RON 97 petrol price up eight sen this week – RM2.58

It looks like what goes down will eventually go back up, as motorists will have to fork out RM2.58 per litre for the fifth week of floated RON 97 pricing. That is eight sen more from last week’s RM2.50 per litre. The new price will take effect from midnight till July 11 when the next fuel price announcement is made.

As with the past few weeks following an announcement by the government, RON 95 petrol and diesel prices remain unchanged due to subsidies. Only RON 97 will follow market prices.

Officially, RON 95 continues to be priced at RM2.20 per litre and Euro 2M diesel at RM2.18 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel is priced at RM2.28 per litre at the pump.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 04, 2018 at 7:05 pm

Pump RON97 this time
    Pump RON95 next tank

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Wilson Ong on Jul 04, 2018 at 9:01 pm

I am glad that whatever money I spend on petrol, all the taxes goes to a clean Government that will use the money to build the nation and help the poor.

Unlike previously where all the tax money went to buying Birkin handbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
      • ThatGuy on Jul 10, 2018 at 11:01 pm

Look. I don’t want to burst your bubble, but one absolutely need to get this “this side is good and can do no wrong, that side is bad and can do no right” thinking. If anything, one would simply looks like a macai on different side of the field.

“Small pain for long gains” is not an excuse. One must remember that the new government isn’t perfect. None is perfect, if ever. So get your heads out of your honeymoon and actually hold the new government accountable for when they do eff things up. Let them do whatever the hell they want under the guise of “transparency” and you will get a BN 2.0.

(Hell, LGE playing up the 1T debt is already showing signs of opposition mentality carrying over. PH is not the opposition any more – their words actually brings consequences now, so be careful when you speak)

On side note: Good riddance for Kak Ros. Am disappointed with Jibby’s policy too much buddying up with PRC. Working with one of those PRC’s, they can go to hell with their bulls that delays projects.

• Kesian. Even civic tebo owners feeling the effects of New MY. Veli soon all can only buy petrol from water bottles except for cabinet members.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 24
      • Mikey on Jul 05, 2018 at 10:52 am

Yo john, U mean people who buy new Civic Turbo complaint to U when they pump Ron 97 ?!

• As a FC Turbo owner, I can say I prefer to pump RON 97. This was what my SA told me and whenever I service my car as well. The engine knocks like h*ll if I switchover to RON95.

• Richard on Jul 05, 2018 at 11:45 am

Rich pumps Ron 97. No problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • Fordist on Jul 05, 2018 at 12:04 pm

Older cars also need to pump RON97 for the cleansing agents that isn’t available for RON95. Stop being an entitled jerk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 05, 2018 at 1:23 pm

The past Gov also has floating price system for BOTH Ron 95 & Ron 97 and you said nothing about it. Now only Ron 97 price goes up and you people make noise about it.

Then continues to be a jerk and blame the Gov lah, if that makes you feel better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
          • Are you a doofus then? Or purposely forgetful? We didn’t demand for petrol to be set at RM1.50/Liter but that’s their promise to us, and promises must be fulfilled especially when you’re in power. We didn’t make noise then because the previous Gomen didn’t make that promise. PH did, so please stop continuing to suck our money, and honour that promise. It’s as simple as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 05, 2018 at 5:07 pm

Are you a doofus too, john? Or you purposely forget? We didn’t demand for 1 million affordable houses but the past Gov promise us and promises must be fulfilled when you’re in power. Also, where is the 30% reduction in car prices? Why have you not make noise since the previous Gov make that promise?

Your party sendiri can’t even fulfil its promises for years and you want others to fulfil its promise immediately? Fulfil all your promises baru come and point finger at others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
        • Why asking me? Ask the civic tebo owners lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
          • Mikey on Jul 05, 2018 at 5:12 pm

I ask U bcoz U are the actual one complaining ma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • noctural animals on Jul 04, 2018 at 10:59 pm

Petronas is much better than Caltex because Petronas performance have more power which suits the car better acceleration and better performance. Also the cost Petronas fuel saving is cheaper. Whereas Caltex performance is actually underpower which it doesnt help the car to improve accleration and performance while driving. Also the cost for Caltex fuel saving is very expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • noctural animals on Jul 05, 2018 at 8:00 am

Petronas is much better than Caltex because Petronas performance have more power which suits the car better acceleration and better performance. Also the cost Petronas fuel saving is cheaper. Whereas Caltex performance is actually underpower which it doesnt help the car to improve accleration and performance while driving. Also the cost for Caltex fuel saving is very expensive

• Smuggler on Jul 05, 2018 at 9:29 am

My profit margin getting bigger now ron95 stays the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • bringbackmanualcars on Jul 05, 2018 at 10:19 am

price still going up even with new gov. no surprise there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • The rich gets richer while the poor gets poorer. Soon electric rebates oso will end. Welcome to dystopia MY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 28
  • John Boe on Jul 05, 2018 at 10:59 am

What is about government promise to reduce petrol price in manifesto? All the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Manifesto Dicapati on Jul 05, 2018 at 11:24 am

Manifesto have been capati’ed. At this rate, it will take 108 weeks for it to reach their promised level. That’s 2 years and 1 month! Walaoweh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 28
  • Ben Yap on Jul 05, 2018 at 12:14 pm

even a civic 1.5 turbo pump RON95, it is enough to smoke many cars in its class that is pumping RON97.

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu III on Jul 05, 2018 at 8:33 pm

Syukur upon syukur…….RON97 petrol still the cheapest in the asean region…..

• But according to basher, we got highest petrol price in the world wor….