JPJ orders the public to update their mailing address

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has ordered the public – specifically vehicle owners and driving license holders – to update their mailing address with the department in a statement issued yesterday.

The order is based on sub-section 58A (1) Road Transport Act 1987. The sub-section requires every vehicle owner or license holder that changes address to inform the department within two months of the change. Failure to do so, or giving an incomplete or wrong address, is an offence.

The public can update their address at any state JPJ office, branches and UTC locations nationwide for free. Those who have mySIKAP IDs can do so online without having to be present at a JPJ office. JPJ is encouraging the public to apply for mySIKAP IDs to make dealings with the department easier.

This reminder comes after new transport minister Anthony Loke initiated an integrated approach for the Takata airbag inflator recall, which will see the affected carmakers team up with the government to boost response. Earlier this week, Loke announced that JPJ will send out reminders to affected car owners to replace their airbag inflators. Two reminders will be sent out, and should the owner not respond, a summons will be issued. For this to work, addresses must be current.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Now they have realised the follies and impossibility of their previous actions, so they ORDER the public to update mailing address. So if the public cant do it, what they gonna do? Saman one more time?

Why not Loki gips diskaun to those who keeps updated instead? Rewards works better than punishment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 29
    • lolkat on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:43 pm

Gip us Free 1year roadtax. Lols.

• Tajuddin Ohwai on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:12 pm

Amazing how the clean new Government is making so much of progress and thinking about our safety.

I am so glad I voted a clean Government in. In just 3 weeks, so much of improvement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Banana on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:45 pm

And what did the previous administration do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • YB Albert on Jun 07, 2018 at 3:22 pm

Paultan
        Can u forward my comments to the new Transport minister YB Anthony?
        1.What action has been taken on existing same JPJ officers after the 6th Takata victim died?They just lepaking around,collect gaji?
        2.How much of enforcement fines collected from operations against commercial vehicles for overloading n speeding offenses? Everyday,the rakyat still see “camel loads” of sand,quarry materials on lorries.
        3.The uncultured conditions at JPJ offices,where officers are rude and poor airconditioning.
        4.Puspakom centres.like driving schools.”kaotim culture” still exist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • kunta dupes on Jun 08, 2018 at 5:34 am

Hi kunta, why you dun you email it yourself? With your true name of course

• Lolz! Gud one bro!

• YB Albert on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:27 am

Easier,paultan carries some weight.Who r we?Birkin handbags (imitation)traders or chocolate salesmen? Nanti Imelda marah.

• Carries weight? Isnt this gov SUPPOSED to be fair to all, and SUPPOSED to be listening to the rakyat no matter what creed? Isnt patronage SUPPOSED to be a thing of the past or we r going Back To The Future?

• Chandra on Jun 07, 2018 at 3:53 pm

How about thinking things thoroughly before making a decision? Why does that seems to be a hard thing to do for this current Gomen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • Their brains got eaten by zombies, so thinking is a hard task for them.

• Menteri-designate on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:29 pm

RTD, SPR & JPN patut sync & update address.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Mikey on Jun 07, 2018 at 2:10 pm

If RTD, SPR & JPN is in sync, habis la kita. Sebab tak boleh lari dari Kesalahan lagi.

• Ahmadjr on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:31 pm

Nanti saman sampai rumah woi

• Lord Suave on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:45 pm

this i blame JPJ, previously when i got a new car, i entered my new address in form but when i receive the geran, it still reflected my old address!!!

asked JPJ and they said the address will still follow the one in system and the new one doesnt override unless i included another ‘pertukaran alamat’ form… needless to say, i just walked out not bothering to make the change

• IGP mom on Jun 07, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Right. I have updated to my correspondent address with my previous license, but when I renew at post office, it reads my IC which is my hometown address and it revert back to it.

• Susukotak on Jun 08, 2018 at 5:46 am

the officer himself not aware of the sub section 58a. 2 month is too much. queensland aus give 2 weeks to do so.

• SO what you going to do if i dont ah? dont simple order ppl around ok. let see how to get all to update..and how you know its a bloody real address ah? Menteri should order car manufacturers to put the blooody temp gauge 1st ok .. not this stuipid orders..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jun 07, 2018 at 1:42 pm

Suspect people will not bother to update. Since you know the only thing you will get from JPJ is saman. Having said that, why not JPJ check address through Banks or BNM? Those could be more accurate, as it is tied to your finances.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • As I said, they shud have checked with car insurance companies customer database, then mail the reminder to them. Another method is, instead of gip saman they can get all the Pos & JPJ offices to ready flyer and gip it to the relevant car owners instead of saman. If they know their in danger, who dun wanna replace it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Leong CW on Jun 07, 2018 at 3:29 pm

At this age and era, you still ask people to walk into JPJ office just to update their address? Can’t you provide an online platform to perform this update?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • I just renewed my driver’s license for 5 years and because the incompetent staff didn’t bother to follow my newly updated address on my IC, now I have an old address for my license card. When asked for change, she said to come back after 5 years. How now?

• Ben Yap on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:47 am

when JPJ order people to update, no one is going to do so.

they need to be more polite to request people for update with a “please” behind.

• Jamie on Jun 08, 2018 at 4:10 pm

I went straight to JPJ (PJ branch) to obtain the ref no. so that I can get the MySikap account set up.

This is to update my profile (current residence).

So I tried changing my address. The system’s so ridiculous, I can’t make the necessary changes:

1) I have to input my current password to get to the password change/information change fields.
    2) Then, they sent a TAC which expires in 5 minutes.
    3) Only then am I allowed to change tab to “Information Change” (my purpose wasn’t password change but info change). Upon filling all necessary fields, I have to input same TAC (field is required and no new TAC generated/sent to email).
    4) I get this: “Password reset failed”.

Maybe I’m not doing something right. But it’s definitely not user-friendly, at least not when it comes to changing information.

Maybe someone has tried it and it worked?

• It shows how up-to-date or outdated the mindsets of the transport ministry and minister are. Changing to a new government does not help.

In this age, is a snail mail address important? There are cameras around. You know where each vehicle goes. There are cellular devices around. You know who the owners are. And you know how to contact them, pretty easily. But you choose to ask everyone to keep their address updated, so that you can reach them? Obviously the people in charge lack industrial experience.

• They were in the bashing industry, being expert armchairs at everything. Now that they have to step onto the plate, they dunno what to do.

• stastasta on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:13 pm

its easy to bash and complain from your position. but if the ministry were to ignore snail mail, then they would get lots of complaints from senior citizens who dont know how to use online/email. if MoT link up with cameras, insurance etc, then you would complain this contravenes privacy laws and PDPA .

• Noraishah Binti Abd Rashid on Feb 12, 2023 at 10:51 pm

I want change my new email address