VIDEO: Are Proton cars fuel guzzlers? We ask owners

The Proton 1-Tank Adventure has proven to be quite an eye-opening event, particularly among those who own a Proton car. The two-day event saw participants drive a total distance of 640 km through a combination of back roads and highway, all to see if the cars could make the entire journey on a single tank of fuel.

Now, our very own Hafriz Shah drove a Proton Saga 1.3 Premium CVT and managed to use just 33.79 litres of petrol (18.3 km per litre). That in itself is not a bad figure, but the highest figure recorded for the Saga category was a whopping 28.0 km per litre. On average, the Saga group averaged 22.2 km per litre.

Also part of the drive were Persona 1.6 CVT and Iriz 1.3 CVT models, which managed a best result of 25.0 km per litre (19.6 km per litre on average) and 21.1 km per litre (18.0 km per litre on average) respectively. Still think Proton cars are incapable of being fuel efficient? In this video, we ask owners whether there’s any truth about Proton cars being fuel guzzlers. Let’s hear what they have to say, shall we?

Meanwhile, watch the video below to see how the event unfolded, with Hafriz also sharing some vital fuel saving tips.

GALLERY: Proton Saga 1.3 Premium

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Ammzzar on Jul 30, 2018 at 11:07 am

Fuel guzzling ability aside, owners happy with low car maintenance & depreciation costs too.

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 30, 2018 at 12:48 pm

Whether it is good or bad, does not matter, what matters is that Malaysians don’t want Proton anymore.

From sales of 200,000 in 2010, now in 2018, sales are 50,000

That also, bulk of it is ordered by Government departments and Ministries. Real public buying Proton cars hardly 10,000 per year.

So you decide. If fuel efficient and good car, people will be buying it like Perodua Myvi. Sales sure 230,000 this year alone. Belum kira Axia dan Bezza lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
      • Poorluck on Jul 30, 2018 at 1:05 pm

Proton timing and luck is always crappy… eg Proton again missed out on the non GST sales .. too bad Boyue launch… most already bought in “advance” ..

• Rightwinger on Jul 30, 2018 at 1:53 pm

Wow! So many butt hurt. Cannot deal their lies and myths busted…deal with it and just move la cry baby.

• kevtacy on Jul 30, 2018 at 2:24 pm

It isn’t the specs(whether type of engine or fuel consumption) that cannot compete with other brands, it is the quality control of the cars produced. If I am buying a car, I don’t want to unluckily buy a car with bad quality parts, while others may get good quality cars.

• P1 cars never have airbaggate, steelgate, FCgate, QCgate, carpetgate. What quality control r u talking about, that really matters?

• Hafriz what was your average highway speed? I thought I saw lorries overtaking you

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 30, 2018 at 12:25 pm

90-110 km/h on highways.

• ahmad shah on Jul 30, 2018 at 2:31 pm

malaysian captain slow are you hafriz?
        hardly believe it for that kind speed in malaysian highway which even bus express is more then that.. if you’re using kancil like me yes, its the speed that stock kancil 850cc capable of.. more then that could be very dangerous as its tiny and lightweight vehicle..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
        • Gip me ur car plate number. U will get present. Tq
          #JPJComeSamanThisGuy

• Stone Cold on Jul 30, 2018 at 11:40 am

Using Proton Wira 1.3 Aeroback since 2010. First owner bought the car in 2001. Now driving daily to work from Rawang to Kepong. House to office about 30 km. 17 to 18 km trunk road and the rest is highway. Can get about 7.5 to 8.5 l/100 km.

• 17 year old car wei! When was last time the engine got overhauled?

• Stone Cold on Jul 30, 2018 at 3:55 pm

Haven’t done any overhauling. Not sure if the previous owner did. Need advice, should I overhaul the car?

• If possible, it’s time to overhaul both engine and gearbox – budget permits! Proton has announced that they have stopped producing parts for Wira already so in the future, it’ll be chop shop to find parts should anything happens. Overhauling will give longer life to your beloved rides

• Overhauling is like detoxifying the body. If dun overhaul, the gunk builds up and reduce efficiency of ur car which leads to higher FC & more mahal repair later.

