Mazda CX-3 facelift preview at 1 Utama tomorrow – open for booking, higher specs, RM121k estimated

That was quick. Earlier today, we brought you news of the facelifted Mazda CX-3 being teased by dealers, and now local distributor Bermaz has made it official, complete with an announcement that the updated B-segment crossover is open for booking. The car will be previewed at the Oval Concourse of 1 Utama Shopping Centre from tomorrow, June 27, and will be on display until Sunday, July 1.

The company has also revealed full specifications and “official” estimated pricing, which is listed as RM121,134 on-the-road without insurance, making the new model slightly cheaper than its predecessor. It should be noted, however, that the figure does not include the 10% sales and services tax (SST), which will come into effect on September 1.

Revealed in New York earlier this year, the facelifted CX-3 is set apart on the outside by double chrome slats in the grille, chrome exterior accents, new CX-5-inspired tail lights, redesigned 18-inch alloy wheels, gloss black window frame and fog light surrounds and a new Soul Red Crystal paint option from the CX-5.

Inside, you’ll find a mildly revised dashboard design with suede-like trim, an electronic parking brake (with auto brake hold), a padded armrest and wider, more supportive front seats. A new centre armrest with built-in cupholders has also been fitted, while thicker door panels, tailgate glass and headliner as well as upgraded door seals make for a quieter, more refined cabin.

Standard equipment remains mostly identical and includes LED headlights, front fog lights and tail lights, rear fog lights, keyless entry, push-button start, a 10-way power-adjustable driver’s seat with memory, auto lights and wipers, single-zone auto air-con, a colour head-up display, paddle shifters, cruise control, an MZD Connect infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen, six speakers and a reverse camera. However, the outgoing model’s tilt-and-slide sunroof has been deleted from the kit list.

In terms of safety, the CX-3 now gets Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Rear Cross Traffic Alert, but the rest of the i-ActivSense suite of driver assists like Smart City Braking Support (SCBS) is nowhere to be found. Items like six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) and ISOFIX rear child seat anchors continue to be offered.

Power comes from a revised 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine, retuned to increase torque across the entire rev range, improve fuel efficiency and reduce internal friction. This enables the engine to respond much quicker to the driver’s intentions while at the same time improving refinement. Output figures remain unchanged at 151 hp at 6,000 rpm and 204 Nm of torque at 2,800 rpm.

The usual six-speed automatic will be retained, along with the G-Vectoring Control (GVC) system introduced last year, which tweaks engine timing to control the car’s dynamic behaviour. Under the skin, the suspension and steering have been retuned to optimize dampening characteristics and enhance responsiveness, while new tyres better absorb shocks from road surfaces and reduce braking distances.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Lim Eu Bian on Jun 26, 2018 at 7:06 pm

almostthere

• Lokman Saad on Jun 26, 2018 at 7:19 pm

Such bodoh pricing. The price is so close to the better and bigger CX5. Might as well buy the bigger and better car.

I guess the guys in Bermaz aren’t that clever.

This is why we need more intelligent people from Mainland to come to Malaysia and run things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 57
      • Jack Maverick on Jun 26, 2018 at 8:21 pm

Kawan, if you don’t like, go for the HRV la.

I don’t like that they removed the moonroof, its one of the favorite parts of the car. They also got rid of the red interior accents, now all black. The rims look worse too, IMO. :(

I’m not so sure about the ‘revised engine and suspension’, seems like marketing gibberish.

The bigger seats and cleaner center stack is a much welcomed change though. But c’mon Bermaz, kasi la the city braking and moonroof.. apa la ni.. :D

• Pls lah. P1 Boyue is a much better car. Nobody wants to buy a jepunis if its more expensive than a similar spec Proton.

• Hassan Hashim on Jun 26, 2018 at 8:38 pm

Do you why you see just one or two CX3 on the road and thousands of CX5 on the road?

Well, this is your answer. Pricing that tak masuk akal

• Aiyooo..cx-3 is CBU unit from Japan.cx-5 is CKD..we need more n more intelligent people..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • Cx-3 is CBU.CX-5 is CKD.please do ur homework

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Spin Too Much on Jun 26, 2018 at 9:52 pm

I agree. Especially when we have an FM who can’t seem to count past 10. Any mainlander would have made a better FM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
      • Nancy Badawi on Jun 26, 2018 at 10:20 pm

Nice premium car. Bye bye Volvo and Kimchi SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
        • Those considering Volvo SUVs wun even sniff this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • tokomoh on Jun 27, 2018 at 1:56 pm

Deswai Volvo sales plumetted 78%. MY pipu wun even sniff Volvo

• Epic fail at reading then went straight for the bash, but kena kantoi by other reads. Basher oh basher.

