SST to be selective – sales tax to have 5%, 10% rates

The government says that the sales and services tax (SST), which will be reintroduced on September 1, will not be imposed on all products and services, The Edge reports. According to finance minister Lim Guan Eng, the service tax will not be an all-inclusive one. “The 6% service tax applies to selected services and not all services, unlike the goods and services tax (GST),” he said.

He also said that there will also be two different rates of 5% and 10% for sales tax, which is applicable to selected manufactured and imported products, adding that details will be announced when the new SST Bill is tabled in parliament next month.

Lim said this in response to an earlier statement by former PM Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak that GST was less of a burden to people than SST. He said in his response that simply adding up the sales tax and services tax rates is like “equating apples with oranges.”

“The sales tax is imposed on manufacturers’ and importers’ price, while the GST is imposed on the final consumer price. Hence it is wrong to claim that 10% sales tax is higher than 6% GST. How could the SST burden the people more than the GST, when the expected collection from the SST is estimated at only RM21 billion for a full year, while the GST had expected to collect RM44 billion in 2018, according to the previous government’s projection,” he added.

Lim said that the Ministry of Finance (MoF) has conducted a comprehensive SST review exercise with the assistance of accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers to rationalise the tax collection and reporting requirements. This, he said, will ensure that the SST will be far more efficient and less bureaucratic than GST or even the previous SST system, which was in place up to the end of March 2015.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments reflect mixed reactions to the new sales tax system, with some criticizing it for higher effective costs due to multiple layers of taxation, especially for certain goods and services. Several highlight that GST, despite its flaws, was more transparent and efficient in revenue collection, whereas SST has loopholes leading to lower actual tax revenue. There are debates about whether prices for goods, including cars and essentials, will truly decrease; many doubt significant savings under the new system. Some comments express disappointment with the government’s handling of tax reforms, accusing politicians of hypocrisy and manipulation. Overall, sentiments are largely skeptical, with concern that the change may benefit the rich or lead to increased prices, undermining the claimed benefits of the new 10% sales tax.

• Looks like GST, sounds like GST, but still call it SST. Hoodwinking the rakyat once more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 60
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 18, 2018 at 4:13 pm

Nope. GST had expected to collect RM44 BILLION in 2018, SST estimated at only rm21b for a full year. So the rakyat pay massively lesser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 18, 2018 at 9:30 pm

The rich pay massively lower, the poor still suffers cuz goods & produce prices didn’t go down at ALL. Only the rich can live in New Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
        • tax the rich more no problem.

• johnana on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:57 am

“Nearly 70 per cent of essential items saw a decline in prices since the Goods and Services Tax (GST) was zero rated from June 1.

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Saifuddin Nasution Ismail said the decline was based on a survey conducted by the ministry between June 1 and June 30.”

BS. How did the rich pay massively lower for the same product? Do tell us the way. You said the goods and services prices don’t go down at all? Clearly, you are working for the other side.

• johnana on Jul 18, 2018 at 5:10 pm

“The 6% service tax applies to selected services and not all services, unlike the goods and services tax (GST)”

If you can’t read, better not comment. If you keep quiet, people will not know of your stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 18, 2018 at 7:49 pm

Gst doent apply to all also…so whos stupid now…what a moron

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 29
        • Kaiju on Jul 18, 2018 at 9:59 pm

deswai old gomen collected $40B Gst to support bloated 1.6M civil service

• johnana on Jul 18, 2018 at 11:29 pm

“To combat costs of living issues, I support moves to abolish GST, stabilise fuel prices and give aid to the lower-income groups to lighten Malaysians’ burdens.”

Even your Agong sapots the move to abolish GST, so who’s the moron now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
        • Blablabla on Jul 19, 2018 at 4:06 am

You the moron one. GST(goods and service tax), for service part GST is applied to all okay. Never i heard a service is excluded during gst time. Only SOME goods were excluded from gst like some daily product. SST(sales and service tax), what lge said is, not all services will be charge by sst, while for sales part, only manufacturer pay the tax. We the people does not pay it like it used to be in gst.

• michelin on Jul 19, 2018 at 4:38 pm

Kopi Mamak vs. Kopi Starbucks lah..
          Under GST, both kena tax..
          Under SST, only Starbucks kena tax..
          Simple right?

• Meanwhile hotels and restaurants will maintain 10% service charge, so 10%+6% SST + 10% service charge = 26% tax. So every hotel guest will be welcomed with 26% MY tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Ahmadjr on Jul 18, 2018 at 10:36 am

Setiap kali nobita bersuara aku tepuk dahi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Pekania on Jul 18, 2018 at 4:19 pm

FM bashing in 3, 2, 1…

• Lolz! Nobita! Hahaha! True to character, alwiz gets in trouble and needs someone to bail him out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • Doraemon on Jul 19, 2018 at 2:03 am

Like the one who needs to pay RM1 million bail in instalments. Even then, RM500K comes from his supporters.

