Last year, the United Kingdom announced plans to ban the sales of petrol and diesel powered vehicles by 2040, but there is now a push to accelerate the initiative. According to Reuters, London mayor Sadiq Khan and other city leaders want the government to implement the ban by 2030 instead.
“Banning the sale of new petrol and diesel vehicles by 2030, providing support to deliver Clean Air Zones in cities and introducing a national vehicle renewal scheme will dramatically improve our air quality and our health,” said Khan.
For now, exact details about the ban have yet to be revealed, but the government is expected to provide more information about its “Road to Zero” plan soon. This includes the extent of the ban and whether it involves hybrid vehicles, which have both an electric and combustion engine.
Britain is one of many countries that are in support of such a move, with many others already pledging to stop selling fossil fuel powered vehicles, particularly diesel ones. Some automakers have even dropped or stopped development of diesel engines in response.
It is time for Malaysia too. It should be easier to implement in small country like Malaysia or start with big cities like JB, KL and Penang. Only EV in cities… Maybe the new car company that Tun M want can venture in this segment
I think we only do in 2060 or 2070. Look lah our National car company, hybrid pun tarak ada. Don’t even talk about EV
They are still sleeping….oh wai
Obviously u dunno how to read. (https://paultan.org/2018/06/19/proton-vendors-must-supply-parts-for-electrified-cars/) Ahh, unless u referring to dinosar P2.
Meh, not gonna happened, you think those giant oil companies will just sit down and look only?
They say want ban petrol and diesel engines only. Never mention about natural gas. So oil companies can still sell NGV
you really dont know anything about oil n gas industry are’nt you? there are a lot more products n diversification can be done at the downstrean of industry, furthermore demand of powerplant that relies on O&G will also be surging with EV cars implementation
Meanwhile New MY will go for P1 2.0 project. Pfft!
These UK mayors, and French leaders and Holland leaders have no clue when compared to the brilliance of Bapak.
Still sore loser. Still attacking PH. Dah lah kalah teruk teruk, now bitter in life.
R u a fool? Dunno how to read kah? Where in my comment attacking PH? Balik sekolah belajar baca betul-betul lah!
Now the rich drive electric car. Average Joe’s drive ICE. Soon everyone drives electric car. Only the rich will have ICE.
By the way, is electric car really cleaner than ICE? It’s not just about burning fuel and measuring CO2 output from the car. What about electricity production? Battery production? Is it REALLY cleaner?
The energy to produce electricity to recharge 1000 EV cars are a lot less than 1000 cars with ICE. Even worse is the carbon footprint.
Electricity can also be produced using solar, wind or hydro.
Is it bcos of Brexit that UK is banning petrol & diesel vehicles bcos most cars are from their neighboring countries like Italy, France & Germany?? Just saying/asking
if UK ban ICE vehicles, they will need to be replace by electric cars. which country produces the most electric cars ?