2018 Mazda CX-3 facelift previewed in Malaysia – RM121,134 est, higher specs with blind spot monitor

The 2018 Mazda CX-3 facelift has arrived in Malaysia, where it is currently being previewed at the Oval Concourse of the 1 Utama Shopping Centre from today until July 1. As mentioned previously, the B-segment crossover has an estimated price of RM121,134 on-the-road without insurance, and bookings are now open.

Exterior revisions on the facelifted CX-3 include a new grille that features double chrome slats, additional chrome accents, darkened fog lamp surrounds, CX-5-inspired taillights and redesigned 18-inch alloy wheels (with 215/50 profile tyres).

Moving inside, the big change is the addition of an electronic parking brake (with auto brake hold) that replaces the previous manually-operated one. As a result, the centre console has been redesigned to accommodate the new gear lever base, repositioned Sport mode selector and MZD Connect controls, with the last item appearing almost identical to what you’ll find in the CX-5.

You also get an armrest that covers a storage area beneath it, plus there’s also a new centre armrest in the rear with built-in, deployable cupholders. The dashboard also gets a few revisions – slimmer air-con vents, shorter chrome bar and suede-like trim. Meanwhile, thicker door panels, tailgate glass and headliner as well as upgraded door seals help improve the vehicle’s NVH.

In terms of equipment, you’ll still get LEDs for the automatic headlamps, front fog lights and taillights, keyless entry and start, 10-way power-adjustable driver’s seat with two-position memory function, automatic wipers, single-zone automatic air-conditioning, a coloured heads-up display, paddle shifters, cruise control, MZD Connect infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen, six speakers, reverse camera and auto-dimming rear view mirror.

Another thing to note is the removal of the powered sunroof but this comes at a gain in the safety department as Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Rear Cross Traffic Alert have been added. Both systems join existing ones such as ABS with EBD and brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), six airbags and ISOFIX rear child seat anchors.

Under the bonnet is a revised 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine, which is paired to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. The mill has been refined to deliver torque across a wider rev range and better efficiency, although it still churns out 151 hp at 6,000 rpm and 204 Nm of torque at 2,800 rpm. Mazda’s G-Vectoring Control (GVC) system, which was I ntroduced last year, remains in place.

As mentioned at the start, the new CX-3 is tentatively priced at RM121,134 but that is before any options are added, of which there are two: a navigation system (RM1,198.11) and safety tint (RM1,792.45). It is still a fully-imported (CBU) model and each purchase includes a five-year/100,000 km warranty and three-year/60,000 km free maintenance package.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bobby on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:09 pm

X3 , X5 , Q3, Q5 and GLC KILLER COMING ,,,,!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Jimmy on Jun 27, 2018 at 1:04 pm

There are so much inequalities.

If Annuar does not become president before the end of four years, pakatan will lose their putra office.
      Today is 27 June 2018.

Friends, don’t give up friends, you still have chance if you are good.

Mark my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
      • Just let Najib back be PM lah. There will be no more inequalities. MY will get its 30% price reduction in car prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
        • Jagdeep on Jun 27, 2018 at 7:02 pm

Me also voted for Najib.
          Why he took so long to come back??

• Volvo sold 24 units in May on Jun 28, 2018 at 10:12 am

Volvo already killed by CX3? Why not in the list

• polla on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:47 pm

so, I-stop is still there…thank you, I’m not interested

• Mikey on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:12 pm

Lets assume U take a 9 years loan of RM100k, U have to continue paying RM1,150 +- for 108 installments.

How many can afford??! Those who can afford RM100k loan will buy a Bigger/Better car.

At RM120k plus, it’s targeted for Yuppies who have taste & $$$ & possibly still staying with their parents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • JDM Guy on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:14 pm

Good job Bermaz, for a CBU unit for 120k, with a 2.0L and all the safety features. This is how it’s done right. UMW Toyota CH-R!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Full japan CBU 121k only?!! Dafuq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • SpongeWai on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:21 pm

This should not be called a HIGH spec because it has no iActive Sense

In Japan, they selling a high spec which including iActive Sense

Here in Malaysia, we should called it a mid-Spec CX-3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • thefact on Jun 27, 2018 at 5:17 pm

did Bermaz say its Mazda CX-3 High Spec??
      Article says higher specs. which is true compared to the previous model.

Higher spec and high spec is 2 different thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:24 pm

Added kit is always a welcome but this isn’t a family SUV. The smallish interior space is a concern for families.

• 9yrsold on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:27 pm

My dream ride^^ must start saving money now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • 7yrslld on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:14 pm

By the time you can drive legally, this cheapo turns to useless junk

• Osaka Boyle on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:33 pm

Wait for XC40 which is way better and more Premium .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Too small, even CX5 rear interior is alredi claustrophobic. The only thing going for this is CBU. Which is only RM 11k more than HRV CKD. Not so bad price considering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • wahahaha on Jun 27, 2018 at 2:31 pm

CX5’s rear interior small??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Compared to CRV, yes.

• wahahaha on Jun 27, 2018 at 6:10 pm

How claustrophobic is claustrophobic for the CX5?

It is like saying China is DAMN small……………….compared to Russia.

• wahahaha on Jun 27, 2018 at 6:13 pm

You have to seat at the rear seat of the CHR to feel claustrophobic. Total pitch black interior plus tiny passenger window.

• Compared to exora, biggg yes

• Why yes, exora interior is bigger than both, being able to sit 7. But why compare MPV and SUVs?