• Thats a mitsubishi engine btw

• PreveDrinks on Jul 30, 2018 at 11:43 am

Try asking a Preve CFE owner..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Compare preve with your jepunis 2.0l car ok, its power is much much more than your junky Vios or City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • or Suprima with 17 rims, driving in start-stop traffic every morning and evening back home. terrrible FC.

• If you drive 80km/h on a 110km/h limit highway, or 50km/h on a 80km/h urban road, those figure are not hard to achieve, its all about how u accelerate/decelerate, choosing the right route and most importantly concentrate on maintaining the most fuel efficient km/h.

• Ben Yap on Jul 30, 2018 at 11:50 am

proton jimat minyak is good. owners need to save that money to repair the cars later.

• Ex Peugeot 207 Owner on Jul 30, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Peugeot oso v gudcar. till the Topup loan part.

• Sanzoseifer on Jan 18, 2019 at 9:26 pm

Why??.. Is it like other car brand dont break down at all is it??… What care you drive now??

• Testingonly on Jul 30, 2018 at 11:54 am

Still new thats y save fuel la. U wait 3-5 yrs ur car telan minyak. Even if now really save fuel as claim, still not good sales, still p2 sell well. P1 nvr beat p2. Ever since campro introduced, most people dont like it oledi, sale oso become bad ler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • The problem here is not only due to the driver but

1) Proton still uses dated Cast Iron engine which is heavy while others moved to Alu-Alloy,
    2) Proton just introduced VVT engine – don’t even talk about Dual-VVT but they could not even introduce VVT-i or something similar which existed 20 years ago.
    3) Proton kerb weight is so much heavier than all other competitor of similar class (possibly due to dated design as previous owner Lotus is known to be light weight which is totally opposite of Proton design)

So with all this in mind why would anyone not assume Proton has bad fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Plus you forgotten that the new VVT engine is only Euro4 compliant and cannot be sold in Europe when the engine was launched end of 2014.

• The problem with this assumption, it is totally wrong. Haf bro has said it, the owners have said it, P1 FC r reasonable. If u stomp more frequently of cuz will drink more. The same for any other cars except P2 which drinks like a fish no matter what conditions.

• lembu jinni on Jul 30, 2018 at 2:15 pm

Certain brand make on the same segment is lighter due to there extensive use of plastic and less components on the chassis. Car is lighter on straight acceleration but perform poorly on winding road especially the moose test.

• Since those Proton above changes the rear suspension from the more expensive and superior Multi-Link to Torsion-Beam I highly doubt that it will perform well compared to its competition when it is so heavy.

• P1 still has class leading ride & handing even after changing to torsion beam. Even with rebadging other makes, all of them acknowledge that P1 does the job better than their own experts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Mikey on Jul 30, 2018 at 1:10 pm

Asking a man if a proton is a fuel guzzlers is very subjective. If he had own an old Alfetta 2.0 or Volvo 240 GLE, owning any P1 will be a fuel saver.

• U must have din read the article before commenting. They din just ask any man on the streets, they asked P1 owners. Fuel guzzler or not is relative to their own PoV.

• Mikey on Jul 30, 2018 at 2:31 pm

Asking a man who still own a P1 will give U a positive answer.
        The question should be thrown to ex-P1 owner. Why do U think P1 sales is dwindling(falling like waterfall) if the FC is good?!
        He he he, look who is having comprehension problem now!!

• Asking ex-owners is moot becoz they might have various reasons to move on; perhaps their income allows them to go for bigger more luxury cars, perhaps they need SUV or bigger MPV than Exora, perhaps they think jepunis is better until they heard about all their problems, perhaps they just wanna hi keras. Who knows?

