LRT3: Transport ministry says RM15 bil cost reduction will have no impact on performance and capability

It has been announced that the Light Rail Transit 3 (LRT3) project linking Bandar Utama to Klang will go ahead, but with development costs significantly reduced – the 37 km-long rail project will now be built at a cost of RM16.63 billion, a RM15 billion reduction from RM31.65 billion. The initial budget was RM10 billion, but project operator Prasarana released a statement last weekend saying that it was fully aware that the allocation was insufficient.

The cost reduction is being achieved via measures such as reducing the initial number of stations (five deferred, one cancelled) and streamlining their design as well as reducing the number of train sets – from 42 sets of six-car trains to 22 three-car sets – and postponing the completion date from 2020 to 2024.

The transport ministry, addressing issues raised on the changes made to accomodate the cost reduction, said that the revisions would not have an impact on the system’s ability to perform to expectations, and would translate to lower ticket prices for commuters, the Malay Mail reports.

It said the size of the stations and the capacity of the trains had been reduced and streamlined as Prasarana’s specifications were well above the necessary requirement of a LRT system and the projected ridership.

The ministry said the revised specification, such as using a three-car train instead of a six-car train, will be more than sufficient to cater to the current ridership demand. “During peak hours, the forecasted maximum number of passengers per hour per direction is 6,185 in year 2034. This ridership can be accommodated by 22 three-car trains which can carry 6,210 passengers per hour per direction,” it said via the statement.

It added that further three-car trains can be purchased to increase capacity to meet the demand after the year 2050, and said the LRT3 system was designed to be upgraded from the present interval of six minutes to the shortest interval of two minutes, which is able to accommodate ridership up to 18,630 passengers per hour at peak per direction.

In terms of the design of the train stations, the ministry said the current stations will be built to cater for four-car train-sets as they should be designed to cater to actual projected demand of passenger load. It refuted claims that a six-train set would be more comfortable to ride in, stating that the passenger loading will be below six passengers per metre square at all times, well within international standards.

It added that the 22 train set total is in accordance with international standards, which includes the provision for two train-sets being under maintenance and one train-set on standby.

It said the projected ridership for the provisional stations (Lien Hoe, Temasya, Persiaran Hishamuddin, SIRIM, Bukit Raja and Bandar Botani) would be below 1,500 passengers per day per station in 2020, but added that these stations would be built up progressively as ridership and demand increases.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 17, 2018 at 1:23 pm

So many fanboys are confused. They said Pakatan has raised the cost of LRT3 to 32 billion

Let me remind all this fellows, it is Prasarana who said their cost had jumped from RM9 billion to RM32 billion on March 30

This was long before Pakatan Government took over. Infact, Pakatan need a pat on the back for reducing the cost now from RM32b to RM16b

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 49
    • The cost of RM32 Billion is only after the new PH Government, not before that. The cost has been revised to around RM 12 billion prior to the New Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
      • Nope. It was RM 10 billion prior to the New Government. Even not 1 single Sen extra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Rajoo Selvam on Jul 17, 2018 at 7:24 pm

another fake news. It was RM32 billion on MArch 30th 2018, long before PH took over.

• Kantoi oh Kantoi on Jul 17, 2018 at 9:53 pm

I think BN Cybertroopers just got kantoied.

• Prasarana claimed that it formally requested approval on March 30 this year to issue an additional RM22 billion in government guaranteed bonds, with the expectation that the total final cost of the project would increase to RM31.65 billion. however, the previous gov never approves it until come the new minister.

come on laaa… you think rakyat still bodoh meh? but it’s ok, I love listening to lies when I already know the truth :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
      • Stevie G on Jul 17, 2018 at 3:52 pm

Fortunately for majority Malaysians, the RM22 billion debt was not approved. The previous gov was too preoccupied then with manifesto & goodies, paving way for imminent May 9th :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • Awang Selamat on Jul 17, 2018 at 9:57 pm

previous Government was too corrupted and always seeking dedak

• Hahaha! Sapot u bro/sis Kay!

• Isobel Chin on Jul 17, 2018 at 6:34 pm

Yup. I read that joker’s comments for the lulz, but it becomes way to stale since he only copy & paste again and again. Way to easy to spot his modus operand, and if his bosses think this simpleton tactics can still sway us, that only reflects poorly on their assumption on Malaysian intellect. Perhaps it’s high time the people not wait 5 years and instead demand a referendum.

• DonkeyKong on Jul 17, 2018 at 6:02 pm

LOL still peddling old stories ka, kawan? The additional RM22 billion bond was never approved. But that story was dug up by our MOF to add to his repertoire of lies, as if he hasn’t lied enough already.

