Government won’t rush to abolish toll – works ministry

It looks like the Pakatan Harapan government’s promise to abolish toll collection within 100 days may not be realised as the works ministry will need to rush to so, and will conduct further studies on the matter beforehand.

In a report by NST, deputy works minister Mohd Anuar Tahir said the ministry is currently in talks with the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) as the government is responsible to toll concessionaires and employees.

“In this matter, the government also has to be responsible for all quarters, including the concessionaire holders, employees who will be affected, and others. The move would be carried out in stages and would take time,” he said.

“We are also taking into account the views of stakeholders such as the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) which has a stake in PLUS Malaysia Bhd,” he continued, adding that the finance and transport ministries were also involved in the study.

Earlier today, CEO of Employees Provident Fund (EPF) Datuk Shahril Ridza Ridzuan said the abolishment process is rather complicated and involves several parties, and that it was unlikely that the government would be able to abolish toll collection within the promised 100 days.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Gabriel on Jul 30, 2018 at 6:10 pm

Janji dicapati…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 3
  • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 30, 2018 at 6:17 pm

I don’t blame PH because when they came into power, they found out corruption was 100x than what they expected.

So now, they will need to use whatever revenue to compensate the hundreds of billions stolen or went for corruption or swept under the carpet like 1MDB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 97
    • M.Fazil on Jul 30, 2018 at 6:38 pm

The disgraceful corruption plot had hit us real hard. EPF benevolently bailout PTPTN & MARA study loans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 43
      • Where got bailout loans? PTPTN & Mara loans still needing to pay back. Where’s the janji no need pay anymore now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Damon Lee on Jul 30, 2018 at 7:01 pm

I DO BLAME PH! Because they had been telling us stories again and again that the Government is going bankrupt and yet they still promised all these ‘fantastic’ promises.

And all for what? Just to win at all cost? And then abandon their promises when they got to power?

So you’re saying we all should vote for the next team that will promise us immortal life and eternal fortunes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
      • lilytan on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:22 pm

Dont act like oppo and give excuses. U are now the G and have to do ur job. Ppl are not stupid and can surely tell. Pls make some effort. If u cant abolish every toll now, pls abolish at least one first like those small kerinci or penchala link.

• Martin loo on Aug 01, 2018 at 11:18 am

PH worst than BN running the country.

Still behave like cowboys. Shooting here and there without ending or conclusion.

• Temuc on Jul 31, 2018 at 7:53 am

Its justan excuse not to fulfill their unrealistic election promise. Wake up dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • kenneth Fook on Jul 31, 2018 at 1:49 am

Should study and assume worst case scenario before the 100 days promise… Truly disappointed. Also, new proton but not to abolish tolls? I see where the priority is heading to…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Sammy Lee on Jul 31, 2018 at 7:14 am

Pakatan government gave so many promises and later gave excuses. They are capitalist liberals who cannot be thrusted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Suara Rakyat on Jul 31, 2018 at 8:29 am

To all new gov and the GANGS no need to announce abolish or not abolish anymore.. RAKYAT sendiri will announce after PRU15…

• To long wait lor. By then even PLUS wun be in gov hands anymore, the rakyat has made their choice. Too bad its a bad one.

• I mean really on Jul 31, 2018 at 9:23 am

Ya, sure
    I mean wait for a few years and this problem won’t be in your hands anymore

• Ben Yap on Jul 31, 2018 at 10:45 am

For heaven’s sake, don’t abolish the toll. it’s not about building the highway, there is cost in maintaining it. These will need to be absorbed by the government and it’s freaking taxing.

Those who can afford to drive should pay what they use. Else use public transport or alternative roads or ride a motorbike.

it’s unrealistic to have toll-free roads. The money is better off using it to give free education to our children.

• superdriver on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:14 am

The newly elected government was elected by the people to abolish toll. All tolls. Its in their manifesto and the peoples hearts and from the politicians mouth themselves. By not delivering their dues they have not fulfilled their promises.

• Fareed on Aug 01, 2018 at 10:57 am

But how did BN government manage to abolish some tolls previously.??

While Pakatan Government always give Lame Duck excuses thinking rakyat are stupid to give them sympathy. Come on pakatan please get a life even Toll reduction was not even mentioned.

Even thought Malaysia was in debt since late 80’s under Tun ,rakyat keep paying for more Tolls.

Tun is famous for three things

1) make poor quality national proton cars

2) He and Sant Belly keeps wacking Rakyat with More Tolls, road tax and higher car prices

3) never bothered to improve bus services and public transport network so that people need to buy the junk proton for connectivity in reaching.

So there is no difference between PH and BN government when Tun is still around now in summary. New coat under an old skin.

• At least Reduce the Toll charges .

Nothing happening. PH talk and promise nonsense as we know.

• arowana on Jul 31, 2018 at 10:48 am

LEL this PH.. dont wear big hat if head is not big enough lar

• NaiveMY on Jul 31, 2018 at 11:48 am

If you think of it only foolish ppl will believe it can be done in 100 days ! Toll concessions is a very complex business you have many parties involved, you just can’t just do what you want even if you can pay for it they have the rights to not sell you ! Anyways they can do it in the longer term that’s for sure i hope they do it ASAP or at least reduce the Toll rates first.

• Edwin L on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:12 pm

So you’re saying Msians were naive & foolish to believe their lies and voted for them? I wholeheartedly agree.

• roland on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:10 pm

just focus to abolish tol on long overdue critical highways like ldp, sprint and kesas 1st..if that also cannot do then just forget about plus hgways..and next time pls dont promise anything

• jackspg on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:47 pm

just pay toll la and stay calm. Haha

• katun on Jul 31, 2018 at 2:21 pm

JANGAN JANJI KALAU TAK BOLEH BUAT

• Khalid on Aug 01, 2018 at 11:10 am

Betul.

Sebelum Rakyat Undi Pakatan Harapan , macam macam janji , pakatan cakap kuat Dan janji besar.

Lepas .menang , macam macam alasan tak Masuk akal , Pakatan Harapan bagi Rakyat ingat Rakyat bodoh .

Sebab no:1 selalu suka toll Dari dulu mana Nak lepaskan Sekarang . Beri alasan sahaja untuk syiok sendiri sedangkan Rakyat Marah.

Toll pun tak Turun , macam mana kerajaan Pakatan Harapan ini.!! Bolih Kita harapkan tak?