Isnt better to ask why current owners r still sticking with their P1s if its true that P1 is crap? And u can clearly see the current owners PoV above video and from here https://paultan.org/2018/03/08/proton-persona-one-mans-tale-of-love-at-first-sight/

• Mikey on Jul 31, 2018 at 8:37 am

Most M’sian are not rich hence they will buy something that is comfortable to their income.
            That is why most have migrated to P2 from P1. They are serving the same market.
            Go figure why P2 has cornered 40% of our market.

• “Also part of the drive were Persona 1.6 CVT and Iriz 1.3 CVT models, which managed a best result of 25.0 km per litre (19.6 km per litre on average) and 21.1 km per litre (18.0 km per litre on average) respectively” why is the persona much more economical than the iriz?

• Persona2 had a retuned CVT for better response and better FC. The later Iriz shud have this features as well now.

• Buy within mean on Jul 30, 2018 at 1:40 pm

get a car which you can afford in terms of installment, maintenance and operating it. why max out the budget on the installment alone and then biting your teeth about petrol, maintenance, tyres, etc? get a car which the TCO (Total Cost of Ownership) is within your limit. Gas usage is always subjective to elements like traffic condition, load, road, driver’s right leg and a lot more.

• kevin on Jul 30, 2018 at 2:38 pm

Katak di bawah tempurung ke?

• Shahrul on Jul 30, 2018 at 5:34 pm

Hi all..just to share my thought..im currently driving a persona 1.6A(6yo)..changed rims to 16inch..everyday I commute from home to my work place for about 50km..I have to spend an average RM50-70 per week for my petrol(ron 95)..route used is normal federal road with about 5 traffic light..so I think its a good fuel consumption for me..

• Thx for sharing bro! Cheers!

• Everyday on Jul 30, 2018 at 7:24 pm

Im currently driving a cx-5 2.2, 19inch rims…everyday commute from home to work place round trip about 100km…route used federal & NKVE with total about 21 traffic light for round trip…I spend about RM75-RM85 per week for my fuel(Euro5 Diesel)…I think its a good consumption for me as well…

Seriously all these competition just to prove how fuel efficient these car is under optimum condition is just irrelevant to commuter like us who spend most of our trip in rush hour and stuck in traffic jam. The competition should be held in condition where most of us experience, that’ll reflect a more realistic real-world consumption.

• This adventure is not under any ideal conditions, just a overnight jalan jalan trip to Ipoh and visiting the outskirts.

• Everyday on Jul 31, 2018 at 2:48 pm

Which means 70% of the trip is consist of smooth highway…the time of commute is not the time most ppl balik kampung or balik KL also…not ideal eh…and the part where from Teluk Intan to Ipoh is missing, is it using highway from Tapah or Kampar or continue to use the inner state road?

• Samuel on Jul 31, 2018 at 12:18 am

That would mean 350km in 7 days, RM70 a week is full tank = 35-40litres. Not efficient at all actually. Anyway buying a Proton comes with other setbacks besides the great advantage of it being cheaper due to tax exemptions compared to its competition.

• Bernard on Jul 30, 2018 at 7:28 pm

Did they have the windows down with no AC?

If yes, unrealistic

• If they had windows down, Haf wun be able to present inside the car with all the wind noise coming in, no?

• Everyday on Jul 31, 2018 at 2:32 pm

No AC doesn’t had to bring down the window, the air can still be running in the car without AC. Without the Compressor running, one can save a considerable amount of fuel.

Otherwise you think those ridiculous 28km/l can be achieve with the AC running?

• James on Aug 01, 2018 at 12:06 am

What’s with all the hate. If u love P2 so much, go and buy P2. If u can afford BMW or whatever, go and buy that. Some ppl can only afford a proton saga u ignorant tw#ts

• Hanzer on Aug 02, 2018 at 12:03 pm

My my 2 year old newpersona can only do 11km per lite on average. I normally drive around 90 to 100km/h on the highway,and on urban 50-60km/h. I don’t often do sudden accelerate and deceIeation. Don’t think something ‘s wrong with the odometer… Can anyone suggest what might went wrong?

• The campro engine is garbage. Absolutely no power at the lower end, so you end up having to put maximum power and red line it to get the car moving.