Furthermore, now they wanna drag out the construction completion to 2024 instead of 2020 as per the original plan (which had bigger and more stations to boot). So, reduced scope, reduced everything, but longer project duration, I guess suddenly the annual interest payment is no longer important to our Finance Minister? When he was calculating compounded bank interest and adding those to all in-progress projects to puff up their figures?

And what, you think between now and 2024, there won’t be any increase in population? 3-car trains that are sized for ridership today will still work fine in 6 years time?

Really salute the mental gymnastics that you guys are doing as apologists for an incompetent government. Salute..

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 17, 2018 at 1:29 pm

Nothing to worry about now. Now we have a clean Government. They are cleaning corruption. This means, in the future, Government will have lots of money and can build LRT4, LRT5, LRT6 and LRT7

Soon, Malaysian rail network will be 100X better than the complex London Underground system

All this possible because all our tax money goes to LHDN fully and not to buy Birkin handbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 43
  • Transport ministry soo jimat, cut here and there. Prasarana and DanInfra debts not part of gomen debt and liabilities weii.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Your company external auditors on Jul 17, 2018 at 2:17 pm

We disagreed. Do not let those two poor financially managed organization collapse due to high debt at the end begging goverment to bail out.

• NO IMPACT ON PERFORMANCE AND CAPABILITY ? How come a minister can talk like that? At least you sincerely admit that capacity and performance of LRT3 project shall be affected due to lower cost. Rakyat can understand well and accept it. But when you said like that, I dont know what to say somemore. Day by day, I am losing my heart on you, Ah Loke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 45
    • Dedak oh Dedak on Jul 17, 2018 at 2:09 pm

At least Ah Loke don’t take dedak like the previous one

• Loki takes dedak for special plates and extra fines while his boss takes dedak for reupping project prices. Not even 100 days alredi billion RM hantus.

• Mitchel on Jul 17, 2018 at 3:13 pm

Correct what

Tell me how is Sg. Buloh MRT ridership now?

Not even fully packed at important hours. That is normal since of operation line is new and not many people are keen on taking public transport yet for that area. Years to come ridership will increase and the train usage will be max out. Then maybe the operator will opt to increase train length or more train sets to cater to the demand.

This will be the same for LRT3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
      • kuntak on Jul 17, 2018 at 4:34 pm

You cannot understand meh? Now is previous gov cronies, cut now, next time want to buy, buy from current gov cronies. Everyone happy happy meh.

• Thats what they said with PutraLRT & Monorel back then too. Now peak period is sardin jam packed, esp when they used 2car trains until need to wait 2 trains pass b4 can enter and get squashed. These were the shortsighted planning from a certain past administrationship and now we bring him back and repeat same mistake. MY pipu mudah lupa or just never learns.

• I dont know whether you really take MRT or not? I travell by MRT to my workplace. Comelah to see whether your claimed ridership is correct or not!

• What is the point of building & buying everything to the max but underutilise due to low ridership?Not using them to the max. capacity doesn’t mean they are free as the gov. will still need to bear the full costs.The total cost of ownership will be too high.What is the problem if it could be expended later when the needs arises?This is normal.Even airports are expended from time to time to cater for increased no. of flight & passengers. Pls think before you criticise & pls talk with data instead of just based on assumptions.If you are going to pay for the LRT3 project, then pls go ahead & propose to the gov.

• Einstein on Jul 18, 2018 at 10:42 am

Un-break my heart
      Say you’ll love me again
      Undo this hurt you caused
      When you walked out the door
      And walked out of my life
      – “Toni Braxton – Un-Break My Heart”

• Looking at the size of MRT station today, i can say we don’t need that size after all. If train frequency increases, why need to accommodate so many people at the same time. I use MRT Mutiara Damansara all the time. I can say only 10% space occupied even during peak hours.
    Instead of having 6-car train, using 3-car train with higher frequency is more efficient and use less space.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 35
    • you use mrt damansara all the time? may i know from which station to which station?

i also use mrt to work everyday. i take mrt from station tmn midah to phileo damansara and i can say now 90% space occupied.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • lying on Jul 17, 2018 at 11:58 pm

You are lying! Please go to MRT station during peak hour and hv a look. You will be surprised that many ppl now use MRT!!!!

• Mikey on Jul 17, 2018 at 2:37 pm

I hope the LRT3 project linking Bandar Utama to Klang will help to ease the traffic congestion on most highway connecting Klang & Selangor in general.
    It is only fair for Klang residence to have a good LRT transportation system that mirror our Klang Valley.

• Paanjang16 on Jul 17, 2018 at 3:25 pm

Those who say 3 car trains are enough never used the putra lrt during the time it only had 2 cars and before they made the decision to upgrade to 4 cars. Even when upgrade to 4 cars also it was still not enough during peak hours and when the extension was opened. Provisions must be made for the future as ridership takes years to build up and if not forecast properly will be like the 2 car period last time circa 2008.

