Toyota USA launches first multi-model campaign starring its whole range, and one Chuck Norris

Toyota has launched a latest its first multi-model campaign in the US, and the new TV and digital spots started airing this week. They include “Tough as Chuck” starring the one and only Chuck Norris, “Tag”, “So Beautiful” and “The Untameables.”

“This multi-model campaign approach allows Toyota to reach targeted audiences with a variety of products rolled under one over-arching campaign. By showcasing multiple models in a single spot, we can reach the right customer without a lull between individual vehicle campaigns,” said Ed Laukes, group VP of marketing at Toyota Motor North America.

In the new campaign, created by Saatchi & Saatchi, the Toyota vehicles are portrayed in a heroic and amusing way. The campaign aims to increase purchase consideration by demonstrating vehicle performance, capability and style while specifically targeting the relevant audience, such as families, outdoor enthusiasts, and youth.

You’d want to start off with the legendary Chuck Norris, who lends his action hero superpowers to the trusty Tacoma pick-up truck to pull through some tough situations – like only Chuck Norris would. Checking out the “Tag” video made me realise how youthful Toyota’s current range is – your eyes will surely be drawn to the new Corolla Hatchback. Wonder if our region stands a chance at getting the hatch…

GALLERY: Toyota Tacoma TRD Pro

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Just one Q; will Chuck Norris do a split in between 2 Toyotas moving backwards?

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 143 Thumb down 204
    • JCVD did the split on top of 2 Volvo trucks.

• Yup. Epic split.
        VolvoTrucks, Geely, P1, Mesidis, VolvoCar, Lotus > all

• Mikey on Aug 21, 2018 at 1:35 pm

Yo john, asking a 78 yrs old to do a split in between 2 Toyota moving backwards is asking too much isn’t it!

Just bcoz he is a 6/7 time Karate champion does not mean he is indestructible. Maybe U can demonstrate how it should be done!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Van Damme on Aug 21, 2018 at 2:20 pm

I demonstrated how it’s done (https://youtu.be/M7FIvfx5J10). And age never bothered me for I have body crafted to perfection.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 0
        • Wow! JCVD even came here to show how its done. Malu wei, the troll dunno anything!

• Mikey on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:15 pm

The REAL Van the man Damme is well known for splitting his legs. This is Chuck Norris. Not ALL martial arts expert can do what JCVD did.

I have full respect for martial arts expert like Bruce Lee, Chuck Norris, JCVD & Connor McGregor. This is serious business. john is the genuine troll here.

• If u dunno, say u dunno. Not until pipu sound u pointed out ur mistakes. Malu wei!

• While i dont think the real VD came to clarify, you had brought up the age factor which is proven untrue as VD isnt the spring chicken that he used to be in Hollywood. Then you shifted away by condemning CN is ‘not as capable as VD’. Clearly you are just trying to save your own face, instead admitting that you werent aware of the stunt that VD did.

A lot of fans do compare between martial arts come Hollywood stars and which of them are tougher. Why not admit that you werent aware about it and say sorry?

• 12yrsold john on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:17 pm

The real Van Dam do not bother to reply here. U are a fake :P.

• And its Van Damme not Van Dam. Please gets pipu names right. Respect for the person.

• Hahaha! This troll dunno what im talking about!