoh on Jun 01, 2018 at 3:56 pm

Kesian.. 60 tahun menunggu, kau menunggu apa? Yg peliknye, zaman PM ke-4 je baru start ada toll yang berlambak2 ni. Tu pun belum capai 40 tahun..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Rahman Putra on Jun 01, 2018 at 10:16 am

Amboiiiiii bagus betul kerajaan Pakatan ni. Jimat banyak.

Bagus betul tak ada kerajaan korup lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 32
    • spock1976 (Member) on Jun 01, 2018 at 11:01 am

This has nothing to do with pakatan or the former bn govt. So happened that the concession for this stretch was never extended.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
      • rchoo on Jun 01, 2018 at 1:58 pm

spock under previous BN government, which toll was not extended in the 30 plus years?

When PH takes over, you are seeing it immediately. Obviously you’re BN lap dog, stop barking will you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
        • Batu Tiga toll, Sg Rasau toll, Bukit Kayu Hitam toll, EDL toll, half of Cheras-Kajang Hiway toll, Salak Jaya exit toll at Besraya hiway, East-West Expressway toll. All not extended by abolished, curiously during a certain 6th PM reign.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
        • Syamz on Jun 01, 2018 at 7:42 pm

The decision was made LOOOOOOOONG before the election.
          PH just swooped in and claim credit/glory

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Chris on Jun 01, 2018 at 11:01 am

I am not a frequent tol road user. Maybe maximum twice a year I may use the tol roads.

I found the card was forced onto the road user before. Collecting advance payment before we use the road.What happens to our credit in the tounch n go card? Is it refundable.

Don’t tell me to use it for parking. There is service charge onto the card and its deducted upon exit. I always pay cash for car park.

What am I to do with my credit?

Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Fadzlan on Jun 01, 2018 at 11:10 am

you can actually get refund for the value stored in the card. i once tried it when i went to touch n go hub in kl sentral. not sure about other places though.

• U can use the balance at 7-11 to buy grocery. May ask if they still accept.

• Terence on Jun 01, 2018 at 11:42 am

Use LRT or MRT more often? Lol

U can return the card to TNG office to cancel it and claim back if not mistaken

• Just donate it to Tabung Harapan

• najibest on Jun 01, 2018 at 11:51 am

I was scratching my head at first trying to figure out which highway exactly was this….

After some research it turns out to be the current stretch from Jalan Istana to the Sungai Besi toll plaza, which doesn’t have any toll gate but apparently toll are collected for it if you use the Sungai Besi toll plaza…

Apparently it was a relic of the past prior to PLUS taking over the North South Expressway. The Kuala Lumpur Seremban Expressway used to run from Jalan Istana to Seremban. Then PLUS took over from Sungai Besi to Seremban leaving the rest with the previous concessionaire which is the concession ending today…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Chris on Jun 01, 2018 at 1:24 pm

To all who advised, thank you so much for your kind assistance.

Didn’t know the card could be used a 7-11.

Thank you.

• Bernard on Jun 01, 2018 at 1:56 pm

First its states no need to pay but then on reading further still need to pay but less. Confusing….

• siew wai on Jun 01, 2018 at 2:32 pm

When you pass through the Sg. Besi toll plaza, there is one charge of 80 sen which is not part of toll collection for NSE (under Plus). For eg, if you enter from Sg. Besi toll plaza and exit Bangi toll plaza, the toll charges deducted is RM2.70. So with the abolition of the collection for E37, the toll payment should be RM1.90 now for NSE between Sg. Besi and Bangi

• najibest on Jun 01, 2018 at 3:47 pm

yup, in turns out that the stretch between Jalan Istana/Old Sungei Besi Airport to Sungai Besi toll (start of PLUS NSE) is own by Metramac/Anih all these while as part of the original KL-Seremban Expressway.

since there is no toll booth along that stretch, the toll of 80 sen is instead collected by PLUS should you enter NSE through the Sungai Besi toll plaza

• Sick and tired of the focking toll
    Keep the promise and remove all.
    Dont let the opposition make fun of your promise

• awg1031 on Jun 01, 2018 at 4:29 pm

ceh, thought it was the anticipated plus main line but just some minor highway line

• Bila la toll nk abolish nie… Lanjiaooooo

• Sunflower on Jun 02, 2018 at 6:54 am

Be patient malaysian people. Think about over debt first, how to find solution.

• Part of their manifesto, so they should do it. whole told them to put it as part of their promises earlier. Should have put removing bijaN and the gang as their only manifesto earlier.