Loki need to use the lrt during peak hours instead of using his godly powers to move around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • His godly powers involves polis escort, so why wud he care about the plights of those ‘commoners’ using LRT?

• azrai on Jul 17, 2018 at 4:18 pm

This is value engineering process.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • tokmoh. on Jul 17, 2018 at 4:27 pm

Yeaaa riiiteeee

Consider this : total length 37km, at peak period when all 22 sets running, that’s an average of 11 sets per direction.

If all sets are evenly distanced, the gap is about 3.3km from 1 set to another. Total got 20 stations, an average of 1.85km/station. So if u just missed a train, the next one is about 2 stations away. You think it can do 6-minute frequency? Even 10 minutes sound optimistic.

10 minutes is like an eternity by metro standard. And during peak period, it’s gonna get sardin packed very fast, so u gotta let go and take the next one, more time wasted.

Don’t be penny wise, pound foolish. Enough of repeating the same old mistake with previous public transport projects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • LRT regular on Jul 17, 2018 at 4:57 pm

The L in LRT emphasis is on Light. M in MRT stand for Mass. So LRT is not designed to carry too many people at high speed. It is meant to be an affordable (both in construction and in ticket cost). It is already said that they add the remaining deferred station and also increase the trains at a later stage when demand increases. Looking at our maintenance culture, I would rather have newer trains later than refurbished ones bought at the start

• tokmoh. on Jul 18, 2018 at 8:58 pm

Name is just a name.

KJ and Ampang-Sri Petaling line is only Light in name, but based on ridership volume, they are full blown, Mass metro standard.

This LRT3 covers Klang, Shah Alam, Damansara Utama area, these are very populated area. This LRT3 won’t be Light beyond its name, so it is only prudent to build it right.

Tender was already out, it was never going to be refurbished trainset, but brand new locally assembled CRRC Zhuzhou consortium made.

• DonkeyKong on Jul 17, 2018 at 6:03 pm

Our Finance Minister and his cohorts, TP and OKM, seem to be numerically-challenged despite bragging to be good at finance, accounting, business and what-not.

But that’s okay, their supporters are easily fooled and continue to be fooled till this day.

• sdfds on Jul 17, 2018 at 6:09 pm

Your calculation wrong la, WTF.

Let me make it easy for you.

1) You know race tracks? All the race cars are not spaced evenly apart. Your assumption is wrong.

2) You totally ignore train speed, so there is no way you can calculate 6 min or 10 min.

• tokmoh. on Jul 18, 2018 at 8:49 pm

1. I simplified it for easy understanding. My simplification still doesn’t change facts : 37km total distance, 20 stations, 22 sets. Yes, there will be variance, but will it be perversely way off tangent that my simplification becomes completely unreliable?

2. I take KJ line I know la. To travel 2 stations, eg ss15 to Glenmarie takes about 10 min with a few min waiting time.

Interestingly, based on google map, these 2 stations apart is 3.3km, and at the time I am googling it now, the frequency is 7 min.

So I guesstimate also with brain, not simply pluck from the sky. You? Guesstimate using race track? Kek.

• 10 mins wait for jam-packed trains to come and pass one by one during peak periods? Then nobody will take LRT3 which will fail it, which leads to a self fulfilling prophecy of its demise. Perhaps UTUN is purposefully crippling its capability so that it gives more reason to start his new national car project, “See! I told you all that Najib’s public transportation idea wouldn’t work! So you all no choice but to quietly buy my new national cars”.

• Well, the explanation given sounds logical. If the design now is meant to cater for demand in 2034 (that’s 16 years away) than I am all for it. Furthermore it can be increased to 4-cars train and then to interval of 2min which I think could bring us into 2040 without issue.

THe problem here is just communication to the public. IF only they provide the above justification WHEN they announce the cost cutting last week, then we would not be so hyped up.

• Unsold Protigas, the new national car project, could be retrofitted with rail wheels that could run during peak period on LRT3

You all see how forward-thinking our 93 year old Prime Minister is?

• Vincent on Jul 17, 2018 at 7:26 pm

Back in 2016, the project was launched at the cost of MYR9 billions!

https://paultan.org/2016/08/25/rm9-bil-lrt3-project-launched-37-km-from-bandar-utama-to-klang-26-stations-completion-in-2020/

It is now claimed to be 30+ billions, and end up 15 billions cost with less stop and less capacity!

LGE need to explain this!

• LembuTanduri on Jul 17, 2018 at 8:30 pm

This is what happened when chinese dude in charge for the money, very efficient..

• Train frequency is more important than how many train cars u have . If ridership is high at peak and train frequency is low , what u get is overcrowding at station . Reducing train frequency is key for any mass transport system to be successful . Dont believe ? Go n ask anyone who stay n work in sg that commute to work by mrt