• Awang Selamat on Jun 26, 2018 at 11:19 pm

CX-5 mid spec is RM126k
        Nissan X Trail is RM120k
        Subaru Forester RM116k

Boyue expected to be RM100k

Good luck Boyue. You will need all the luck in town

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
        • Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:14 am

Expected? Still scraping fake news from your cave wall?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • WALAO EH SOHAI KA.. boyue full spec 100k, why compare mid spec others? sohai ka? compare full spec to full spec pls. don be a sohai

• wahahaha on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:08 am

Cbu JAPAN. at least it undercuts Cbu Thai CH-R by rm16k.

Better spec than Honda Hrv as well.

What is the price you are looking at?

• Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:15 am

He was expecting Rm50k like what he keeps repeating.

• Yeah, you are the ‘clever’ one because comparing a CBU high-spec CX3 to the CKD low-spec CX5 GL.

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:23 am

Mazda CX5 is far far far better value than CRV or X Trail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:17 am

Your dupe got kantoi’ed for not knowing the difference between CBU & CKD. Muahahahaha!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Check the facts before you simply blast la. Otherwise you yourself will look bodoh. You compare a very highly spec CX-3 CBU with a low spec CX-5 CKD of course the price differential is not much la. If you think CX-3 price too high compare to CX-5 then buy a CX-5 by all means. No one stopping you. Can I say those who bought a BMW 6 series at 700k stupid because its more expensive than a 7 series?

• almostthere on Jun 26, 2018 at 7:07 pm

Just want to know if the new batch’s MZD already come equipped with the Android Auto and Apple CarPlay integration?

• Jack Maverick on Jun 26, 2018 at 8:13 pm

Nope. Not officially anyway.

• No, it does not come with AA or CarPlay. Mazda kinda sucks with this aging infotainment system.

• almostthere on Jun 26, 2018 at 10:58 pm

Kind disappointed cos the announcement in NYIAS mentioned that the CX3 was the first to be fitted

• Osaka Boyle on Jun 26, 2018 at 10:34 pm

CX3 is the “LONGKANG” CUV and feel not Premium at all compare to the likes of X Trail, 3008, Tiguan.

Shall sell at RM 45K to get higher sales than Almera , Vios , City , Jazz, HRV which of the same level.

All Continental makes easily free more premium and higher level than CX3 .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 34
      • wahahaha on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:12 am

You should compare cx-5 to xtrail, 3008 and tiguan not the cx-3.

• applegreen on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:20 am

You should compare X-trail, 3008, Tiguan versus CX-5, not CX-3

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:06 am

bmw 5 series also feel like longkang luxury car compared to bentley

• Nosushi on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:37 pm

We are not talking about Bentley here, owners dun even sniff this cx3 junk

• Are you sure on Jun 26, 2018 at 7:37 pm

Comparing a top-spec CX-3 with a low-spec CX-5? You are the one that is not so clever.

• Mazda_fans on Jun 26, 2018 at 8:21 pm

So disappointed without the MRCC function.

• Lalaland on Jun 26, 2018 at 8:53 pm

so finally comes with the centre console armrest?

• Sell cheaper a bit but without sunroof (I don’t need it anyway), cut the SCBS which is a good safety feature, this is too bad, and still no dual zone climate control and don’t even talk about MRCC (Mazda Radar Cruise Control) or stop and go. Malaysia market bila nak catch up?

• Advance Tech on Jun 26, 2018 at 11:05 pm

Bye Bye CX3 ,

I do not want this JUNK CX3 CUV anymore better get Korean, Swedish , French , Italian and German SUV

• Red Barron on Jun 26, 2018 at 11:10 pm

Better get this less premium CX3

Says Bye Bye to Q5,X3,GLC , A4, C200 !!

• hardly see cx3 on the road these days

• pengayuhbasikal on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:39 am

being a CBU mazda owner for 8 years…I am glad for having mazda in the house…after 8 years of driving thru our road in Malaysia…the interior still survive from having cricket sound…

• hyin21 on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:52 am

there are always comments on how large conglomerates should be pricing their products and how to do their business. well…I don’t see any of them going bankrupt

• Ben Yap on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:54 am

better buy CKD CX5.