• Dug Ong on Jul 18, 2018 at 5:42 pm

Nobita?! ROFLMAO

• I love listening to lies when I know the truth :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • maslan on Jul 18, 2018 at 4:27 pm

Banyak jualan murah bukti GST turunkan harga barang. GST jua turunkan kos berniaga sbb pekilang, pemborong dan peruncit dapat tax refund..

• Ya ya. Mcm FM bijaksana naikkan harga 30% lepas tu diskaun 20%, memang banyak jualan murah. Tapi takde org pulak beli.

• Ahmadjr on Jul 18, 2018 at 4:44 pm

Like good old days right?

• I love listening to the truth when I know the lies :)

• FYI YB, GST is not applies to everthing. That’s why when GST is rated at 0% there is not so much different in price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Damon Lee on Jul 18, 2018 at 10:40 am

“Hence it is wrong to claim that 10% sales tax is higher than 6% GST.” -Again Guan Eng is doing his arithmetic magic show. For the same product that was GSTed, the 4% extra in SST will make it more expensive. A Standard One level kid can tell you that.

“expected collection from the SST is estimated at only RM21 billion for a full year, while the GST had expected to collect RM44 billion in 2018” -But for the simple fact that GST encompasses more processed products than SST did. In the past, much products were not taxed due to underdeclaring their prices or improperly categorised, hence evading being taxed. GST help to rat out these unethical behaviour by the businesses and now we’re going back to making them even richer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
    • So you like GST?GST is a multi layered tax while SST is only single layered.Althought GST is lower at 6%, the same product is taxed many times.So how can it be lower than the proposed 10% SST?Looks like you are the one who failed your std 1 Maths just like the ex PM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • Damon Lee on Jul 18, 2018 at 8:25 pm

Yes, GST is multilayered, but each layer is “rolling” meaning every input taxed will be output taxed until the final end customer. There is no additional taxation on top of that. A Standard One student will understand 6% in and 6% out means zero. Did you pass your Standard One level maths?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • michelin on Jul 19, 2018 at 4:57 pm

And the RM44b collection consists of both input + output tax. Don’t you think the net collection was way less than that amount after the refund? There are many cases where tax evaders increased the prices and in the end consumers will have to pay the 6% out of the marked up prices.

• Damon Lee on Jul 18, 2018 at 8:27 pm

And yes, I like GST as it’s a more transparent system that tax evaders hate. Are you one of them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • Bersih on Jul 19, 2018 at 12:59 am

Transparent? The system yes but not with BN administration. Did you know that Najib’s personal account is used to receive funds from the state investment fund, 1MDB? And what did he use the money for? One of them is to fund his political party, UMNO, which got more than RM400 million. Apart for political purpose, the funds were also used for vacations and to acquire cars and jewellery. All these are documented in his AmBank account. Where does the money of the state fund came from? Yep, it’s from the tax payers. The rakyat is funding him and his party.

If the past leader can manipulate GST for his own gains, do you think there is any use for a transparent system? It starts with a clean Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • Damon Lee on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:40 am

Was it proven in court? No? Otherwise its just an allegation. You think we’re stupid to suck up whatever said from the new Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • Bersih on Jul 19, 2018 at 11:11 am

If you think it’s an allegation, just look at the records of his AmBank account which were disclosed by a FOREIGN(Not Gov) news site. See how much of our money were used to buy jewelries for his wife. You’ll be shocked.

• Rightwinger on Jul 18, 2018 at 6:07 pm

Tax dodger’s dream come true….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Ted Wong on Aug 26, 2018 at 12:49 am

GST is tax on final consumer price, whereas Sales Tax is based on manufacturer’s price. Logic will tell you that consumer price will be much higher than manufacturer price unless consumers are buying directly from the manufacturer. Whether the 6% GST is higher or 10% sales tax is higher depends very much on how much the middleman mark up their profit. The more middleman mark up, the higher the 6% GST.

• GST 0% but there’s no reduced price except for the big and obvious ones like cars.
    On FMCG categories its all the same but when the new tax imposed, it looks like we gonna see a price hike again.
    GG lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 18, 2018 at 10:45 am

Gst was not imposed on all products also…so whats so significant with sst…if car prices will go up with the implementation of sst whats the point then…this finance minister is funny…not sure whats hes talking about…the figures always change according to his mood…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
    • Accountant on Jul 18, 2018 at 11:49 pm

Not all but the number of goods affected by SST will be significantly less compared to what is taxed under GST. For example, Touch n’ Go reloads, and interbank ATM withdrawals were some of the things that weren’t subject to any taxes during SST, but were included under GST when it rolled out. This explains why the revenue collected from SST is significantly less.