• wahahaha on Jun 28, 2018 at 8:35 am

The point is, is the CX5’s room space crampy?

You said yes, COMPARED to CRV.

Its like saying China is small and crampy, compared to Russia.

• Headroom, shoulder room, frontal view, thru side mirror views.

• Come on la, CX-3 is targeted to customer who enjoy the driving pleasure. If you think about the interior space, sorry you are not on the list

• Overprice Crap !!

Better wait for Proton Bayou which is bigger ,cheaper , more powerful and better value for money ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
    • Mark Cheng on Jun 27, 2018 at 1:37 pm

Hope you won’t cry for your Bayou one day… Good luck mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Elaine on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:56 pm

Post CX3 cannot sell well in European countries and only limited number can be seen on Malaysia Road too.

If Buy this CX3 will certainly REGRET it later on.

Just too Small and Crappy to consider

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Helen Loo on Jun 27, 2018 at 4:08 pm

CX3 itsef sells more than all volvo models combined on the road bang

• Then why i see more XC90 Thors Hammer on the roads compared to CX3?

• yawnz on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:19 pm

Because it is cheaper

• Martin loo on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:08 pm

Really !
        hardly see much CX3 around compare to xc90 and Xc60

you are comparing with different class.

Volvo is upmarket same like Mercedes and BMW.

CX3 is lower end market and if really selling more DOES NOT TRANSLATE it is a good car at all compare to higher end Volvo.

You make me laugh … ha,ha ha till .stomach ache now.

LOL

• Ming ming on Jun 28, 2018 at 10:14 am

You see all chinese car at the showroom ah?

• Martin loo on Jun 28, 2018 at 10:52 am

I went to see Milo tin japanese cars at showrooms and Indian car ( jaguar and land/range Rover ) showrooms too.

Even Chinese having shares in Mercedes showrooms too.

• Reggie on Jun 27, 2018 at 1:02 pm

OMG such a small crossover for the asking price .

Ridiculous average CX , just not worth it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Bernard on Jun 27, 2018 at 1:04 pm

Mazda cars are unreasonably priced.
    Should reduce prices by 50%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
    • If u cant afford it just say u cant afford it. Dun say it’s over priced. For 121k is really worth every penny paid for the car compared to Toyota’s CH-R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Pakulupapito on Jun 27, 2018 at 1:44 pm

I think there are typos in your spelling. It should be spelled T-O-Y-O-T-A

• Henry on Jun 27, 2018 at 1:54 pm

Can, when a new MyVi 1.5 starts selling at 25K.

• Vin Poh on Jun 27, 2018 at 2:26 pm

TOYOTA cars are unreasonably priced.
      Should reduce prices by 50%.

• bieight on Jun 27, 2018 at 2:04 pm

aiyo, why no 1.8 diesel??!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 27, 2018 at 2:19 pm

pre facelift so much nicer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • kenot on Jun 27, 2018 at 6:23 pm

the main disadvantage of CX3 is it size…other than that, it is damn good sexy looking crossover.

• When will this CX3 be delivered, anyone? CX3 or CX5? Decisions….

• no thanks on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:23 pm

It is crampy, safety not advanced, expensive price, minyak like lembu minum air. No point to buy at all.

• habislah toyota ch-r…rm140k from thailand…
    those who bought the ch-r is kicking themselves now :(

• If this car is too small for you, get a CX5. If it is still too small, get a CX9. If it is still too small / you can’t afford any of those Mazda (most likely could never afford any Euro cars as well), get a Toyota Hiace. Can fit your wife, children, grand children, parents, aunty, uncle and a few relatives and probably can fit 2 more GRAB passengers.

• bread vendor on Jun 28, 2018 at 8:50 am

Hiace is bread van, avoid at all cost

• Saw many Hiace travel faster than CX3 (not nany around) on the highway from Seremban to Malacca.

Seems that Hiace is more powerful and can easily over take any CX3 quite effortlessly.

Now we began to raise a question that we should avoid buying the less powerful and junky CX3 at all cost before regretting later on

• CX3 looks junky on Jun 28, 2018 at 12:48 am

The interior of the CX3 looks rather CHEAP and unattractive for the asking price of RM120K .

Just not justifiable at all.

CRAPPY interior design overall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • You are either blind, no taste or just a boring person.
      You should the look and compare this beautiful interior to the hideous and extremely CHEAPSKATE interior of the Honda HR-V. Its the benchmark of pile of F******* garbage vehicle from Japan.
      The CX-3 is the total opposite of the Hideous HR-V. Go and test drive, compare build quality and deisgn properly b4 commenting bro. Dun angry ya. I am Malaysian just like you.

• Willie on Jun 28, 2018 at 1:17 am

One of the big drawback for me is not the pricing. It is the specs that Bermaz brought in. I’m devastated when I found out that there is no MRCC for Malaysian Specs, which has been the selling point for CX-3. And a CBU without tilted sunroof is a joke. I really don’t understand what is in the mind of the lame Bermaz Director. Why Malaysians always has to be treated so lowly? Shame on your Zoom-zoom. Wishing your sales to nosedip into the valley.

• Just my unpopular opinion.
    If you are looking for design, pick CX3. 120k
    If you are looking for popularity, pick HRV. 98k
    If you are looking for performance, pick ASX. 110k

• Is AWD, Fwd or RWD? Typical bad review of Malaysian reviewers, always talk cosmetic stuff not the real stuff that matters