The finance minister is not funny but it is you and your troopers that are trying to make him look funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Why so hard on Jul 18, 2018 at 10:51 am

Just reduce gst to 3% same result…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • LatukBandar on Jul 18, 2018 at 11:17 am

When will the gov drop the price for cars? DAP shouted how Mahathir jacked up the tax and now kept quiet about it.

PH manifesto says car price will drop, Mahathir says PH book is not bible, then what is it? Playboy Magazine? Keep your promises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • kzm (Member) on Jul 18, 2018 at 11:58 am

I’m still supporting GST. SST will make it easier for trader manipulate price n discount eg fake 50% 90% discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 18, 2018 at 12:26 pm

I am happy to pay GST or SST after May 9th. This is because now I know my money goes to LHDN and it is used to develop the nation and not to buy Birkin handbags and diamonds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • Freddy on Jul 18, 2018 at 4:57 pm

This is an auto blogsite, not a handbag blogsite. You came to the wrong place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • rightwinger on Jul 18, 2018 at 1:28 pm

thats right- reduce government income and increase subsidies (the biggest tongkat of them all), thats the recipe to success.

• 5% sales tax for national car
    50% sales tax for foreign brand

• LGE the BEST on Jul 18, 2018 at 1:44 pm

LGE asked ;” How could the SST burden the people more than the GST, when the expected collection from the SST is estimated at only RM21 billion for a full year, while the GST had expected to collect RM44 billion in 2018?”

The answer: Government will collect less SST tax because there are loopholes SST system in which companies/manufacturers can avoid the tax. Therefore it has less tax collection efficiency compared with the more efficient GST Tax system. If to count all the lost and uncollected SST tax, actual amount may even exceed the RM44 billion.

LGE said “ “Hence it is wrong to claim that 10% sales tax is higher than 6% GST” – So you meant 10% sales tax is lower than 6% GST???? How clever he is. By the way of his line of thinking, cars will be even cheaper after Septermber.

LGE said he will ensure that the SST will be far more efficient and less bureaucratic than GST – When the whole world and the international credit rating agencies are recognizing the more efficient and less bureaucratic GST system compared to SST, our World’s Most Intelligent Finance Minister talked the reverse.

Thank you LGE for making Malaysia World Famous Again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 13
    • Joe labu on Jul 18, 2018 at 4:28 pm

reduce 6% tax and implement SST 10% & service tax 6% then LGE said not burden rakyat , KPDNKK minister said why ikan ikembung very expensive at the same time he said 3 billion ikan ikembung under Malaysia sea , pity Tun M select uneducated minister

• phua chu kang on Jul 18, 2018 at 1:57 pm

hahahaha , people already sick with this press conference minister , 2023 bye bye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • SST will apply to used car?

• Cukur! Rm50 penuh troli …

• st3wpid on Jul 18, 2018 at 4:11 pm

dulu got GST 6%, seller naik harga lima kupang,
    later GST turun zero%, seller maintain price,
    then, SST applied 5%, seller says “what SST?, kawtim naik dua kupang laa.. gomen suda charge saya!”

• Is this news really an auto related news other than the price of cars? I thought this site is for the petrolheads get together and share news and opinions on motorcars and motorbikes. Since before the election and now even after the election this site has been a thriving place for keyboard warriors from both sides.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Silverado on Jul 19, 2018 at 1:39 am

No one is forcing you to read the comments. If the article doesn’t interest you, move to the next.

If the topic is hotly debated, it means that readers are interested.

Since you read all the keyboard warriors’ comments, could it be that you are also interested despite what you commented?

• Van helsing on Jul 21, 2018 at 9:38 am

After years of reading quietly, this site has become anti stresss kopitiam for lower income group. So high income group will increase bood pressure if read those childish and god sents comments. I came here for news related to MY market. But sometimes when boring cant help but read some amusing kids comments. Professional comments frm low income group. Funny they are so specific and clever but cant achieve anything or up to standard. They have no beauty chicks nor beauty cars house but at least they have professional commenting knowledge. Lol.

• Olang kita on Jul 19, 2018 at 7:26 am

Rakyat mahu harga barang turun laaa
    Rakyat mauuu pkai kereta import murah laa
    Mana dia….dulu kata harga kereta import cukai mahal
    Sekarang buktikan …….
    Harga kereta import murah…
    KAMI RAKYAT mau juga rasa naik BMW looooo
    Asyik org kayaaa ja….go…goo
    Kerajaan baru….buktikan….